Council Members

​Council members represent numerous agencies, sectors, and stakeholder groups committed to improving and enhancing quality of life and support service for individuals living with ADRD, their families, and caregivers.  

​​One member of the Senate of Maryland, appointed by the President of the Senate​​​​​

  • ​Senator Malcolm Augustine​

One member of the House of Delegates, appointed by the Speaker of the House
  • Delegate Sher​​​​​​ee Sample-Hughes
The Secretary of Health, or the Secretary’s designee
  • Pamela Williams, MHA, Maryland Department of Health
The Secretary of Aging, or the Secretary’s designee
  • Vacant
Alzheimer's Association, Greater Maryland Chapter designee
  • David McShea​
Alzheimer's Association, National Capital Area Chapter designee
  • Ana Nelson​
Seven healthcare professionals with relevant professional experience
  • Halima Amjad, MD, MPH- Physician, Geriatrician
  • Jaqueline Bateman- FDA/Education Specialist
  • Cynthia Fields, MD- Psychiatrist
  • Nancy Rodriguez-Weller, RPh., FASCP- Consultant pharmacist
  • Andres Salazar- Physician
  • Vacant
  • Vacant
Three human service professionals with relevant professional experience
  • Claudia Thorne- Assistant Professor, Department of Social Work
  • Caitlin Houck- Executive Director, Maryland-National Capital Homecare Association
  • Vacant
One elder law attorney with relevant professional experience
  • Morris Klein, Esq.
Two research professionals with relevant professional experience
  • Arnold Bakker, PhD.- Director, Psychiatry Neuroimaging Core, Dept. of Psych and Beh. Sciences
  • Quincy Samus, PhD.- Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Two family caregivers of individuals with Alzheimer’s disease or related disorders
  • Ernestine Jones-Jolivet, BS
  • Evie Vander Meer