Maryland Behavioral Health Advisory Council

Authority and Purpose

Pursuant to the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health General 7.5 - 305, and federal Public Law (PL) 102-321, the State of Maryland has established the Maryland Behavioral Health Advisory Council to promote and advocate for: 

  • planning, policy, workforce development, and services to ensure a coordinated, quality system of care that is outcome-guided and that integrates prevention, recovery, evidence–based practices, and cost-effective strategies that enhance behavioral health services across the state; and
  • a culturally competent and comprehensive approach to publicly-funded prevention, early intervention, treatment and recovery services that support and foster wellness, recovery, resiliency, and health for individuals who have behavioral health disorders and their family members.​


The Maryland Behavioral Health Advisory Council By-Laws were amended and approved September 18, 2018.

Behavioral Health Advisory Council - By-Laws​​​​​

BHAC Membership Description and Roster​​​


The Maryland Behavioral Health Advisory Council (BHAC) consists of 28 In-Statute Ex-Officio Members (or designees) representing state and local government, the Judiciary, and the Legislature; 13 members, appointed by the Maryland Department of Health (MDH) Secretary, representing behavioral health provider and consumer advocacy groups; and 14 representatives that include a diverse range of individuals who are consumers, family members, professionals, and involved community members.​


Membership Roster 

Barbara L. Allen, BHAC Co-Chair, Community Advocate

Robert Anderson, The Maryland Department of Juvenile Services

Dori S. Bishop, Family Member

Lynda Bonieskie, The Maryland Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Kate Breen, The Governor's Office of Deaf and Hard of Hearing

Lori Brewster, The Maryland Association of County Health Officers

Andrea Brown, The Black Mental Health Alliance, Inc.

Mary Bunch, Family Member (Child)

Kenneth Collins, The Maryland County Behavioral Health Advisory Councils

Kathryn Dilley, The Maryland County Behavioral Health Advisory Councils

Johanna M Dolan, Consumer

Catherine Drake, The Maryland Division of Rehabilitation Services

The Hon. Adelaide Eckardt, The Maryland State Senate

Kate Farinholt, The National Alliance on Mental Illness of Maryland

Ann Geddes, The Maryland Coalition of Families for Children's Mental Health

Kevin E. “Finch" Grace, Consumer (Youth/Young Adult) 

Lauren Grimes, BHAC Co-Chair, The Community Behavioral Health Association of Maryland

Rosanne Hanratty, The Maryland Department of Aging

Carlos Hardy, The Maryland Recovery Organization Connecting Communities

Candace Harris, Community Advocate

Dayna Harris, The Maryland Department of Housing & Community Development

Joyce N. Harrison, Academic/Research Professional-Not State Employee

Helene Hornum, The Office of the Secretary, Maryland Department of Health

Aliya Jones, The Office of the Deputy Secretary Behavioral Health, MDH

Jennifer Krabill, The Children and Youth Division (formerly the Governor's Office for Children) Governor's Office of Crime Prevention, Youth, and Victim Services

Sylvia Lawson, The Maryland State Department of Education

The Hon. George Lipman, The Maryland Judiciary District Court

Michelle Livshin, On Our Own of Maryland, Inc.

Tammy Loewe, The Maryland Association of Core Service Agencies (MACSA)

Dan Martin, The Mental Health Association of Maryland, Inc.

Jonathan Martin, The Maryland Department of Budget and Management

Brendel Mitchell, Consumer (Youth/Young Adult)

The Hon. Dana Moylan Wright, The Maryland Judiciary Circuit Court

Caterina Pangilinan, The Maryland Health Benefit Exchange

Luciene Parsley, Disability Rights Maryland

Mary Pizzo, The Office of the Public Defender

Tiffany Rexrode, The Maryland Department of Human Services 

Keith Richardson, The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence of Maryland

Kirsten Robb-McGrath, The Maryland Department of Disabilities

Sabrina A. Sepulveda, Medical Professional

Jeffrey P. Sternlicht, Medical Professional

Deneice Valentine, Consumer

Mary C. Vaughan, Family Member (Child)

Vickie Walters, The Maryland Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence

Ambrosia M. Watts, The Behavioral Health Unit, Maryland Medicaid, MDH

Kimberlee Watts, Family Member

Anita Wells, Academic/Research Professional-Not State Employee

Kim Wireman, The Maryland Addiction Director's Council

Vacant, The Maryland Association of Boards of Education

Vacant, The Maryland House of Delegates

Vacant, The Maryland County Behavioral Health Advisory Councils

Vacant, The Governor's Office of Crime Control and Prevention

Vacant, The Maryland County Behavioral Health Advisory Councils​