# Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

# **Subtitle 29 BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS**

# **Chapter 02 Examination**

#### 10.29.02.00 Chapter 02 Examination.

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §7-304, Annotated Code of Maryland

#### 10.29.02.01 Definitions.

A.The following terms have the meanings indicated.

#### B.Terms Defined.

- "Applicant" means any individual who qualifies to take the Maryland mortician or funeral director examination.
- 2. "Board" means the State Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors.
- "Maryland mortician and funeral director examination" means the legal and practical examination that is given by the Board to test the competency of individuals applying for a Maryland mortician or funeral director license.

#### 10.29.02.02 Scope of Examination.

The Board will give a two-part examination which consists of a:

- A. Legal part, testing the applicant's knowledge of Maryland law and regulations governing mortuary science, including subject areas disclosed to applicants as part of a notification of the upcoming examination sent to all licensed apprentices and other applicants; and
- B. One of the following:
  - 1. Practical part for morticians, testing competency in embalming and otherwise preserving a dead human body, as specified in Health Occupations Article, §7-304(d)(1)(i) and (ii), Annotated Code of Maryland; or
  - 2. Practical part for funeral directors, testing competency in hazardous waste and washing and handling a dead human body.

#### 10.29.02.03 Requirements for Examination.

An applicant shall:

- A. Hold an apprentice license or have completed the apprenticeship requirements;
- B. Submit an application for examination on the required form; and
- C. Pay to the Board the examination fee set forth under COMAR 10.29.04.02A.

#### 10.29.02.04 Passing Score.

- A. A minimum passing grade of 70 percent is required on the law examination.
- B. The practical examination shall be:
  - 1. Administered by the licensed Board members; and
  - 2. Graded based on a pass or fail score.
- C. An applicant who fails either part of the examination may retake that part of the examination one time during the next examination period without paying an additional \$100 fee.

- D. An applicant who fails both parts of the examination may retake the entire examination one time during the next examination period without paying an additional \$100 fee.
- E. The Board shall notify each applicant by mail of the results of the examination within 30 days after it is taken. Numerical scores may not be given out unless requested in writing by the applicant.

# 10.29.02.05 Frequency of Examination.

The Board shall hold an examination twice a year, in April and October.

#### 10.29.02.06 National Examination.

- A. Before granting a Maryland mortician or funeral director license, the Board shall require an applicant to take and pass the national examination administered by the Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards of the United States. The national examination may be taken either before or after the applicant takes the Maryland examination. An applicant may retake the national examination as often as is necessary to fulfill this requirement.
- B. A minimum passing grade of 75 percent on each section of the examination is required.
- C. The two sections of the examination are:
  - 1. Funeral service science, which includes:
    - a. Embalming;
    - b. Restorative art;
    - c. Microbiology;
    - d. Pathology;
    - e. Chemistry; and
    - f. Anatomy;
  - 2. Funeral service arts, which includes:
    - a. Sociology of funeral service;
    - b. Psychology and counseling;
    - c. Funeral directing and professional relationships;
    - d. Business law;
    - e. Funeral service law;
    - f. Funeral merchandising; and
    - g. Accounting.

# **Administrative History**

Effective date: May 4, 1987 (14:9 Md. R. 1080)

Regulation .01B amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 2007 (34:24 Md. R. 2154); amended permanently effective February 25, 2008 (35:4 Md. R. 514)

Regulation .02B amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 2007 (34:24 Md. R. 2154); amended permanently effective February 25, 2008 (35:4 Md. R. 514)

Regulation .04 amended effective May 18, 2020 (47:10 Md. R. 518)

Regulation .06A amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 2007 (34:24 Md. R. 2154); amended permanently effective February 25, 2008 (35:4 Md. R. 514)