The Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners has reopened the renewal portal and it will remain open until 30 days after the state of emergency has been lifted.
     
    Those licensees who have not renewed can continue to practice with their expired license. This was made possible by an Executive Order signed by Governor Hogan on March 12, 2020. The Executive Order extends the expiration date of all Health Occupation licenses until 30-days after the declared state of emergency is terminated. 
     
    Recognizing the fact that multiple in-person CEU courses were cancelled due to COVID-19 the Board has extended the time frame in which CEU’s may be earned. For this renewal period only, a licensee who is subject to renewal in 2020 may earn CEU’s from April 1, 2018 until the 30th day after the current state of emergency is terminated. All other portions of the renewal period remain in effect.  Any CEUs or contact hours used for your 2020 license renewal cannot be used for your 2022 license renewal.
     

    Questions regarding license renewal? Contact Deputy Director, Isaac Okehie at ogui.okehie@maryland.gov or call 410-764-4746

    Click for RENEWAL LETTER and Click to review Title 13; Term & Renewal of Licenses 13-311


    CLICK FOR ONLINE LICENSE RENEWAL

    Once the COVID-19 declared state of emergency is terminated by the Governor, the Board will reopen the renewal portal for a 30-days period to allow those licensees needing to renew to do so.

    ·         If you no longer need/want your Maryland Physical Therapy license, simply do nothing, you will automatically become inactive. If at any time you wish to become active again or if you do not renew your license by its expiration date, you may be eligible for Reinstatement by meeting all requirements.  

    ·           If you have incurred an address fine, your license cannot be issued until the $100   fine has been paid. - No Exceptions-
    Licenses are renewed biennially on an odd-even basis via an on-line system:
    License numbers ending with an odd-number renew in odd-numbered years.
    License numbers ending with an even number renew in even-numbered years.

    Continuing Education renewal requirements

    Licensees must have earned:
    Physical Therapist: 3.0 CEUs or thirty (30) contact hours
    Physical Therapist Assistant: 2.0 CEUs or twenty (20) contact hours


    CEUs are not required if you were licensed in 2019.

    Questions on Continuing Education?
    Click here to view Title 10; Chapter 8
    Still have Continuing Education questions? Email Michelle Cutkelvin at michelle.cutkelvin@maryland.gov or call (410) 764-3833.
     
​​​