

Wes Moore, Governor · Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor · Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., M.P.H., Secretary

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

4201 Patterson Ave., Baltimore, MD 21215 https://health.maryland.gov/psych

General Information

This document intends to provide general information about psychology associate registration. Please refer to the Board of Examiners of Psychologists Health Occupations Article 18 and COMAR 10.36.07 for a complete description of the laws and regulations that govern the practice of psychology as a Psychology Associate.

Psychology Associate Registration

Psychology Associate: Psychology Associates are registered to provide psychological services under the supervision of a licensed psychologist for two (2) years. Registrations are renewed every two (2) years. To apply for a psychology associate registration, an applicant must submit the following to the Board:

- An application.
- Pay the nonrefundable application fee.
- An official transcript sent to the Board from an accredited academic institution (see Health Occupations Article §18-302 for a complete description of educational requirements).
- Submit to a Criminal History Records Check using the following authorization numbers:

CJIS Authorization #: 1000002835

FBI ORI #: 920502Z

Applicants who meet the requirements will be eligible to take the Maryland Jurisprudence Exam.

Applicants with foreign degrees: Applicants with foreign degrees must have their transcript evaluated by the World Education Services (master's) or the National Register of Health Service Psychologists (doctorate). The results of the evaluation must be received from the credentialing agency.

Veterans and Spousal Preference: Under the Veterans Full Employment Act of 2013, the application of a veteran or spouse of a veteran who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than a dishonorable discharge within one (1) year of applying will be expedited.

<u>Veterans Auto And Education Improvement Act Of 2022</u> (Pl 117-333) – Service member and Spouse License Portability (visit https://health.maryland.gov/psych/Documents/sslp.pdf)

Reinstatement of Nonrenewed Status: If under five (5) years, submit a reinstatement application, current continuing education hours, and pay the reinstatement fee. A new application is required after five (5) years.

Examination Passing Scores

Maryland Jurisprudence - 75%

Common Fees

Registration Application - \$200.00 Biennial Registration Renewal - \$300.00 Jurisprudence Exam - \$250.00 Reinstatement - \$700.00

This information is subject to change. 11/2023