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Maryland Health Occupations Section
4-606

Article - Health Occupations

§ 4-606.

(a) A person who practices or attempts to practice dentistry without a license in
violation of § 4-601(a)} of this subtitie or represents to the public in violation of § 4-602 of
this subtitle that the person is authorized to practice dentistry is guilty of a misdemeanor
and on conviction is subject to:

(1}  For a first offense, a fine not exceeding $2,000 or imprisonment in jail not

exceeding 6 months; or

(2) For a subsequent offense, a fine not exceeding $6,000 or imprisonment in the
State penitentiary not exceeding 1 year.

(b) A person who practices or attempts to practice dental hygiene without a license in
violation of § 4-601(a) of this subtitle, aids or abets unauthorized practice of dental hygiene
in violation of § 4-601(b) of this subtitle, or represents to the public in violation of § 4-602
of this subtitle that the person is authorized to practice dental hygiene is guilty of a
misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000.

(¢) A person who violates any provision of Subtitle 4 of this title, which relates to
dental laboratory work, or who advertises a dental appliance in violation of § 4-503(c) of
this title is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding
$2,000 or imprisonment in jail not exceeding 6 months.
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MD - Annotated Code of Maryland HEALTH OCCUPATIONS TITLE 4,
DENTISTRY SUBTITLE 6. PROHIBITED ACTS; PENALTIES

§ 4-601. Practicing without license; aiding or abetting
unauthorized practice

(a) Practicing without license. -- Except as otherwise provided in this title, a person may
not practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice dentistry or dental hygiene on a human
being in this State unless licensed by the Board.

(b) Aiding or abetting unauthorized practice of dental hygiene, -- A person may not
aid or abet unauthorized practice of dental hygiene in this State,

History

An. Code 1957, art. 32, 8§ 1, 31, 33; 1981, ch. B, § 2, 1990, ch. 6, § 11.
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MD - Annotated Code of Maryland HEALTH OCCUPATIONS TITLE 4.
DENTISTRY SUBTITLE 6. PROWIBITED ACTS; PENALTIES

§ 4-606. Penaities

(a) Unauthorized practice of deatistry, --

(1) Except as provided In paragraph (2) of this subsection, a person who practices or
attempts to practice dentistry without a license in violation of § 4-601{(a) of this subtitle or
reprasents to the public in violation of § 4-602 of this subtitie that the person is authorized to
practice dentistry is gulity of a felony and on conviction is subject to: '
(i) For a first offense, a fine not exceeding $ 5,000 or imprisonment not exceeding 1 year; or
(ii) For a subsequent offense, a fine not exceeding $ 20,000 per day or imprisonment not
exceeding 5 years.

(2) This subsection does not apply to a person who practices or attempts to practice
dentistry without a license if the person's license has been expired for a period of not more

than 6 months,

(b) Unauthorized practice of dental hyglene, --

{1) Exceht as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, a person who practices or
attempts to practice dental hygiene without a license in violation of § 4-601(a) of this
subtitle, aids or abets unauthorized practice of dental hygiene in violation of § 4-601(b) of
_this subtitle, or represents to the public in violation of § 4-602 of this subtitle that the person
is authorized to practice dental hygiene is guilty of a misdemeancor and on conviction is
subject to a fine not exceeding $ 1,000,

{2) This subsection does not apply to a person who practices or attempts to practice dental
hygiene without a license if the person’s license has been expired for a period of not more

than 6 months.
(c) Dental laboratory work offense; advertising dental appliance, -~ A person who

violates any provision of Subtitie 4 of this title, which relates to dental laboratory work, or
who advertises a dental appliance in violation of § 4-503(c) of this title is guilty of a felony
and on conviction s subject to a fine not exceeding $ 2,000 per day or imprisonment not

exceeding 2 years.




