​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

What Medicaid Members Should Know

Medicaid Changes

A new federal law changes Medicaid rules for some Marylanders.The main changes require more adults to report work, training, or activity hours; check in with state agencies more often; and submit extra paperwork to keep benefits.

Most Maryland Medicaid members will not see changes.


What Is Changing?

Work rules

Some adults ages 19 to 64 may need to meet work rules. You may meet the work rules by:

  • Earning at least $580 in a month from a job.
  • Attending school at least part-time.
  • Completing 80 hours in a month of approved activities.

Approved activities include work, school, job training and volunteering. You can combine activities to reach 80 hours. 

(Use the job training search tool​ to find training and build job skills.)

You may not have to meet the work rules if you qualify for an exemption. Exemptions apply if you:

  • Are pregnant or gave birth in the past 12 months.
  • Care for a child under age 14.
  • Care for a person with a disability.
  • Have a health condition that limits your ability to work.
  • Have Medicare Part A or Part B.

For a list of special exceptions, and exceptions for health conditions, short-term hardships and locality-based, please visit Maryland Health Connection.


Renewals

Some adults will need to renew Medicaid every six months instead of once a year.

Watch for your renewal notice. The notice will explain what to do and when to respond.


Changes for non-citizens

Some non-citizen adults no longer qualify for Medicaid. This change took effect on Oct. 1, 2026.

Children and pregnant people will not lose coverage under this change. The Healthy Babies Program will not change.

Learn more about immigration status requirements and available resources if you lost coverage.


What You Can Do Now

You can take steps now to prepare for these changes:

  • Use this online tool to check if the work rules apply to you. 
  • Update your contact information in your Medicaid account. Make sure your address, phone number and email are correct so you don't miss a notice.
  • Report changes to your income or household. You must report certain changes within 10 days. Login to your account or call 1- 855-642-8572.
  • Read your mail and email. Watch for official notices about your Medicaid coverage.
  • Renew your coverage on time. Follow the instructions and due date on your notice.

Options If You Lose Benefits

Local Health Departments: Access free or affordable health care services.

Local Behavioral Health Authorities: Connect people with mental and behavioral health services, substance use services.

If you need to visit the emergency room, financial help may be available. You can apply for Emergency Medicaid or find medical expense assistance. More here. 

Check 211MD.org or dial 211 to find health care services, food banks, housing help and more.

Apply for food, health care, cash, and other assistance by visiting MarylandBenefits.gov​


Resources

​​