Title 10

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 65 BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY EXAMINERS

10.65.07 Fees

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §§6-206 and 6-207, Annotated Code of Maryland

(downloaded 9/16/24)

.02 Fees for Massage Therapy Licensure and Registration.

The following fees are established by the Board and are non-refundable:

A.—Q. (text unchanged)

R. Paper copy of laws and regulations . . . \$40[.]; and

S. Handheld tool one-time registration fee. . . \$100.

10.65.12 Handheld Tools

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §§6-101(f)(2)(ii) and 6-206(a)(1), Annotated Code of Maryland

.01 Scope.

Pursuant to Health Occupations Article, $\S6-101(f)(2)(ii)$, Annotated Code of Maryland, this chapter establishes standards for the use of instrument-assisted soft tissue manipulation techniques, also known as handheld tools, by a licensed massage therapist or a registered massage therapist.

.02 Definitions.

A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.

B. Terms Defined.

(1) "Board" means the State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners.

(2) "Good standing" means that the Board has not:

(a) Reprimanded the licensee, suspended or revoked the license or registration of the licensee; or

(b) Placed the licensee on probation within 5 years before the submission of a handheld tool registration application.

(3) Handheld Tool.

(a) "Handheld tool" means an instrument that is used by a licensee in the practice of massage therapy to enhance or imitate manual techniques.

(b) "Handheld tool" includes a:

(i) Mechanized vibration instrument; or

(ii) Muscle-scraping tool.

(c) "Handheld tool" does not include a tool exclusively used for protective self-care, including a:

(i) Thumb-saver tool;

(ii) Trigger point tool; or

(iii) Still point inducer.

(4) "Licensee" means, unless the context requires otherwise, a licensed massage therapist or a registered massage practitioner authorized by the Board to practice massage therapy.

(5) "National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodyworkers (NCBTMB)" means the National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodyworkers.

(6) "Practice massage therapy" has the meaning stated in Health Occupations Article, §6-

101(f), Annotated Code of Maryland.

.03 Registration Required.

A. The Board shall register a licensee as qualified to use handheld tools in the State if the licensee:

(1) Is in good standing;

(2) Submits adequate documentary evidence that the licensee meets the education and training requirements set forth in Regulation .04 of this chapter;

(3) Submits an application for registration on the form provided by the Board; and

(4) Pays the one-time registration fee as specified in COMAR 10.65.07.02.

B. A licensee may not use any handheld tool without first registering as qualified with the Board in accordance with §A of this regulation.

.04 Minimum Education and Training Requirements.

A. In order to be registered by the Board as qualified to use handheld tools, a licensee shall meet the requirements of this regulation.

B. A licensee shall complete a minimum of 12 hours of instruction in the following content areas:

(1) Philosophy and historical perspective of handheld tools and massage therapy treatment;

(2) Indications, contra-indications, and qualifications for handheld tools in the practice of

massage therapy;

(3) Licensee and patient safety when using handheld tools;

(4) Case management and jurisprudence when using handheld tools;

(5) Recordkeeping, specifically detailing implementation and specific location of instrument use; and

(6) The clinical use of muscle scraping and mechanized vibration tools in the practice of massage therapy.

C. The instruction required by this regulation shall be approved in advance by the Board or the NCBTMB.

D. Prior Instruction.

(1) The Board shall accept a continuing education course completed before the effective date of this chapter, if the same course, in substantially similar form, is sponsored by a continuing education provider approved by the Board or the NCBTMB.

(2) Notwithstanding D(1) of this regulation, the Board may not accept a course completed before January 1, 2018.

E. The coursework required by this regulation shall be in addition to the 750 contact hours of education required by Health Occupations Article, §6-302, Annotated Code of Maryland.

.05 Standards of Practice.

A. A licensee registered to use handheld tools shall:

(1) Fully explain and demonstrate the use of the handheld tool to the client in advance of the tool's use;

(2) Obtain informed written consent specific to the handheld tool and maintain that written consent within the client's record;

(3) Utilize handheld tools in a manner consistent with the standards set forth in the Maryland Occupational Safety and Health Act, Labor and Employment Article, Title 5, Annotated Code of Maryland, and its associated regulations;

(4) Document the use of handheld tool therapy in accordance with COMAR 10.65.06;

(5) Be responsible for the ongoing evaluation, assessment, and re-evaluation of client impairments;

(6) Only use handheld tools on parts of the body with neuromuscular or musculoskeletal links to those impairments; and

(7) Maintain continuing competence for handheld tool usage.

B. Any violation of these standards of practice or of the requirements of this chapter may subject the licensee to discipline pursuant to Health Occupations Article, §6-308, Annotated Code of

Maryland.

LAURA HERRERA SCOTT Secretary of Health