Local Health Department Contacts

Anne Arundel Allegany Baltimore City Baltimore Calvert Carroll Caroline Cecil Charles Dorchester Frederick Garrett Harford Kent Montgomery Prince Georges Queen Anne's Somerset St. Mary's	(410) 222-7241 (301) 759-5000 (410) 396-4422 (410) 887-4066 (410) 535-3922 (410) 876-1884 (410) 479-8030 (410) 996-5160 (301) 609-6936 (410) 228-3223 (301) 600-1029 (301) 334-7760 (410) 778-1350 (240) 777-3986 (301) 883-7605 (410) 758-0721 (443) 523-1700 (301) 475-4330
Somerset	(443) 523-1700
Worcester	(410) 632-1220

For More Information Call 1-866-703-3266 TTY: 1-800-735-2258

Infectious Disease and Environmental Health Administration; Center for Environmental Health Coordination 201 West Preston Street Room 327 Baltimore, MD 21201-2399



Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Infectious Disease and Environmental Health Admini-stration. Center for Environmental Health Coordination 201 West Preston Street, Room 327 201 West Preston Street, Room 327 Baltimore, MD 21201-2399

1

MARYLAND

A Guide for **Tanning Facility Owners**

USE OF TANNING DEVICES BY MINORS: WHAT YOU NEED TO **KNOW**

http://dhmh.md.gov/eh/

Using Environmental Health Information to Improve Maryland's Health

Martin O'Malley, Governor Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor John M. Colmers, Secretary (DHMH)

Department of Health & Mental Hygiene

Working Together to Improve Health



Improving Maryland's Health

Since October 1, 2008, tanning facilities may not allow minors to use tanning equipment without the signed consent of the minor's parent or guardian.

AND, the tanning facilities must verify the age of an individual before allowing the individual access to a tanning device.

This brochure explains what tanning facilities must do to comply with the new law, and answers your questions about tanning of minors.

Why is there a new law to protect Maryland minors before they use tanning equipment?

Most health experts strongly recommend that children should not use indoor tanning devices. The health effects of concern include: skin cancer; phototoxcity and photoallergy; premature aging of the skin; and possible damage to the eye.

How does this law affect businesses?

Anyone who operates a tanning facility (any place where a tanning device is used for a fee, membership dues, or other compensation) has to meet the requirements of the new law.

What are the requirements of the new *law*?

- Tanning facility operators must ask everyone for proof of age at each visit, using some form of government-issued identification (such as a license).
- Minors (less than 18 years of age) MUST have a consent form, signed by a parent or guardian *in the presence of the facility owner or operator*, before they can tan. (A consent form can be downloaded from DHMH web site: <u>http://eh.dhmh.md.gov</u>).
- The tanning facility operator must confirm the identity of the parent or guardian, using some form of government-issued identification.
- You are required to correct any violations of the requirements listed above. If you fail to correct the violation (s) by the date specified, there may be subsequent penalties

What are the penalties?

 First violation—letter of reprimand 2nd violation-\$250.00
3rd violation-\$500.00
Addition violation—\$1000.00

How do I pay a penalty?

 To pay a penalty, make a check or money order out to "DHMH-General Funds" and attach a copy of the 'Letter of Violation'. Mail both your payment and the copy of letter to the Local Health Department.

How does a business request an appeal?

 Businesses have the right to a hearing on any violation. The owner must submit a written request for a hearing to the Department of Infectious Disease and Environmental Health; Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene; 201 West Preston Street, Room 327, Baltimore, Maryland 21201 - within 10 days.

Is there other important information?

 Please check the regulations in your particular county, since some counties now have their own laws regarding minors, forms and signage.

More information, forms, and contact information can be found at:

http://eh.dhmh.md.gov

Or call the IDEHA Helpline

