2022-2024 RENEWAL NOTICE (6/23/2022)
License/Registration expiration date: October 31, 2022.
Online Renewal Access starts on August 15, 2022, through the Board's website at
Renewal Deadline: On or before October 31, 2022. New Inactive Status changes and Inactive Status continuation may also be completed online during the renewal period.
Renewal Fees: LMT: $276 RMP: $250
Late Renewal Fees Charged November 1, 2022-November 30, 2022:
LMT: $476 RMP: $450
Mandatory CEUs, Mandatory Implicit Bias Training, Electives, and CPR Certification:
Mandatory 7 CEUs: 3 Hrs. Ethics or Jurisprudence, 3 Hrs. in Communicable Diseases including HIV/AIDS, 1 Hr. Diversity or Cultural Competency.
Mandatory Implicit Bias Training: This one-time training course is required by Md. Code Ann., Health Occupations § 1-225. The Board voted to allow 1
elective CEU hour for the completion of the Implicit Bias course in this renewal cycle only.
Electives: 16 elective CEUs in Massage Therapy.
Must possess an unexpired CPR certificate (LMTs Healthcare Provider Level & RMPs Basic CPR) at the time of renewal.
Carryover CEUs: If you completed elective CEUs between November 1, 2018, and June 30, 2021, you are able to apply those courses to the 16 electives for the 2022 renewal cycle. Input the course information in the online renewal portal.
CEU ExemptionNotice: An initial license or registration issued on or after 10/31/2021 is exempt from the CEU requirements. However, the licensee/registrant must renew online, pay the required fees, and hold a valid CPR certification.
LMTs & RMPs with Tax Liens and/or Child Support Holds: The Board must receive official clearance from the MD Comptroller and/or the Division of Child Support Enforcement before a license or registration may be renewed and issued.
For additional information on the renewal process and Implicit Bias courses, please visit the Board's website at
Email Christopher Hawkins at email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.
NEW: Implicit Bias Training Requirement for Renewal
The Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Professional Competency Program within the Maryland Department of Health must approve the implicit bias training program. Other courses are not approved and will not be accepted. The list of approved courses may be accessed at
Effective May 16, 2022: Board Jurisprudence Examination will be Online
The Board is pleased to announce that effective
May 16, 2022, the Jurisprudence Examination (JP) will be available online to all applicants seeking licensure in Maryland. Candidates will be able to take the examination remotely, at their convenience, after notification of eligibility by the Board.
The monthly in-person administration of the JP examination will be eliminated. Candidates requiring special accommodations are to submit a request directly to the Board.
IMPORTANT MESSAGE TO THE PUBLIC ABOUT MASSAGE APPRENTICESHIP PROGRAMS
The Maryland State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners (the “Board”) does not approve apprenticeship programs. An apprenticeship program would likely not lead to licensure or registration under the Board’s statutes or regulations. As a reminder, an individual must be licensed or registered with the Board before practicing massage therapy in Maryland.
Before enrolling in any massage therapy school or program, an individual interested in practicing massage therapy in Maryland should ensure that the training offered meets the requirements of the Board. Historically, the Board has only approved programs including in-person, hands-on training in a classroom setting.
Read More -->