Materials are available for immediate download here​.

Materials may be ordered for free here.

Free online training and quiz on Tobacco 21 available here​.​​












Quit Support

NRT (e.g. patch, gum, lozenge) can be sold to customers age 18 and older.

More help to quit tobacco, including e-cigarettes:​













































​Last updated: November 5, 2020
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Maryland Responsible Tobacco Retailer Program

Effective October 1, 2019, the statewide sales age increases to 21 for all tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices (e-cigarettes, vapes, pod-based devices such as JUUL and their e-liquids, and component parts and accessories).

Effective December 20, 2019, the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products was also raised from 18 to 21 years. 

NOTE: The federal Tobacco 21 law went into effect on December 20, 2019. The federal law does not include a military exemption. In order to be compliant with the federal law, Maryland retailers should no longer sell tobacco products to any one under the age of 21 - no exceptions.

​Important changes impacting tobacco sales:
  • There is no "grandfather," phase-in, or grace period​ for individuals who are 18 years of age prior to 10/1/19. As of this date, no tobacco sales are permissible to any customer under 21
  • Valid driver's license or other valid government-issued ID are the only acceptable forms of identification for tobacco purchases (employer or school ID not permitted)
  • Retailers are required to post new age of sale signs in their establishments stating, "No person under the age of 21 may be sold tobacco products" (Compliant signs are available for download or order.)

How to comply with the Maryland law:

  1. Post an​ age of sale sign (compliant with the Maryland law)
  2. Use a driver’s license or government-issued ID to verify customer age
  3. Train all staff on tobacco sales procedures and policies​:​
      • Ask for valid photo ID from everyone under 30.
      • Check to make sure everyone is at least 21.
      • Refuse to sell tobacco and e-cigarette products to everyone under 21.

    Visit the FAQs​ for more information on the Tobacco 21 law.                    


                          Age of Sale Sign                                     Acceptable Forms of ID
                       compliant with MD law

                            ID Images.png



    Download and Order Free Materials Here.



     
    The ​Maryland Comptroller announced on February 10, 2020, all wholesalers and retailers must cease all sales and marketing of cartridge-based and disposable electronic smoking devices containing flavors other than tobacco or menthol.​
    ​The Comptroller’s Field Enforcement Division is prioritizing its enforcement actions against those
    unauthorized products most widely used by children – specifically, cartridge-based and disposable
    ESDs with flavors other than tobacco or menthol.

    For more information, please review the Maryland Comptroller Press Release.


    COVID-19 Update: Please refer to Tobacco 21 FAQ.


    Thank you for being a responsible tobacco retailer​.


    Retailers are an important part of our communities, providing goods and services to residents of all ages. Licensed tobacco retailers are uniquely positioned to act responsibly and help reduce and eliminate underage access to tobacco products in Maryland.

    Maryland is serious about keeping our communities tobacco-free and is increasing educational efforts and retailer compliance checks across the state.​ We appreciate your efforts to help reduce underage access to tobacco products.​



    This website provides materials and resources needed to train and educate retail owners and staff in order to remain compliant with all youth tobacco sales laws. We encourage everyone to utilize and share the resources provided.