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Compliance Guide for New Regulations for Small Businesses
COMAR 10.29.02, 10.29.05, 10.29.09, 10.29.17 and 10.29.18
Maryland Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors
· What do these regulations do?
The purpose of this action is to amend obsolete provisions, clarify existing language, and bring requirements in line with existing Board statutes and practices.  Specifically, under:
COMAR 10.29.02 Examination
This regulation change will lower the minimum passing score from 75 to 70 percent on the law exam in order to bring the regulation in line with existing Board practice.  Examination results will be mailed within 30 days, instead of 45.

COMAR 10.29.05 Continuing Education Requirements
This proposed regulation represents a clean-up of the current language.  The time period addressed in the current regulation has passed and is no longer relevant. 

COMAR 10.29.09 Requirements for Apprenticeship
This regulation represents a clean-up of the language. Additionally, applicants for a mortician’s or funeral director’s license shall obtain practical experience in funeral service arrangements consisting of: (1) 20 funeral directions, instead of 24, and (2) 20 embalming assists, instead of 25.  The proposed regulation brings the practical experience requirements in line with the existing statutes under § 7-306(e) which requires 20 embalmings, 20 funeral assists or 20 funeral directions. 

COMAR 10.29.17 Crematories – Permit, Licensing, and Fees
The current regulation requires a manufacturer training which poses considerable burden and cast on small business.  The proposed regulation will have a positive effect on small business in that crematories will not be required to obtain training from a cremator manufacturer only and will have the option to obtain training from a licensed experienced supervising mortician at considerable cost savings.

COMAR 10.29.18 Crematories – Inspections, Complaints, Investigations, Grounds for Discipline, and Penalties
This regulation represents a cleanup of nonsensical language in the current regulation.  

· Who is subject to the new regulation?
Licensed morticians and funeral directors, registered crematory operators and permitted crematories.

· Why were the new regulations adopted?
To clean-up the current language; correct a conflict with the statutory requirement under the Health Occupations Article, §7-306(e), Annotated Code of Maryland; and clarify training and inspection requirements for crematories.

· When are the regulations effective?
The regulations will take effect 10 days after publication of the final notice in the Maryland Register.

· Is funding available to implement new requirements established by the regulation?
As the proposed regulations do not impose any additional requirements to licensees, no Board funding is necessary for implementation.

· Are there other resources available for implementing the requirements of the regulation?
No.

· Is there assistance available to help understand the requirements of the regulation?
Yes.  Questions may be directed to the Board of Morticians’ Legislative and Regulations Chair, Michelle Kutta at (410) 764-4792 or to the board’s Legislation & Regulations Coordinator, Lillian Reese at (410) 764-5978 or lillian.reese@maryland.gov.
image1.png
&

MARYLAND
Department of Health




