
 

19. Petitions for Guardianship of a Disabled Person 
  ESTATES & TRUSTS ARTICLE, §13-705(a)—(c) and Maryland Rule 10-202(a) 
 
 

§13-705(a)—(c). Appointment of guardian of disabled person. 
 (a) Petition and notice. — On petition and after any notice or hearing prescribed by law or the 
Maryland Rules, a court may appoint a guardian of the person of a disabled person. 
 (b) Grounds. — A guardian of the person shall be appointed if the court determines from clear 
and convincing evidence that a person lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make or communicate 
responsible personal decisions, including provisions for health care, food, clothing, or shelter, because of 
any mental disability, disease, habitual drunkenness, or addiction to drugs, and that no less restrictive 
form of intervention is available which is consistent with the person's welfare and safety. 
 (c) Procedures and venue; certificates of competency. —  
  (1) Procedures and venue in these cases shall be as described by Title 10, Chapters 100 
and 200 of the Maryland Rules. 
  (2) Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph (1) of this subsection, a petition for 
guardianship of a disabled person shall include signed and verified certificates of competency from the 
following health care professionals who have examined or evaluated the disabled person: 
   (i) Two licensed physicians; or 
   (ii) 1. One licensed physician; and 
    2. A. One licensed psychologist; 
     B. One licensed certified social worker-clinical ; or 
     C. One nurse practitioner 
  (3) An examination or evaluation by at least one of the health care professionals under 
paragraph (2) of this subsection shall occur within 21 days before filing a petition for guardianship of a 
disabled person. 
 

Rule 10-202(a). Certificates — Requirement and content. 
 (a) Certificates. — 
  (1) Generally required. —If guardianship of the person of a disabled person is sought, the 
petitioner shall file with the petition signed and verified certificates of the following persons who have 
examined or evaluated the alleged disabled person: (A) two physicians licensed to practice medicine in 
the United States, or (B) one such licensed physician and one licensed psychologist, licensed certified 
social worker-clinical, or nurse practitioner. An examination or evaluation by at least one of the health 
care professionals shall have been within 21 days before the filing of the petition. 
  (2) Form. — Each certificate required by subsection (a)(1) of this Rule shall be 
substantially in the form approved by the State Court Administrator, posted on the Judiciary website, and 
available in the offices of the clerks of the circuit courts. 



 

 

  (3) Absence of certificates. —  
   (A) Refusal to permit examination. — If the petition is not accompanied by the 
required certificate and the petition alleges that the disabled person is residing with or under the control of 
a person who has refused to permit examination or evaluation by a physician, a psychologist, a licensed 
certified social worker-clinical, or a nurse practitioner, and that the disabled person may be at risk unless 
a guardian is appointed, the court shall defer issuance of a show cause order. The court shall instead issue 
an order requiring that the person who has refused to permit the disabled person to be examined or 
evaluated appear personally on a date specified in the order and show cause why the disabled person 
should not be examined or evaluated.  The order shall be personally served on that person and on the 
disabled person. 
   (B) Appointment of health care professionals by court. — If the court finds after a 
hearing that examinations are necessary, it shall appoint two physicians or one physician and one 
psychologist, licensed certified social worker-clinical, or nurse practitioner to conduct the examinations or 
the examination and evaluation and file their reports with the court.  If both health care professionals find 
the person to be disabled, the court shall issue a show cause order requiring the alleged disabled person to 
answer the petition for guardianship and shall require the petitioner to give notice pursuant to Rule 10-
203.  Otherwise, the petition shall be dismissed. 
 


