Advisory Board on Prescription Drug Monitoring

The Advisory Board on Prescription Drug Monitoring was created by law to support the design, implementation and ongoing development of the PDMP.


PDMP Advisory Board Meeting Dates

Link for August 23, 2021 Meeting, 4:00-6:00 pm​​

Registration URL:
Training ID: 892-145-244

Remaining Meeting dates for 2021 are as follows:
​September 21, 2021, 4:00-5:30 pm
October 25, 2021, 3:00-4:30 pm
December 13, 2021, 4:00-6:00 pm

For information regarding any past or upcoming meetings you may contact the PDMP office at 410-402-8686 or email​​
Past Meetings of the Advisory Board
Reports of the Advisory Board 

Board Members
Richard A. Debenedetto, PharmD, MS AAHIVP, Chair
Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice & Administration
University of Maryland Eastern Shore School of Pharmacy & Health Professions

Deondra P. Asike, MD
Physician, Johns Hopkins Hospital

Amit Bhargava, MD, MS, RMSK, Medical Director
Advanced International Pain & Sports Medicine

Thomas C.C. Bond, III
President & CEO
Summit Community Health, Inc.​

Matthew Crisafulli, Sheriff
Worcester County Sheriff's Office

Peggy Funk, CAE
Executive Director, Hospice & Palliative Care Network of Maryland​

Leslie E. Grant, DDS, MSPA
President's Designee, Board of Dental Examiners
General Dentist

Lenna Israbian-Jamgochian, PharmD, RPh
District Pharmacy Manager, Albertsons Safeway Inc-Eastern Division​

Joey Mattingly, PharmD, MBA, PhD
Associate Professor, Pharmaceutical Health Services Research
University of Maryland School of Pharmacy

Kevin M. Morgan, PharmD
President, Maryland Board of Pharmacy​

Stephen A. Nichols, MD, FAAP, FAAPMR
Senior Attending Physician for Rehabilitation Services
Mt. Washington Pediatric Hospital 

Chief Medical Officer/Vice President Medical Affairs Carroll Hospital
Vice President Carroll County Health Group

Orlee Panitch, MD
Physician, US Acute Care Solutions

Marcia Parris, MD
Physician, Comprehensive Women's Health-Advantia

Derek Peck, Captain
Secretary's designee, Maryland State Police
Criminal Enforcement Division

Larry Polsky, MD, MPH
President's Designee, Maryland Association of County Health Officers
Health Officer, Calvert County

Joseph Scalese III, MSPC, RPh
Pharmacist, Weis Pharmacy

Dixit Shah, RPh
Deputy Director, Office of Pharmacy Services
Maryland Department of Health

David Sharp, Ph.D.
Chairman's designee, Maryland Health Care Commission
Director, Center for Health Information Technology & Innovative Care Delivery

D. Gail Shorter, DNP
Nurse Practitioner, University of Maryland Shore Medical Group

Jenell Steele, MSN, RN
President's Designee, Maryland Board of Nursing

Yvonne U. Umerzurike, DPM
Vice President, Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners 
Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Meeting Dates

Link for August 19, 2021, 4:00-5:30 pm

Registration URL:
Training ID: 487-050-812

Remaining Meeting dates for 2021 are as follows:

December 17, 2021, 1-2:30 pm

In addition to scheduled open meetings, TAC members fulfill their review and guidance duties relating to specific PDMP reports in ongoing closed sessions in accordance with Gen. Provisions, Sec. 3-305(b)(13).  These PDMP reports contain identifiable patient, prescriber and/or dispenser data and are confidential reports under Health Gen., Sec. 21-2A-06(a).​

Past Meetings of the Technical Advisory Committee
PDMP Advisory Board  and Technical Advisory Committee Membership
Member seats are outlined in state statute (Health-General Article Section 21-2a-05) and are appointed by the MDH Secretary through the Office of Appointments and Executive Nominations. Board members serve 3 year terms, and some seats come up for appointment every year, typically in the second half of the calendar year.  If you are interested in submitting an application for a seat on the Board, please contact Kim Bennardi in the MDH Secretary's Office of Appointments (​) and/or complete an outline application:​