BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS

<u>Minutes – Open Session - September 15, 2017</u>

Approved by the Board on October 20, 2017

Members	Non-Members		
Carol A. Deel, Ph.D., LCMFT, LCPC,	Kimberly B. Link, J.D., Interim Exec. Dir.		
Acting Chair	Ari Elbaum, Board Counsel, AAG		
Risa Ganel, LCMFT, Chair-Elect	Anna Sullivan, Admin. Officer		
Aparna Ramaswamy, Ed.D., Ph.D., LCPC,	Frances Cipriotti, Admin. Officer		
ACS, Vice Chair	Janice Isaac, Admin. Specialist		
Candice Richardson Dickens, LCADC, LCPC	Tawana Brown, Admin. Specialist		
Secretary	Edward J. Fox, Investigator		
Anna Blasetti DeJong, LCADC, LCPC	Skip Bedics, Investigator		
Amanda Bechtel, LCADC, LCPAT absent/on	Brandon Wright, DH		
leave.	Sharon Bloom, DH		
Sharon Bolden, LCADC, LCPC	Pat Laidlaw, LCADC		
Sara Carlton, Consumer	Howard Ashkin, MATOD		
Mark Donovan, LCADC, LCPC	Hannah Dier, DLS		
Mary ("Nicki") Drotleff, LCMFT	Lynn Bowman, BAAC		
C. Scott Frazier, III, Consumer	Erin Camp Rooker, BAAC		
Jeffrey M. Galecki, MS, LCADC, LCPC	Willie Harris, MAD-AAMFT		
Husher L. Harris, Sr., LCPC	Kristen Neville, DH		

9:00 a.m. Committee Meetings

9:30 a.m. CRC

10:30 a.m. Administrative Hearing

The Chair called the meeting to order at 12:10 p.m.

- I. Review/Approval of Agenda *Approved*.
- II. Review/Approval of Open Session minutes of May 19, 2017. Approved.
- III. Reports:
 - A. Chair Introduction of Husher L. Harris, Sr., LCPC, to the Board; Brief description of the election process.
 - B. Board Counsel No report.
 - C. Interim Executive Director:
 - 1. Per Hannah Dier, the preliminary Sunset Report will be submitted to the Board for a response in October, 2017.
 - 2. Introduction of Investigator, Skip Bedics.
 - 3. The intranet site for Members should be available in time for the October 2017 meeting; IT has reported that the work to create online applications will begin late Fall; work continues on revising website and forms.

- D. Legislative Update by Kristen Neville: HB1652/17 "Health Occupations Certified Supervised Counselors Alcohol and Drug Qualifications" will be reintroduced by Delegate Pena-Melnyk this upcoming legislative session. The Board considered and discussed whether to include CAC-AD to the original Bill which only addressed CSC-AD. *Motion to include CAC-AD in the original version of the Bill. Passed.*
- E. Ratification of Licenses issued since March 2017. Approved.

IV. Election of Officers: Nominations were taken from the floor.

Chair: Candice Dickens was nominated by Anna deJong;

Risa Ganel was nominated by Nicki Drotleff.

Votes were collected by written ballot. Results: Risa Ganel,

Chair.

Vice Chair: Aparna Ramaswamy was nominated by Risa Ganel;

Jeff Galecki was nominated by Aparna Ramaswamy Anna deJong was nominated by Candice Dickens

Votes were collected by written ballot. Results: Aparna

Ramaswamy, Vice Chair.

Secretary: Jeff Galecki was nominated by Aparna Ramaswamy;

Sharon Bolden was nominated by Candice Dickens; Candice Dickens was nominated by Sharon Bolden.

Votes were collected by written ballot. Results: Candice Dickens,

Secretary.

Carol Deel stated that she will continue to serve as Chair until October 1, 2017, or until a new person is appointed to her seat on the Board; and that she will appoint committee chairs by the end of September.

V. Miscellaneous: Howard Ashkin, MATOD, addressed the Board and provided statistics regarding the opioid crisis and a copy of the *Drug- and Alcohol-related Intoxication Deaths in Maryland, 2016 and the first quarter of 2017.*

Executive	Session	adjourned	l at I	1:05	p.m.
-----------	---------	-----------	--------	------	------

Respectfully submitted,

/s/
Candice Richardson Dickens, Secretary