January 17, 2023, A Public Statement from ASWB regarding Licensing Examinations
Click to view recorded presentation of the meeting on 1/13/2023
Effective October 1, 2021 the required hours of supervision for the LCSW-C were changed from 144 hours to 100 hours (50 hours maximum from group supervision). All other required hours and timeframe remain the same: not less than 2 years and not to exceed 6 years; 3,000 hours of clinical social work experience of which 1,500 hours must be obtained in face-to-face client contact. The contract for supervision must be initiated, signed and dated by three individuals before supervision begins.
Effective July 1, 2022 all applications for licensure (initial, renewal, reactivation, reinstatement and re-licensure must be submitted through the online application system. Keep a record of your application identification number and your passcode.
Since July 1, 2018 the Board no longer issues letters of good standing or paper verification of licensure. The
PRIMARY AND SOLE SOURCE to verify a Maryland social work license is by using the Board's website
It is recommended that the required ORIGINAL documentation associated with applications be mailed using a tracking service AND keep a copy of what you submit to the Board.
BSW and MSW Official transcripts can be sent electronically to firstname.lastname@example.org (BSW/MSW programs must be accredited by the Council on Social Work Education www.cswe.org)(No other undergraduate or graduate degrees qualify for social work licensure)
BSW and MSW students in their last semester can apply to take the Bachelors or Masters examination. Applicants just need to answer YES to being in their last semester on the application form.
READ READ READ all directions and instructions carefully and mail all required documentation in one mailing. All required items are mandatory unless otherwise indicated. Any omission may result in your application being deficient or delayed.
READ AND STUDY the social work statute and all the regulations concerning licensure, social work practice, code of ethics, rules and procedure for Board hearings, fees, continuing education requirements, supervision, disciplinary sanctions & monetary penalties and teletherapy. All fees are non-refundable.
Medical Reserve Corps
During this unprecedented crisis, our health care workers on the front lines need reinforcements.
The state of Maryland is adding to its medical reserve corps, and is also collecting information from health care providers looking to volunteer, or for contract positions. You can get more information at https://mdresponds.health.maryland.gov/
We thank all health care providers for their interest in serving during this historic emergency.