

## STATE OF MARYLAND

Office of Health Services Medical Care Programs

## Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 201 W. Preston Street • Baltimore, Maryland 21201

Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr., Governor - Michael S. Steele, Lt. Governor - Nelson J. Sabatini, Secretary

MARYLAND MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Waiver for Adults with Physical Disabilities Transmittal No.4

June 25,2003

To:

Living at Home: Maryland Community Choices Providers

Maryland Department of Human Resources

Waiver Case Managers

Susan J. Tucker, Executive Director

Office of Health Services

Please ensure that appropriate staff members in your organization are informed of the contents of this transmittal.

Fiscal Year 2004 Program Rate Increases

On July 1, 2003, payment rates will increase for certain services under the Living at Home: Maryland Community Choices program, also known as the Waiver for Adults with Physical Disabilities. The regulatory authority for these changes can be found in Regulation .29C(5) Payment Procedures under COMAR 10.09.55. The rates affected by this regulation will be increased on July 1 of each year by the lesser of:

a.) 2.5 percent;

b.) Change in nursing facility rates; or

c.) The change from September to September in the medical care component of the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers (CPI-U) for the Washington Baltimore area.

The average annual rate increase for nursing facility services and the CPI-U increase both exceed 2.5%; therefore the Fiscal Year 2004 payment rates reflect a 2.5% increase. Attached is a list of revised payment rates for Fiscal Year 2004. Providers may bill using the new rates for services provided on or after July 1, 2003.

Questions regarding this transmittal should be directed to the Waiver Coordinator, at 410-767-5220.

Enclosure (1)

Living at Home: Maryland Community Choices Waiver

Payment Rates Effective July 1, 2003

Service	Procedure Code	New Payment Rate
Attendant Care (consumer employed provider)	P4001	\$12.25 per hour
Attendant Care (agency provider)	P4000	\$15.75 per hour
Environmental Accessibility Adaptations	P4008	Up to \$5,733.25 per 12 month period*
Personal Emergency Response System	P4010	Up to \$1,042.50 per unit*
Personal Emergency Response System (with motion detector)	P4011	Up to \$1,251.00 per unit*
Personal Emergency Response System (Monitoring)	P4012	\$45.00 per month
Personal Emergency Response System (Maintenance)	P4013	\$45.00 per month
Extended Disposable Medical Supplies	P4023	* (see below)
Assistive Technology	P4015, P4016	Up to \$1,000 per unit* (\$5, 733.25 per 12 month period)*
Consumer Training	P4006	\$37.00 per hour
Family Training (self-employed provider)	P4004	\$24.50 per hour
Family Training (agency provider)	P4003	\$35.75 per hour
Nursing Supervision (self-employed provider)	P4018	\$24.50 per hour
Nursing Supervision (agency provider)	P4017	\$35.75 per hour

<sup>\*</sup>The providers may bill the lesser of the amount approved by the State or the actual purchase price for the service, including installation (where applicable). Other restrictions apply, as specified in COMAR 10.09.55.28. Please note that other billing limitations apply, as specified in COMAR 10.09.55.

<u>NOTE</u>: As you may know, the procedure codes for waiver services will change in October 2003 due to new federal law, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act. You will receive more information regarding these procedure code changes by September 2003.