​​

Licensure Requirements ​

Index

L​​icensure by Examination: U.S. Graduate
​​Licensure by Examination: Foreign Educated
Licensure by Endorsement: U.S Graduates
Licensure by Endorsement: Foreign Educated
Licensure by Transfer: U.S Graduates
Licensure by Transfer: Foreign Educated​
License Renewal
Reinstatement of Expired Licensure
Apply for PT Compact Privilege​
Apply for Duplicate License
Applicant Special Accommodations Request

​***​ Applicant Responsibilities ***​​

  • ​The application process can ta​ke up to 60-days due to other organizations response times which are outside of the Board's control 
  • ​It is the applicant's responsibility to check your application status
  • Allow 10 business days for application updates to be posted. 
  • When emailing the Board use your Application ID#. Once licensed please use your Maryland License #. 

​Licensure by Examination: U.S Graduates

  1. Complete the Online Application by clicking this link. 
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications. 
  2. Pay the application fee of $150. (credit/debit card only)
  3. Complete the Criminal History Records Check by clicking this link. 
    Out-of-State residents - You ​will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. You MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. 
  4. Maryland Jurisprudence Examination - You must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1-3 business days. 
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail the exam a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott. 
  5. ​National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) - go to the www.FSBPT.org to register.
    You must request your score be sent to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. 
  6. Official Post-graduation Transcript -  Request the transcript directly from your school registrar and have it sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov. If the school cannot send it electronically the registrar office can mail it to the Board at: Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 4201 Patterson Ave. Baltimore, Maryland 21215. 
  7. Photograph - Send current head and shoulder photo in PDF format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov

Licensure by Examination: Foreign Educated

  1. Complete the Online Application​ by clicking the link 
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Application fee of $150. (credit/debit card only)
  3. Complete the Criminal History Records Check by clicking on the link. 
    Out-of-State residents - You ​will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. You MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. ​
  4. Maryland Jurisprudence Examination - you must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1-3 business days. 
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail the exam a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott
  5. National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) - go to the www.FSBPT.org to register.
    You must request your score be sent to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.  
  6. Official Post-graduate Transcript - Request the transcript directly from your school registrar and have it sent electronically to mdh.bphte@marylnd.gov. If the school cannot send it electronically the registrar office can mail it to the Board at: Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 4201 Patterson Ave, Baltimore, Maryland 21215. 
  7. Photograph - Send current head and shoulder photo in PDF format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov
  8. Evaluation of Educational Credentials - Have the evaluation sent electronically to the Board at mdh.bphte@maryland.gov from one of the following accepted credentialing agencies:
    Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical Therapy (FCCPT)
    International Consultants of Delaware (ICD)
    International Education Research Foundation (IERF)
  9. Proof of Competency in English Language - Send electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.org
    Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) accepted with minimum scores of: 24-writing; 26-speaking; 18-listening; 21-reading. 
    Oral Competency Certification Request form completed by the Physical Therapy school attended. 

​Licensure by Endorsement: U.S Graduates 

Applicants that are currently licensed in another state. 

  1. Complete the On​line Application​ by clicking the link
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Application fee of $150 (credit/debit card only)
  3. Complete the Criminal History Records Check by clicking on the link.     
    Out-of-State residents - You ​will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. You MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. ​
  4. Maryland Jurisprudence Examination - you must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1-3 business days.
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail the exam a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott
  5. ​​National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) - go to the www.FSBPT.org to register.
    You must request your score be sent to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. 
  6. Official Post-graduation transcript - Request the transcript directly from your school registrar and have it sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov. If the school cannot send it electronically the registrar office can mail it to the Board at: Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 4201 Patterson Ave, Baltimore, Maryland 21215.​
  7. Photograph - Send current head and shoulder photo in pdf format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov. 
  8. Official Verification of Current License - Have a verification of your current out-of-state license sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov.

Licensure by Endorsement: Foreign Educated 

Applicants that are currently licensed in another state

  1. Complete the Online Application by clicking on the link. 
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Pay the application fee of $150 (credit/debit card only)
  3. Complete the Criminal History Records Check by clicking on the link
    Out-of-State residents - You will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. you MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. 
  4. Maryland Jurisprudence Examination - You must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act. 
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1 - 3 business days. 
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail it a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott.  
  5. National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) - go to the www.FSBPT.org to register.
    You must request your score be sent to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.   
  6. Official Post-graduate Transcript - Request the transcript directly from your school registrar and have it sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov. If the school cannot send it electronically the registrar office can mail it to the Board at: Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 4201 Patterson Ave., Baltimore, Maryland 21215. 
  7. Photograph - Send current head and shoulder photo in pdf format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov​
  8. Evaluation of Educational Credentials - Have the evaluation sent electronically to the Board at mdh.bphte@maryland.gov from one of the following accepted credentialing agencies; 
    Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical Therapy (FCCPT)
    International Consultants of Delaware (ICD)
    International Education Research Foundation (IERF) 
  9. Proof of Competency in English Language - Send electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov​.
    Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) accepted with minimum scores of: 24-writing; 26-speaking; 18-listening; 21-reading. 
    Oral Competency Certification Request form completed by the Physical Therapy school attended. 
  10. ​​​​Official Verification of Current License - Have a verification of your current out-of-state license sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov.

Licensure by Transfer: U.S Graduates

Applicants that registered to take or have taken the National Physical Therapy Examination in another state but did not obtain licensure in that state

  1. Complete the Online Application by clicking the link 
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Pay the application fee of $150 (credit/debit card) 
  3. Complete the Criminal History Records Check
    Out-of-State residents - You will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. you MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. 
  4. Maryland Jurisprudence Examination - You must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act. 
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1 - 3 business days. 
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail it a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott.  
  5. National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) - go to the www.FSBPT.org to register.
    You must request your score be sent to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.  ​
  6. Official Post-graduate Transcript - Request the transcript directly from your school registrar and have it sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov. If the school cannot send it electronically the registrar office can mail it to the Board at: Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 4201 Patterson Ave., Baltimore, Maryland 21215. 
  7. Photograph - Send current head and shoulder photo in pdf format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov​

Licensure by Transfer: Foreign Educated

Applicants that registered to take or have taken the National Physical Therapy Examination in another state but did not obtain licensure in that state

  1. Complete the Online Application by clicking on the link. 
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Pay the application fee of $150 (credit/debit card only)
  3. Complete the Criminal History Records Check by clicking on the link
    Out-of-State residents - You will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. you MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. 
  4. Maryland Jurisprudence Examination - You must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act. 
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1 - 3 business days. 
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail it a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott.  
  5. National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) - go to the www.FSBPT.org to register.
    You must request your score be sent to the Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. ​
  6. Official Post-graduate Transcript - Request the transcript directly from your school registrar and have it sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov. If the school cannot send it electronically the registrar office can mail it to the Board at: Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, 4201 Patterson Ave., Baltimore, Maryland 21215. 
  7. Photograph - Send current head and shoulder photo in pdf format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov​
  8. Evaluation of Educational Credentials - Have the evaluation sent electronically to the Board at mdh.bphte@maryland.gov from one of the following accepted credentialing agencies; 
    Foreign Credentialing Commission on Physical Therapy (FCCPT)
    International Consultants of Delaware (ICD)
    International Education Research Foundation (IERF) 
  9. Proof of Competency in English Language - Send electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.org
    Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) accepted with minimum scores of: 24-writing; 26-speaking; 18-listening; 21-reading. 
    Oral Competency Certification Request form completed by the Physical Therapy school attended. ​

​​Reinstatement of Expired Licensure 

3-years or less

  1. Complete the Online Application by clicking the link
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Pay the reinstatement fee of $400 (credit/debit card only)
  3. Photograph - Send a current head and shoulders photo in pdf format to: mdh.bphte@maryland.gov
  4. Continuing Education Hours - Send your continuing education certificate of completion for the 2-year period immediately preceding the application to: mdh.bphte@maryland.gov​ 
    Physical Therapist - 30 continuing education hours
    Physical Therapist Assistant - 20 continuing education hours

Greater than 3-years

  1. Complete the Online Application​ by clicking the link
    Please use your home mailing address, personal email address and personal telephone number to ensure you receive all notifications.
  2. Pay the reinstatement fee of $400 (credit/debit card only)
  3. Photograph - Send a current head and shoulder photo in pdf format to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov
  4. Continuing Education Hours - Send your continuing education certificate of completion for the 2-year period immediately preceding the application to: mdh.bphte@maryland.gov​ 
    Physical Therapist - 30 continuing education hours 
    Physical Therapist Assistant - 20 continuing education hours
  5. Complete the Criminal History Records Check by clicking on the link
    Out-of-State residents - You will receive a Maryland approved fingerprint card in the mail. you MUST use this card when completing the fingerprints. Maryland does not accept any other fingerprint card. 
    In-State residents - Please go to a LiveScan location and complete the fingerprint process within 1 - 5 business days. 
  6. Maryland Jurisprudence Exam - You must take and pass the online, open-book exam with a score of 90% or better. The exam consists of 35 questions taken from the Maryland Practice Act. 
    The information on how to take the exam will be emailed to the email address provided on your application within 1 - 3 business days. 
    You must take the exam within 30-days of receiving the email. If you fail the exam you can retake it one time. If you fail it a second time or do not take it within 30-days you must email Licensing Manager Lisa Scott.  
  7. Official Verification of Current License - Have a verification of your current out-of-state license sent electronically to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov

Back to Top

Applicant Special Accommodations Request

The purpose of the National Physical Therapy Examination (NPTE) accommodations is to provide candidates with full access to the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) NPTE, not to guarantee​ improved performance, a passing score, examination completion, or any other specific outcome. The Maryland Board of Physical Therapy Examiners meets monthly to review requests. The FSBPT makes the final determination.


Please complete the Application for Special Accommodations Request Form and email it to mdh.bphte@maryland.gov.​  ​  

Back to Top
​​​​​​​