
MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY EXAMINERS 
RENEWALS-FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ) 

 

How can I access the Code of Maryland Regulations?  
Access the Code of Maryland Regulations from this link or from the Board’s official website: 
www.health.maryland.gov/massage  
 
When will massage therapy licensees and registrants receive renewal notice? 
The Board generally starts disseminating information 2 months before the regulatory cited 
timeline of 30 days before the expiration of a license or registration. This information is 
disseminated both by email and postings on the Board’s Official website 
www.health.maryland.gov/massage with a designated link to a “Renewal Resource” page. 
 
When can I renew my license or registration? 
Licensed Massage Therapists and Registered Massage Practitioners can begin the online renewal 
process starting around the 3rd week of August through October 30th in the even year. The late 
renewal period is November 1st through November 30th in the same even year, subject to a $200 
late fee penalty. On December 1st of the same even year, the renewal systems portal is closed. 
 
Can I submit a paper renewal application? 
No. The renewal application is only available online. 
 
Can I complete my online license renewal application using a mobile device? 
No. Mobile devices such as smartphones, IPads, Kindle, etc. do not fully support the processing 
of the online renewal application. 
 
What is my password? 
Your password is the last four (4) digits of your Social Security number. 
 
Are my financial transactions protected? 
Yes. Your financial data is protected by a 128-byte encryption using Symantec SSL certificate 
and is PCI compliant. 
 
What is my username or user ID for the online renewal system? 
Your license or registration number starting with either the letter “M” or “R”. 
 
Why wouldn’t my login ID and Password work on the online renewal system? 
You must ensure that you are using your correct license or registration number with the 
designated prefix letter before the numerical digits. The only prefix letter in a license or 
registration number is “M” for licensed massage therapists license numbers or “R” for registered 
massage practitioner’s registration numbers. All zeros are numerical “0” and not the letter “O”. 
 
Where can I obtain my license or registration number? 
Your license or registration number can be obtained by: 

• Looking at the “Lic./Reg.” number box located on the printed license or registration; 
• Looking up your license or registration number on the Board’s official website and 

accessing the “Verify a License” link. 
 

http://www.health.maryland.gov/massage
http://www.health.maryland.gov/massage
https://health.maryland.gov/massage/Pages/renewal.aspx
https://mdbnc.dhmh.md.gov/Massage_Verif/Default.aspx
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How many continuing education hours (CEUs) are required to renew my license or 
registration? 
Licensed Massage Therapists and Registered Massage Practitioners must earn 24 hours in 
continuing education hours in the two-year period preceding the expiration date of the license or 
registration. You certify by submission of the renewal application that you have earned the 
required continuing education hours during the two-year period. You are not required to send 
your CEUs documents to the Board unless you are selected for audit. 
 
If this is my first license or registration renewal, do I need CEUs? 
You are exempt from continuing education requirement during the first license or registration 
renewal period, if your license or registration was issued within twelve (12) months of the 
expiration date printed on your document (that is, on or after Oct. 31st).  However, you must still 
renew your license or registration. 
All licensees and registrants must complete an Implicit Bias Training course and attest to 
having done so on the renewal portal. 
 
What is the biennial window for CEUs for renewal? 
The biennial window for the 2022 renewal cycle is November 1, 2018 through June 30, 2021.  It 
is normally exactly 2 years prior to the expiration date indicated on your active license or 
registration. 
 
How many continuing education hours (CEUs) can be carried over into the next renewal 
cycle? 
For the 2022 renewal cycle only, the Board has approved up to 17 Elective Continuing Education 
hours be carried over. 
 
What happens if I am audited for my continuing education hours by the Board? 
If selected for an audit, the licensee or registrant must immediately submit continuing education 
completion certificates for the appropriate time period (biennial window) to the Board. 
Continuing education documentation must be received and verified by Board for the renewal 
application process to be completed, provided all other renewal requirements have been satisfied. 
 
Do not send continuing education completion certificates to the Board unless you have been 
instructed to do so. Failure to complete the continuing education requirements may result in 
Board action being taken against the licensee or registrant. 
 
What should I do if I am not sure whether a continuing education course or program is or 
would be approved by the Board? 
Review the list of CEU approved providers cited in the Code of MD Regulations - Continuing 
Education chapter. If the provider you are considering is not listed, submit a completed 
“Continuing Education Review” form, located on the Board website under the “Forms” page, 
with detailed information including: 

• Course Title 
• Course Description 

https://health.maryland.gov/massage/Pages/comar.aspx
https://health.maryland.gov/massage/Pages/comar.aspx
https://health.maryland.gov/massage/Pages/forms.aspx
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• Course Schedule / Location 
• Course Sponsors/Instructors and credentials 
• Course Goals and Objectives 
• Methods of Instruction 
• Course Assignments / Text / Readings 
• Evaluation / Grading Method(s) 
• Awarded Credit 
• Certificate of Completion Detail 

Remit a $25 fee for each course approval request with the application form. 
 
What happens if I have not obtained the required continuing education for renewal? 
The online renewal system will not allow you to proceed with your renewal application unless 
you have completed the required continuing education hours. If you enter the CEUs completed, 
you must have the documentation to prove that you completed the CEUs. The date listed on your 
CEUs certificate of completion must be consistent with the dates you entered in the online 
renewal system application. If you do not have the required continuing education, you should 
contact the Board immediately. 
 
How long must I keep my continuing education (CEU) documentation in my file? 
The law requires that all licensees and registrants, even those who were not audited must 
maintain their continuing education records for at least 4 years. 
 
My name has changed and I need to update my license. How do I change it? 
Download, complete and send the “Name Change Application” with the required fee and 
supporting documentation to the Maryland State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners. You 
may not change your name through the online renewal application. Your name change must be 
completed within 60 days of the change. If you are approaching a renewal, you should not 
complete the online renewal application before submitting your name has change application.  
Please contact the Board immediately for directions. 
 
How long will it take to complete the license or registration renewal application? 
It can take anywhere from 10 to 30 minutes to complete the application depending on the 
applicant’s response to each question. Certain responses such as “Yes” answers require 
additional information. 
 
How long does it take to approve my license or registration renewal once the application is 
completed online?  
The length of time it takes to approve the license or registration renewal application depends on 
several factors including, a) the completeness of a renewal application; b) review and 
investigation of “Yes” responses to character and fitness questions and, c) completion of CEUs 
documentation review if the licensee or registrant is randomly selected for audit by the Board. 
 
Audited licensee or registrant are to provide evidence of CEU and CPR completion by 
submitting documents either via the Board’s designated email, fax or mail as outlined in the 
“Renewal Instructions & Procedures”.  The Board does not accept partial submissions and will 
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not issue a license or registration until/unless the licensee/registrant submits the complete audit 
packet.  
 
What are my payment options for paying the renewal fee? 
The license or registration fee is payable online by Visa or MasterCard credit or debit cards only 
(American Express or Discover is not accepted). Credit card payment will not be accepted by 
phone or in person at the Board’s office as they cannot be processed in the office. 
 
Is my credit card information secure? 
Yes. No one at the Board has access to your credit card information. The system does not save 
your credit card information. We are a PCI Compliant Merchant of BB&T Bank. 
 
How long does it take to process a license or registration renewal application? 
Completed applications are processed in the order in which they are received. Generally it can 
take up to 72 hours. You may check the “Verify a License” link on the Board’s website for 
updated information. If you see the new expiration date, that means your license or registration 
has been processed and already in the mail to you. 
 
How do I get a copy of my receipt and license or registration after renewing? 
After submission of the application and payment, you are to immediately print a copy of your 
receipt and application. You may also go back to the login window and log in again. Although 
the system will not let you go back into the application, below the login box is a link to print out 
a copy of your application and receipt. Additionally, if you provided an email address, the 
system will automatically send you an email confirmation. 
 
What to do if I receive an error message and cannot complete my application? 
Exit the system and log in again. If you are still experiencing difficulties contact Christopher 
Hawkins at christopher.hawkins1@maryland.gov  or bcmte@maryland.gov.  
 
Can I make changes to my application after I have submitted it? 
No.  You are not able to make changes to the online application after it has been submitted. 
 
What do I do if I do not have enough space to explain my "Yes" answer? 
If you need to provide additional information or supporting documentation, mail them to: 
 
MD State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners 
4201 Patterson Ave., Suite 301 
Baltimore, MD 21215 
Attention: Renewal Unit 
 
Is there a late renewal? 
Yes. Late renewal starts (even years) November 1st and runs through November 30th at 11:59 
p.m. (EST). Failure to renew your license or registration by the expiration date will result in the 
termination of your license or registration to practice in Maryland. There is no grace period after 
the expiration date.  The online renewal system closes December 1st. 
 

mailto:christopher.hawkins1@maryland.gov
mailto:bcmte@maryland.gov
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My license or registration is expired. How do I reinstate or reactivate my license? 
It depends on the expiration date. If you are non-renewed for five or more years, you cannot 
reactive or reinstate a license or registration.  Contact the Board immediately. You must know 
your license or registration status. You are able to obtain your license or registration status by 
clicking the link “Verify a License”.  
 
If you are: 
 

• Non-Renewed for less than five years - reinstate your license or registration using the 
“Reinstatement Application” 

 
• Inactive - reactivate your license or registration by using the “Reactivation Application”. 

 
How do I make my license or registration inactive? 
You can apply for inactive status if your license or registration is currently active and apply for 
inactive status during the open renewal period. 
 
Can my license be renewed if I have a tax liability with the State? 
No. You cannot apply for license or registration renewal until after the Board receives 
confirmation from the State Comptroller’s Office that your tax liability has been resolved or 
payment arrangements have been made. Contact the Comptroller’s Office at 410-974-2432. 
 
Do I need to notify the Board if I do not plan to renew my license or registration? 
No. You are not required to notify the Board. However, your license or registration will 
automatically expire if not renewed by the expiration date. 
 


