All documents may be submitted to the Board office via:
1) Email: firstname.lastname@example.org or
2) Fax: (410) 402-8561 or
3) US Mail: MD Board of Occupational Therapy, Spring Grove Hospital Center, 55 Wade Avenue, Bland Bryant Building, 4th Floor, Baltimore, MD 21228.
Necessary forms for an initial license:
Completed application and an application fee of $200. Your payment must be mailed to the office; a scanned copy of your payment is not acceptable.
2 moral character endorsement forms
Successful completion of the Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy jurisprudence exam. The pdf version of the statute and regulations can be viewed on the Practice Act & COMAR Regulations page.
Letters of verification from any state or country in which you've been licensed
Verification of initial certification or examination from NBCOT*
To be compliant with the biennial schedule being implemented in 2016, expiration dates for reinstated licenses will be determined by the original year of licensure. Licensees with an original even licensure year will have a reinstatement expiration date ending in an even year. Licensees with an original odd licensure year will have a reinstatement date ending in an odd year. Fees will be determined by the original licensure date.
Necessary forms for reinstatement:
Completed reinstatement application, along with a fee between $225 and $450. Contact the Board office for exact fee. Your payment must be mailed to the office; a scanned copy of your payment is not acceptable.
Documentation certifying a minimum of 24 contact hours of continuing education activities obtained with a 2-year period preceding the application for reinstatement as specified in COMAR 10.46.04. If there has been a lapse of 3 or more years in practice, please see COMAR 10.46.04.04 C(3) for more information. This requirement is waived if you are currently NBCOT certified.
Verification of initial certification or examination from NBCOT
If currently and/or previously authorized to practice in any other state or country, or both, a letter of verification of licensure, registration, or certification in good standing from the appropriate authority of that state or country.
Successful completion of the Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy Jurisprudence Exam.
Licenses expire on June 30th. Notice of renewal and application shall be sent to the last known address of each active licensee at least 30 days before the expiration date of the license.
The Board encourages licensees to complete the online renewal application. Renewal is available from May 1 through June 30.
A completed renewal application shall be returned to the Board, postmarked, by the deadline for renewal. At the time of licensure renewal, a licensee who has completed the continuing education requirement shall sign the renewal form attesting to the completion of the required contact hours as specified in COMAR 10.46.04.05.
Licensees who are audited, must successfully complete the requirement of the audit prior to renewal of licensure as specified in COMAR 10.46.04.05.
Renewal fees are published on the renewal page.
A completed renewal application postmarked after the deadline shall be assessed a late fee as specified in COMAR 10.46.05 (currently $25).
Incomplete applications will not be accepted as complete.
To further its commitment
to equal opportunity, the Maryland Board of Occupational Therapy
requests applicants to provide, voluntarily, their race/ethnicity
information. This information will be used for statistical purposes
only by authorized personnel.
Explanation of Race/Ethnic Categories:
201 W. Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-2399
(410) 767-6500 or 1-877-463-3464