Board of Morticians & Funeral Directors

 Welcome

NEW INFORMATION
  • On December 21, 2023, the Maryland Office of the Attorney General issued an Opinion on whether the Maryland Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors (the “Board”) had authority under existing law to license alkaline hydrolysis as a type of cremation to dispose of human remains. The Board invites its licensees and members of the public to review that opinion by accessing this link: Click Here.

  • THE ONLINE LICENSING RENEWAL SYSTEM WILL REMAIN OPEN UNTIL May 31, 2024, AT 11:59 PM​
  • Mortician licenses expire April 30th every two years. The non-refundable renewal application fee of $600 IN ADDITION TO the late fee of $400 is due to the Board for not renewing your license on or before April 30, 2024.

    Renew your license IMMEDIATELY at the ONLINE RENEWAL APPLICATION PORTAL under UPCOMING EVENTS and ONLINE SERVICES. Your password is the last four digits of your social security number. Your license number has one letter and five numbers. It does not contain the letter “O”.

    You are considered non-renewed and you are NOT permitted to practice mortuary science until your application and fees are received and approved.

    You are ONLY required to submit a CEU certificate of completion via mail, fax, or email IF you were selected for audit. 

      • *NEW* An Implicit Bias training program, approved by the Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Professional Competency Program under § 20–1306 of the Health-General Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, must be completed at the time of renewal IN ADDITION TO THE 12 CEUS REQUIRED.
      • Licensees MUST complete twelve (12) continuing education units (CEUs) that may be obtained by attending and participating in continuing education courses or workshops previously approved by the Board or otherwise meeting the requirements and approval of the Board within 24 months of the license issue date in order to renew a license. One (1) of those credits must include Maryland Pre-Need Law.
      • The Board accepts up to twelve (12) online credits.
      • Licensees may carry over up to three (3) CEUs to the next renewal cycle. You must list the carry over CEU’s, if any, and be prepared to submit a copy of the certificate(s).
      • If you have been a practicing mortician for forty (40) years or more, you may submit a one-time letter to mdh.bomfd@maryland.gov to request waiver of the CEU credits.
      • The Board will automatically waive continuing education requirements for a first-time renewal.
      • If you have an active mortician’s license and wish to place your license on Inactive Status, you may obtain an Inactive Status application on the Board’s website, and submit it with the $300 inactive status fee. Visit https://health.maryland.gov/bom/Pages/Licensees.aspx.

    Upon approval of your renewal application, the Board will issue an updated paper license via postal mail. If you have any questions, please contact the Board Office at 410-764-4792 or mdh.bomfd@maryland.gov

    **Disregard this message if your application was already submitted and approved**


UPCOMING EVENTS

ONLINE RENEWAL APPLICATION PORTAL

The online licensing renewal system will remain open until May 31, 2024, at 11:59 p.m

​Jurisprudence Exam

*Dates subject to change

July 2, 2024
October 1, 2024​


​Practical Exam​​​

*Dates subject to change

​​October 3, 2024​


Notice of Open Meeting

Subject:  Open ​Session Board Meeting
Date:  May 8
Time: 1:00pm - 2:00pm​​​
​Join by Google Meet:
Call-in number:+1 518-882-3587‬
Access code: 686 719 321‬#‬‬​
​​ Contact: Board Office
​​(410) 764-4792​​

--Meeting ​Agenda--

Notice of Family Security Trust Fund Open Meeting

Subject: Public Open Meeting
Date: June 12, 2024
Time: 12:30PM​
Join by Google Meet:
meet.google.com/iwk-auzw-ehv
Call-in number: 1 929-276-0856‬​​​‬
PIN: ​​​ ‪998 563 592‬#​
Contact: Board Office​
(410) 764-4792

--FSTF Agenda-​-


Mortuary Transport Vehicle Renewal Inspections​​

​Please contact the Board Office at MDH.BOMFD@maryland.gov to register a mortuary transport vehicle inspection and obtain an appointment time
​ ​

UPCOMING OPEN SESSION BOARD DATES  

  BOARD MEETING    APP. DEADLINE  ​
Sept. 13, 2023Aug. 23, 2023
Oct. 11, 2023Sept. 20, 2023
Nov. 8, 2023Oct. 18, 2023
Dec. 13, 2023Nov. 22, 2023
Jan. 10, 2024Dec. 20, 2023
Feb. 14, 2024Jan.24, 2024
Mar. 13, 2024Feb. 21, 2024
Apr. 10, 2024Mar. 20, 2024
May 8, 2024Apr. 17, 2024
Jun. 12,2024May 22, 2024
Jul. 10, 2024Jun. 19, 2024
​ ​ ​

***applications are accepted and reviewed on a rolling basis, however applicants will not be scheduled for a full Board meeting vote until ALL required documentation has been received.

​​

​​BOARD NOTICES


Proposed Laws and Regulation

HB152, Department of the environment study on death care and funeral practices, the committee voted to no position; SB0003 Service Members, Veterans and Military Spouses-Temporary Licensure, Certification, Registration and Permitting, 
we joined the Physicians position along with other Boards in opposition; SB221 Health Occupations Boards,

HB1168 & Cross filed bill SB1028 Alkaline Hydrolysis & Natural Organic Reduction
The committee was able to resolve it's concerns relating to the proposed amendments and withdrew it's position of unfavorable on both HB1168 and SB1028.  During the subcommittee meeting on Monday 2/11, the committee voted to PASS HB1168 and now it's up the the Senate.

SB893 - Siting Requirements for Crematories & Crematory Incinerators Areas III & IV
The committee sent a Position Paper to the committee in opposition of the bill and also  provided oral testimony during the hearing in opposition.  Following the hearing, packets of information refuting the proponents testimony were delivered to members of the committee on March 4th.

HB1374 - Crematory Set Back Requirements and Permits.
Similar to SB893, this bill encompasses the entire state. This is NOT a cross-filed bill. The committee provided a position paper on this bill in opposition and also provided oral testimony in opposition during the hearing

HB152-Study on Death Care / The committee took no position on this bill

HB1515 Sales & Use Tax-Rate Reduction  & Services (to include tax on funeral services)
The committee was unaware of this bill and as such was not able to provide a position paper or sign up to testify.  A letter of opposition is being prepared to deliver to the committee.

N​ew Laws and Regulations



BOARD OFFICE

STATE BOARD OF MORTICIANS
MDH METRO EXECUTIVE BUILDING
4201 PATTERSON AVENUE
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21215
PHONE: 410-764-4792 
Fax: 410-358-6571
EMAIL: MDH.BOMFD@maryland.gov

Drop Off Hours

​Monday & Wednesday
from ​10am to 3pm.​

​NO drop offs on the second wednesday of every month.