CPHAC Legislative Review Meeting

The Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council held a public meeting on 1/30/2024. The meeting was virtual from 3:05 PM to 3:25 PM.

Members Present

Dr. Deondra Asike, MD

Dr. Leah Sera, PharmD

Dr. David Gorelick, MD, PhD

Dr. Leigh Vinocur, MD

Dawn Berkowitz, MPH

Jason Semanoff

Delegate Terri L. Hill, MD

Jocelyn Bratton-Payne

Karrissa Miller, MPH

MDH Staff Present

Alexandra Nowalk

Courtney McFadden

Dana Moncrief

Pamela R. Williams

Sabrina Chase

Susannah Beckerman

Members Not Present

Dorothy Lennig

Dr. Madhumi Mitra, PhD

Dr. Leigh Vinocur, MD

Senator Benjamin Kramer

Elizabeth Kromm, PhD

Martin Proulx

Sara Barra

Nora Urbieta Eidelman

Members of the Public Present

Mathew Swinburne

I. Meeting Opening

3:05 PM

Dr. Deondra Asike, Vice-Chair, called the meeting to order at 3:05 PM. Dana Moncrief, the Director of the Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control (CTPC) took roll call; quorum was present.

II. Council Business

3:06 PM

A. Ms. Moncrief explained the purpose of the meeting was for the Council to review language in the Letter of Support that was drafted. She explained that the Council is permitted to email all members not present to ask if they approve, do not approve, or abstain the Letter of Support in order to get quorum to vote on the letter.

- B. Ms. Moncrief explained that Mathew Swinburne had to resign from the Council. Deondra Asike is the Vice-Chair and the Council is to vote to move Dr. Asike from Vice-Chair to Chair.
- C. Ms. Moncrief suggests that Dr. Asike be the acting Chair until a quorum is present to vote.
- D. After three Council members joined the meeting, a quorum was present.

III. Council Votes 3:14 PM

- A. Delegate Hill made a motion that Dr. Asike be the Chair of the Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council going forward. Dr. Leah Sera seconded the motion; the motion passed.
- B. Ms. Moncrief reviewed the letter, the purpose of the Clean Indoor Air Act Revisions bill, and asked if any Council member had questions before the motion was voted on.
- C. Delegate Hill made a motion to approve the Letter of Support with amendments.

 Dr. David Gorelick seconded the motion.
 - 1. 8 voted yes, 1 voted to abstain; the motion passed.

IV. Wrap Up/ Closing

3:17 PM

- A. Ms. Moncrief asked the Council to be on the lookout for an email with more information on a bill that the legislative workgroup put together and encouraged members of the Council to join the legislative workgroup.
- B. Dr. Gorelick explained that the legislative workgroup needs a new chair.
- C. Ms. Moncrief explained that an email will be sent out requesting nominations for Vice-Chair and explained that the Council can do a private vote.
- D. Dr. Asike asked the Council to send nominations for Vice-Chair between 1/30/2024 and 2/6/2024 and to add the vote for Vice-Chair to the agenda for the Legislative Review Meeting on 2/6/2024. There were no objections.
- E. Dr. Asike notified the Council that there will be an Ad Hoc meeting on Wednesday, February 14 to approve the Bylaws

V. Adjourn 3:25 PM

Dr. Gorelick motioned to adjourn the meeting. Dr. Sera seconded the motion, and the meeting adjourned at 3:25 PM.

Next Legislative Review Meeting: Next Tuesday, February 6, 2024.