In accordance with Title 5-301(a) of the Dietitians and Licensed Nutritionists Act, you must be licensed by the Board of Dietetic Practice in order to practice dietetics in Maryland.
1. APPLICATION - An application form is required of all applicants. Please type or print clearly. The application must be completed in full. The application must be notarized.
2. VERIFICATION OF REGISTRATION - Submit to the Board proof of registration through the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the American Dietetic Association.
3. PRACTICE ACT/REGULATIONS - These are enclosed for your reference while practicing dietetics in Maryland.
4. FEES - Personal Check or Money Order, in the amount of $75.00 must accompany your application, made payable to: The Board of Dietetic Practice. At the time you are notified that your application has been approved, you will be required to pay the license fee which is $225.00. Fees are not refundable.
5. NOTE - Remember to keep the Board Office informed of name/address changes as they occur in the future.
In addition to #1, 3, 4 and 5 above, the following item must be submitted:
VERIFICATION OF CERTIFICATION - Submit to the Board proof of certification by the Certification Board for Nutrition Specialists.
All examination candidates must submit the following:
1. APPLICATION - Maryland State Board of Dietetic Practice application for licensure is required. Please type or print clearly. The application must be completed in full. The application must be notarized.
2. TRANSCRIPT - An official transcript from an accredited college or university of your Dietetic or Nutrition education mailed directly to the Board Office from the Registrar or the University or College.
A) Academic Requirements - For Licensure as a Dietitian
A baccalaureate degree or higher from an accredited college, for the field of dietetics, including a minimum of 24 semester hours in the field of human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food systems management. Of these 24 semester hours, at least 3 semester hours shall be from each of the following areas:
(i) Upper-division human nutrition related to disease;(ii) Upper-Division food service systems management;(iii) Biochemistry or physiological chemistry, or advanced normal human nutrition; and(iv) Food science(B) Academic Requirements - For Licensure as a Nutritionist
(B) Academic Requirements - For Licensure as a Nutritionist
A master’s or doctoral degree from an accredited college or university in nutrition sciences with (emphasis in human), food and nutrition, dietetics, community nutrition, public health nutrition, or equivalent academic training such as nutrition education and food science.
3. COURSE DESCRIPTION FORM - This form is to be used to document the 24 semester hours of course work in 2A, above.
4. PREPLANNED PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE REPORTING FORM - This form is to be used to document completion of 900 hours of supervised experience in dietetic or nutritionist practice.
5. EXAMINATION - If you meet the academic and experience requirements, you will be notified in writing of your eligibility to take the examination given by the Commission on Dietetic Registration of the American Dietetic Association. Once you have taken the Registration Examination for Dietitians, please submit proof of your results along with a copy of your CDR card. If you are applying for a Nutritionists license and have taken the Certification Nutrition Specialists Examination (CNS), please submit proof of your results.
6. FEES - Personal Check or Money Order, in the amount of $75 must accompany your application made payable to: The Board of Dietetic Practice. At the time you are notified that you are eligible for a license, you will be required to pay the license fee of $225. Fees are not refundable.
201 W. Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-2399
(410) 767-6500 or 1-877-463-3464