Board's mission:

The Board's mission is to protect the citizens of Maryland and to promote quality health care in the field of Occupational Therapy by:
  1. Licensing occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants;
  2. Setting standards for the practice of Occupational Therapy through regulations and legislation; and
  3. Receiving and resolving complaints from the public regarding occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants who may have violated the Occupational Therapy law (Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, Title 10) and its regulations found at COMAR 10.46.

Program description:

The State Board of Occupational Therapy Practice (the "Board") operates under the provisions of Title 10 of the Health Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.  The Board is the licensing authority of occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants in the State of Maryland.  The Board is mandated to regulate the practice of Occupational Therapy in Maryland by licensing qualified occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants, establishing fees, maintaining a current roster of all licensees, promulgating regulations for the practice of Occupational Therapy, verification of credentials, issuance of licenses, establish requirements for a verification of completion of continuing education, investigation of complaints based on alleged violations of regulations and statutes, formal and informal disciplining of licensees, create committees as deemed appropriate to advise the Board.  The program is 100% special funded.  The fund is supported exclusively by revenues generated by licensing fees.  

The Board consists of 7 members appointed by the Governor with the advice of the Secretary and advice of the Senate.  Four members of the Board are licensed occupational therapists, one member is a licensed occupational therapy assistant, and two members represent the public.

Board membership:  

  • Wanda R. Banks, MA, OTR/L, Board Chairperson
  • Daniel Martin, OTR/L, FAAPM, FASSET, CMTPT/CDN​, Board Vice Chairperson
  • Kimberly A. Goodman, MS, OTR/L, Secretary/Treasurer
  • Kim W. Sands, OTD, OTR/L, Board Member
  • Sarah Quirk, COTA/L, Board Member
  • Marylin Pierre, Esquire, Consumer Member
  • E. J. Quinn, Capt. USN (Ret.), Consumer Member
  • Carla Boyd, Board Counsel
  • Donna Seidel, Director

***Board Vacancy:***  

The Board of Occupational Therapy Practice is accepting applications through February 25, 2019 for the following Board seats:

  • 2 Occupational Therapists

Interested candidates should carefully review all membership criteria and the time commitment noted below before applying.  Applicants are responsible for ensuring that all application documents and nomination materials are submitted by February 25, 2019.


The criteria for members is outlined in the Board statute, Health Occupations §10-202.  A link is listed below.   Terms are for four years.  The applicant must be actively licensed, be in good standing with the Board and be a resident of Maryland.  Applicants must also have been engaged in the following for at least 3 of the 5 years immediately prior to appointment:

    a) practicing occupational therapy or limited occupational therapy;

    b) teaching occupational therapy; or 

    c) performing research in occupational therapy.


Board member duties:

  • Attend monthly Board meetings which are held on the third Friday of each month at the Board office located at 55 Wade Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21228 in the Tuerk Building, or via teleconference.  The meeting includes a closed and a public (open) session.   Members receive a stipend of $100 per meeting plus mileage.  Members receive documents in advance of the meeting for review.    There are attendance requirements in order to remain a board member.Marylin Pierre, Esquire, Consumer Member
  • Members may serve on several committees. Committees include the Continuing Competency Requirement Committee, Application Review Committee, the Legislative Regulatory Review Committee, and Ad Hoc Committee(s).  The committee meetings are held monthly, usually on the third Friday of every month before or after the start of regularly scheduled Board meeting.  Additional meetings may be scheduled throughout the month as needed based on work volume.  Meetings are sometimes scheduled via teleconference so familiarity with technology is helpful.
  • Members participate in disciplinary hearings and case resolution conferences.  
  •  Board members may be asked to testify before the General Assembly regarding legislation that affects consumers and/or licensees. 
  •  Board members are subject to the State Ethics Law and are required to file an annual financial disclosure with the Maryland State Ethics Commission.
  • Members routinely field inquiries and correspondence from practitioners.
  • Members may present or attend annual meetings/conferences of various associations  related to the practice of occupational therapy.

Please note that all applicants are thoroughly vetted and may be interviewed by a subject matter expert.   The Governor appoints all board members with the advice of the Secretary of the Department of Health.    

All interested applicants are required to submit a formal application through the Governor’s Appointments Office website at later than February 25, 2019.

Please be aware that one of the application documents, Appointee Exemption Disclosure (AED) form, is required by the Maryland State Ethics Commission (MSEC) to document any potential conflicts of interest.  On the AED form, applicants should request an employment exemption for all current employment.  Applicants that are self-employed, own or co-own a business should also request a financial exemption on the AED form. 

If an applicant is serving in an official capacity with Board/Association, the applicant should list their role and note their willingness to resign immediately if appointed to the Health Occupation Board.   Applicants may contact the MSEC at 410-260-7770 with questions or to request guidance.    

Please note that the Board statute also requires that applicants be nominated by MOTA. Please e-mail by February 25, 2019 to be included on the nominee list to Governor Hogan. 

The nomination is also due by the deadline for applications.  Nominations may be submitted via e-mail or mail to:

Kim Bennardi, Administrator
Maryland Department of Health
Office of Appointments and Executive Nominations
201 W. Preston St.  5th Floor, Baltimore, MD  21201
Phone:  410-767-4049

Any additional questions regarding applications or nominations may be addressed to Kim Bennardi at or 410-767-4049.  

Statute - Membership section for professionals.docx

Board of Occupational Therapy information sheet - 2016.doc

​ ​​