

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

4201 Patterson Ave., Baltimore, MD 21215 https://health.maryland.gov/psych

General Information

This document intends to provide general information about licensure. Please refer to the Board of Examiners of Psychologists Occupations Article 18 and COMAR 10.36 for a complete description of the laws and regulations governing psychology in Maryland.

Licensure

New Licensure Applicants: A new applicant for licensure is an individual who has never held a license in Maryland. To begin the process, the applicant must submit the following:

- A Practice Oriented Program Application.
- Pay the nonrefundable application fee.
- Ensure that supporting documentation is submitted.
- Official transcript/s sent to the Board from the accredited academic institution (see Health Occupations Article §18-101 for a description of educational requirements)
- Submit to a Criminal History Records Check using the following authorization numbers:

CJIS Authorization #: 1000002835

FBI ORI #: 920502Z

An application and payment must be made before a file will be established. The Board is only responsible for documents received after a file is established. Only complete applications will be reviewed.

Applicants who meet licensure requirements will be eligible to take the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP) and the Maryland Jurisprudence Exam.

Applicants with foreign degrees: Applicants with foreign degrees must have their doctorate transcript evaluated by The National Register of Health Service Psychologists. The results of the evaluation must be received from the credentialing agency.

Licensure by Mobility (Abbreviated Application): See COMAR 10.36.01.02 L

Limited Reciprocity: Applicants with an active license in another state in good standing may be granted a temporary exception to practice while waiting to take the jurisprudence exam.

Veterans and Spousal Preference: Under the Veterans Full Employment Act of 2013, the application of a veteran or spouse of a veteran who was discharged from active duty under circumstances other than a dishonorable discharge within one (1) year of applying will be expedited.

<u>Veterans Auto And Education Improvement Act Of 2022</u> (Pl 117-333) – Service member and Spouse License Portability (visit https://health.maryland.gov/psych/Documents/sslp.pdf)

Inactive status: The licensee pays a fee to place their active license on inactive status for a two-year (2) year period.

Reactivating a license requires a reactivation application, current continuing education hours, and a reactivation fee.

Reinstatement of Nonrenewed Status: If under five (5) years, submit a reinstatement application, current continuing education hours, and pay the reinstatement fee. A new application is required after five (5) years.

Examination Passing Scores

EPPP - 500 or 73% if taken before January 01, 2002 Maryland Jurisprudence - 75%

Common Fees

Licensure Application - \$300.00 Biennial License Renewal - \$400.00 EPPP Exam - \$650.00 Jurisprudence Exam - \$250.00 Inactive Status - \$200.00 (every 2 years) Reinstatement - \$700.00

This information is subject to change. 11/2023