Board of Massage Therapy Examiners



  • NEW: HB 1497 - Scope of Practice, Reinstatements, and Examinations by Health Care Providers; Effective July 1, 2024.
  • NEW: HB 1498 - Aiding or Abetting Unauthorized Practice – Prohibition; Effective July 1, 2024.​​​
  • Proposed Regulations published in the Maryland Register
  • The RMP Conversion regulations, codified at COMAR, are now in effect. To convert your registration to a license you must meet at least one of the following requirements:

    1. Have held an active registration continuously in good standing for a minimum of 10 years preceding the conversion request; Or
    2. ​Attest to have accumulated 1,000 hours of hands-on experience over the previous 2 years between work hours and continuing education hours; Or
    3. Provide documentation verifying a total of 750 contact hours which include program education hours and continuing education hours.
    You will be able to combine continuous licensure history and hands-on work experience from another state and Maryland to potentially qualify under options 1 & 2 above for conversion.

  • RMP Conversion Application

  • NEW: Servicemember and Spouse License Portability Under the Veterans Auto and Education Improvement Act of 2022 (PL 117-333): ​Access Application Form Here

  • NEW: New Fees

    • Jurisprudence/State Examination -          $180.00
    • Jurisprudence Re-Examination -               $250.00
    • License/Registration Reinstatement -      $475.00
    • CE Course Review -                                        $40.00
    • Paper Copy of Laws and Regulations -      $40.00
    • License/Registration Verification - ​             $50.00

    ​2024 Massage Board Member Vacancies

    The Massage Therapy Board is seeking candidates to fill three (3) Board Member position: 2 Licensed Massage Therapists (LMTS) and 1 Consumer Member.
    LMTs: All interested LMTs are to submit their applications through the American Massage Therapy Association -Maryland Chapter (AMTA-MD) or the Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals (ABMP).   LMT nominees are also required to submit an application via the Governor’s Appointments Office website at:  You are not required to be a member of either organization to be nominated.  
    Consumer Member: Potential Consumer Member candidates are to apply through the Governor’s Appointments Office website at:

    Check Out​: Additional Board Membership Information

    ​ ​
    • LMT Massage Education Requirements

    • NEW: Implicit Bias Training Requirement for Renewal​

      The Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Professional Competency Program within the Maryland Department of Health must approve the implicit bias training program. Other courses are not approved and will not be accepted. The list of approved courses may be accessed at

      ​ ​


      The Maryland State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners (the “Board”) does not approve apprenticeship programs. An apprenticeship program would likely not lead to licensure or registration under the Board’s statutes or regulations. As a reminder, an individual must be licensed or registered with the Board before practicing massage therapy in Maryland.

      Before enrolling in any massage therapy school or program, an individual interested in practicing massage therapy in Maryland should ensure that the training offered meets the requirements of the Board. Historically, the Board has only approved programs including in-person, hands-on training in a classroom setting.
      Read More -->


    Board Office

    Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
    Metro Executive Building
    4201 Patterson Avenue Suite 301
    Baltimore, MD. 21215-2299
    Phone: 410-764-4738
    Fax: 410-358-1879
    ​ ​
    Walk-ins are not accepted.