Maryland Responsible Tobacco Retailer Program

Retailers are an important part of our communities, providing goods and services to residents of all ages. Licensed tobacco retailers are uniquely positioned to act responsibly and help reduce and eliminate underage access to tobacco products in Maryland.

Maryland is serious about keeping our communities tobacco-free and is increasing educational efforts and retailer compliance checks across the state.​

Understanding the roles retailers play in preventing tobacco sales to minors is essential.

Tobacco retailers are required by law to:

  • Ask for photo ID for everyone under 27.
  • Check to make sure everyone is at least 18*.
  • Refuse to sell tobacco and e-cigarette products to everyone under 18*.

To put it simply—selling, distributing or promoting tobacco and e-cigarette products to anyone under 18* years of age is illegal.

*Beginning October 1, 2019, Maryland retailers can only sell tobacco products to individuals who are at least 21 years old. 

**The minimum sales age remains 18 for active duty military with valid military identification.​​

This website provides materials and resources needed to train and educate retail owners and staff in order to remain compliant with all youth tobacco sales laws. We encourage everyone to utilize and share the resources provided.










Last updated June 26, 2019

​​​T21 logo.jpg 

Beginning October 1, 2019, Maryland retailers can only sell tobacco products to individuals who are at least 21 years old. ​​​

For additional information, please visit Frequently Asked Questions​.

New materials and resources will be made available on this website in the coming months to assist retailers in remaining compliant with the upcoming changes to the youth tobacco sales laws.

*The minimum sales age remains 18 for active duty military with valid military identification.​​





Online Training​

A brief overview of youth tobacco sales laws. ​​


Order Free Materials 


​ 

Download - Guidebook and Promotional Materials


View - New MD license & ID

MVA began issuing new secure license/ID in July 2016. There are two versions of valid Maryland IDs currently in circulation.

Effective August 8, 2016, FDA finalized a rule ​extending its authority to ALL tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, hookah, & more.