Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council Meeting #4

The Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council held a public meeting on 11/15/2023. The meeting was hybrid from 3pm-5pm.

Members Present

Dorothy Lennig

Mathew Swinburne, Esq

Dr. Deondra Asike, MD

Dr. Leigh Vinocur, MD

Dr. David Gorelick, MD, PhD

Dr. Leah Sera, PharmD

Senator Benjamin Kramer

Dawn Berkowitz

Martin Proulx

Sara Barra

Nora Eidelman

Dr. Elizabeth Kromm, PhD

Delegate Terri Hill, MD

Karrissa Miller

Jason Semanoff

Members Not Present

Jocelyn Bratton-Payne

Dr. Madhumi Mitra, PhD

Members of the Public Present

Dr. Neal Reynolds

Sabrina Chase, MDH, AAG

I. Meeting called to order by Dana Moncrief (MDH)

3:04

II. Open Council Meeting/Council Business

3:05

- A. Dana Moncrief, MDH Staff, reviewed the meeting agenda, including voting process for Council Chair
- B. Dana Moncrief took roll call and determined a quorum was present.
- C. The Council discussed whether or not Chair voting could occur anonymously or via a secret ballot. The vote for Chair was moved to later in the meeting to obtain clarification and ensure compliance with the Open Meeting Act.

III. 2024 Legislative Training for Councils,

Christopher McGrath, Office of Support Services

3:20

Mr. McGrath gave a presentation on bills and the role of the Council heading into the 2024 legislative session session.

A. Mr. McGrath informed the Council that testifying during session is allowed so long as individuals state that they are representing themselves.

- B. A brief pause was made during the presentation to get clarification from Sabrina Chase, Esq., MDH Assistant Attorney General for Public Health Services, who informed the Council that voting can be done anonymously or through secret ballot and does not violate the Open Meetings Act.
- C. The presentation continued, providing an overview of the legislative session.

IV. Chair Vote and Results

3:55

- A. The Council held a secret ballot vote for Chair via email. A total of 14 total votes were received, including two abstaining votes.
- B. Mathew Swinburne was announced as Chair with a majority vote.

V. October Meeting Minutes

4:00

- A. David Gorelick offered two grammatical edits
- B. Council approved the October meeting minutes with edits

VI. Council Discussion

4:05

The Council discussed the structure and roles of the Council now that the Council's Recommendation Report was submitted.

VII. Dr. Terri Hill brought up succession plan for Chair

4:15

- A. The Council discussed the idea of creating a Vice Chair based on which individual received the second most votes for Chair.
- B. Dr. Terri Hill moved to establish a Vice Chair, Dr. David Gorelick seconded the motion.
 - 1. The motion passed and Deondra Asike was named the Vice Chair of the Council.

VIII. Establishment of a legislative workgroup

4:30

- A. David Gorelick mentioned the development of a legislative workgroup.
- B. Leah Sera agreed that a legislative workgroup/ committee would be useful for the Council going forward.
- C. David Gorelick moved to establish a legislative workgroup, and Leah Sera seconded the motion.
- D. Established that the data and youth focused workgroups would continue, and a workgroup lead would be established at a later date.

IX. Public Comment

4:50

X. Meeting adjourned

4:55