
  

FACT SHEET 
APPLYING FOR A NEW CERTIFICATE OF BIRTH FOLLOWING SEX CHANGE 

OR DIAGNOSIS OF AN INTERSEX CONDITION 
 

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
Division of Vital Records 

 

Background An individual born in Maryland whose sex has been changed or who has been 
diagnosed with an intersex condition may apply for a Certificate of Live Birth that 
reflects a change in sex designation.   If a name change is also being requested, a 
court order must be presented. 

Requirements for 
new Certificate 
reflecting change 
to sex designation 

An individual who was born in Maryland must provide satisfactory proof that: 
1. A licensed health care practitioner who has treated or evaluated the 

individual has signed a statement, under penalty of perjury, that the 
individual has undergone surgical, hormonal, or other treatment 
appropriate for the individual, based on generally accepted medical 
standards; OR 

2. A licensed health care practitioner who has treated or evaluated the 
individual has signed a statement, under penalty of perjury, that the 
individual has an intersex condition and, in the professional opinion of 
the licensed health care practitioner, based on generally accepted 
medical standards, the individual’s sex designation should be changed 
accordingly;  OR 

3. A court of competent jurisdiction has issued an order indicating that the 
sex of an individual should be changed; OR 

4. Prior to October 1, 2015, the Secretary of the Department of Health and 
Mental Hygiene amended an original Certificate of Live Birth on receipt 
of a court order indicating the sex of the individual has been changed. 

Licensed health 
care practitioner 

A licensed health care practitioner is an individual who is: 

 A physician licensed under Title 12 of the Health Occupations Article; 

 A psychologist licensed under Title 18 of the Health Occupations Article; 

 A registered nurse licensed and certified to practice as a nurse 
practitioner, nurse psychotherapist, or clinical nurse specialist under Title 
8 of the Health Occupations Article;  

 A licensed certified social worker-clinical who is licensed under Title 19 of 
the Health Occupations Article; or 

 An individual who is licensed to practice a profession listed above in 
another state and meets the requirements under the Health Occupations 
Article to Qualify for a license to practice the profession in this state. 

Requirements for 
name change  

A change to the name requires the original court order unless the individual is 
under 12 months of age.  The name of an individual under the age of 12 months 
may be changed once without a court order by providing the required 
documentation.    

To request 
change(s)  

Submit application, required evidence, and fees to the Division of Vital Records, 
6764-B Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, Maryland 21215.     

Fees Preparation of new Certificate of Live Birth               $10 
Purchase of new Certificate (if requested)                 $10 per copy 
 

Check or money order should be made payable to the “State of Maryland” 

For more 
information 

Contact the Division at Vital Records at 410-764-3036 or scook@maryland.gov. 

 



  
APPLICATION FOR CHANGE IN SEX DESIGNATION ON A CERTIFICATE OF LIVE 

BIRTH  
 

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
Division of Vital Records 

Applicant’s contact 
information 

Current                First                                         Middle                                        Last  

name: 
 

Address: 
 
 

Telephone: 
 
 

Email: 

Information on 
existing birth 
certificate 

Name at                  First                                         Middle                                        Last  

birth: 
 

Date of  
birth: 
 

City/county 
of birth: 

Name of  
Mother: 
 

Name of 
Father: 

 I am requesting a new Certificate of Live Birth to reflect a change in the sex 
designation that appears on the existing Certificate.  I am submitting: 

 A signed statement from a licensed health care practitioner OR a court 
order indicating that the sex designation on my Certificate of Live Birth 
should be changed; 

 My government-issued photo identification; and 

 A check or money order in the amount of $10 for processing the change 
to the Certificate. 
 

Although not required, I am requesting that the Division of Vital Records:  

 Amend the name on the Certificate (a court order must be provided if the 
individual is over 12 months of age)  

 Issue a certified copy (or copies) of the new Certificate of Birth (enclose 
Application for Certified Copy of a Maryland Birth Record and required 
fees).  

 

X  
       _______________________________________________                     ______________________ 

                    Signature of Applicant                                                   Date 

FEES ENCLOSED Check of money order should be made 
payable to the State of Maryland 
 

    Preparation of new Certificate @$10 
    per certificate 
 

    Certified copy (or copies) of Certificate  
    of Live Birth @ $10/copy 
 

TOTAL 

                                         
                                         
                                         
$______________ 
 
 

 
                                         
$______________ 
 

                                         
$______________ 

 



  

CHANGE IN SEX DESIGNATION ON A CERTIFICATE OF LIVE BIRTH 
STATEMENT OF LICENSED HEALTH CARE PRACTITIONER 

 

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
Division of Vital Records 

 

Purpose of the 
form 

An individual born in Maryland whose sex has been changed, or who has been 
diagnosed with an intersex condition, may apply for a Certificate of Live Birth that 
reflects a change in sex designation.  The individual must provide satisfactory 
proof from a licensed health care practitioner that the individual has undergone 
surgical, hormonal, or other treatment appropriate for the individual, based on 
generally accepted medical standards; or that the individual has an intersex 
condition.   This form is intended to assist licensed health care practitioners in 
providing the information required on the statement that is needed to 
accompany an individual’s application. 

Patient/client 
information 

Name: Date of birth: 

Licensed health 
care practitioner 
information 

Name: 
 

Phone number: 

Address: 
 

Type of provider: 

 Physician (licensed in Maryland under Title 14 of the Health Occupations 
Article, or licensed in another state and meets the requirements to qualify 
for a license to practice in Maryland) 

 Psychologist (licensed in Maryland under Title 18 of the Health Occupations 
Article, or licensed in another state and meets the requirements to qualify 
for a license to practice in Maryland) 

 Nurse practitioner, nurse psychotherapist or clinical nurse specialist 
(licensed in Maryland under Title 8 of the Health Occupations Article, or 
licensed in another state and meets the requirements to qualify for a license 
in Maryland) 

 Licensed certified social worker--clinical (licensed in Maryland under Title 19 
of the Health Occupations Article, or licensed in another state and meets the 
requirements to qualify for a license in Maryland) 

 State of  
licensure: 

License  
Number: 

Affidavit I am a licensed health care practitioner in good standing and have treated or 
evaluated the patient/client indicated above.  I hereby certify that this individual 
has undergone surgical, hormonal, or other treatment appropriate for the 
individual, based on generally accepted medical standards, or that the individual 
has an intersex condition.  In my professional opinion, based on generally 
accepted medical standards, the individual’s sex designation should be changed 
from: 
 

 Male to Female 

 Female to Male 
 

I declare under penalty of perjury that the information above is true and 
accurate. 
 
X  
       _______________________________________________                     ______________________ 

           Signature of health care practitioner                                 Date 
 

 


