Residential Child and Youth Care Practitioners

Certification​ Forms​ ​Training Curriculum Examination​

RCYCP Certification

Tiered Certification

A. Tier 1.

  1. Tier 1 certification may be obtained by an individual who:
    • (a) Has obtained an Associate’s or Bachelor’s degree and has been continuously employed as a residential child and youth care practitioner for at least 2 years before October 1, 2015; or
    • (b) Has obtained a high school diploma or GED and has been continuously employed as a residential child and youth care practitioner for at least 2 years before October 1, 2015.
  2. To obtain Tier 1 certification, an individual shall:
    • (a) Meet the age requirement set forth in Health Occupations Article §20–302.1, Annotated Code of Maryland; and
    • (b) Submit to the Board:
      • (i) The application, fee, and criminal background check as required by Regulation .01 of this chapter;
      • (ii) Evidence, in accordance with Regulation .02 of this chapter, of completion of the appropriate academic experience; and
      • (iii) Evidence of completion of a minimum of 10 hours of an on-site program orientation at a private provider site.

B. Tier 2.

  1. Tier 2 certification may be obtained by an individual who:
    • (a) Has obtained an Associate’s or Bachelor’s degree; or
    • (b) Provides evidence of completion of the Community College of Baltimore County training program.
  2. To obtain Tier 2 certification, an individual shall:
    • (a) Meet the age requirement set forth in Health Occupations Article §20–302.1, Annotated Code of Maryland;
    • (b) Submit to the Board:
      • (i) The application, fee, and criminal background check as required by Regulation .01 of this chapter; and
      • (ii) Evidence of completion of a minimum of 10 hours of an on-site program orientation at a private provider site; and
    • (c) Pass a comprehensive examination.

C. Tier 3.

  1. Tier 3 certification may be obtained by an individual who does not hold a degree.
  2. To obtain Tier 3 certification, an individual shall:
    • (a) Meet the age requirement set forth in Health Occupations Article §20–302.1, Annotated Code of Maryland;
    • (b) Submit to the Board:
      • (i) The application, fee, and criminal background check as required by Regulation .01 of this chapter;
      • (ii) Evidence of completion of a minimum of 10 hours of an on-site program orientation at a private provider site; and
      • (iii) Evidence of completion of a Board-approved provider residential child and youth care training program; and
    • (c) Pass a comprehensive examination.

D. The Board shall notify applicants who have been approved to take the required comprehensive examination of:

  1. The applicant’s approval to sit for the examination; and
  2. All testing dates and locations.

E. The Board may waive the training program requirement set forth in Health Occupations Article, §20–302.1(f), Annotated Code of Maryland, for an applicant holding an Associate’s or Bachelor’s degree if the applicant:

  1. Passes an examination; and
  2. Meets other requirements established by the Board.

F. An applicant for whom the required education, experience, training, and examination is waived in accordance with Health Occupations Article, §20–302.1(h), Annotated Code of Maryland, shall submit the following to the Board to become certified:

  1. The application, fee, and criminal background check as required by Regulation .01 of this chapter; and
  2. Before October 1, 2015, satisfactory evidence that the applicant has worked in the State as a residential child and youth care practitioner for at least the last 2 years.

The RCYCP Certification Application can be downloaded from the Board’s website at
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp.       

The Child Protective Services Consent for Release of Information/Background Clearance Request form must be completed for the State of Maryland and for any other State an employee has lived.  Attached you will find the form for Maryland along with the addresses to each of the local Department of Social Services offices.  The form should be completed, notarized and mailed to the local Department of Human Resources/Social Services office within the jurisdiction where the employee resides. The local DHR/Social Services office should mail the findings directly to the Board at: Maryland State Board for Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals, 4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21215. This form can also be downloaded from the Board’s website at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/crccp

 


CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD CHECK

Please note that the State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals (“State Board”) no longer issues fingerprint cards.

All individuals seeking certification from the State Board for the Certification of Residential Child Care Program Professionals (“State Board”) must submit to a State and national criminal history record check (Health Occupations Article, §20-302C and COMAR 10.57.02 and COMAR 10.57.03) executed at a CJIS operated live scan fingerprint site or one of the CJIS approved private providers authorized pursuant to COMAR 12.15.05 to collect and submit live fingerprints.

The State Board’s authorization number through the Criminal Justice Information System – Central Registry (CJIS-CR) is 0800001123.

Criminal history record information obtained is sent directly to the State Board and to you. No information regarding your criminal history is made available to the private provider who initiated your criminal history record check. 

A receipt from the private provider or CJIS-CR is sufficient documentation that you have initiated your criminal history record check.  Your application, however, will not be processed until the results of the criminal history background check are received by the State Board.  Positive results will require detailed explanations and court sealed records forward to the State Board.


 

​​​