About the Board

Board Members

The Governor appoints the D.P.M. members, with the advice of the Secretary, from a list of names submitted by the Maryland Podiatric Medical Association (MPMA).
The Governor appoints the consumer members with the advice of the Secretary and the advice and consent of the Senate.​
The term of a member is 4 years. A member may not serve more than 2 (two) consecutive terms.
Aparna Duggirala, D.P.M., President
Bruce Fox, D.P.M., Vice President
Frona Kroopnick, Secretary / Treasurer/Consumer member
H. David Gottlieb, D.P.M., Member
Yvonne U. Umezurike​​, D.P.M., Member
Adam Silverman, D.P.M, Member
Lynne Brecker, RN, ​Consumer Member

Board Functions

Membership Composition: Seven Members
Professional: 5 Doctors of Podiatry
Consumer: 2 Consumer Representatives

Function summary:
The State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners is the State regulatory body responsible for licensing, regulating and disciplining podiatrists, as well as protecting the welfare and safety of citizens of Maryland. In addition to licensing activities, the Board is also responsible for investigating complaints, carrying out examination related activities and monitoring continuing education.
Other duties of Board members
  • Continuing Education review and approval
  • Maryland Podiatric Jurisprudence Examination
  • Brief legislators as required
  • Attend various Professional and Department mandated training and Informational briefings.
  • Conduct Pre-hearing Conferences
  • Conduct Hearings regarding disciplinary matters
Board Meetings

All podiatrists and the general public are invited to attend the public session of Board meetings. The Board meets on the second Thursday of each month at 1:00pm at the Patterson Avenue offices of the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. If you wish to have an item placed on the agenda, please submit your request in writing to the Board. Send your requests via fax to (410) 358 3083 or mail to  Maryland Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners, 4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299.
For Information regarding the meeting, please contact the Board office.