Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council Legislative Review Meeting #2025-2 Tuesday, January 28 · 4:00 – 4:30pm

Meeting Minutes

Members Present:

Dr. Deondra Asike
Dr. David Gorelick
Dawn Berkowitz
Dr. Leigh Vinocur
Delegate Terri L. Hill
Jason Semanoff
Elizabeth Kromm
Senator Benjamin Kramer

Members Not Present:

Bethany Young
Dr. Leah Sera
Dr. Nishant Shah
Dr. Madhumi Mitra
Jocelyn Bratton-Payne
Karrissa Miller
Martin Proulx
Nora Urbieta Eidelman

MDH Members Present:

Alex Nowalk
Dana Moncrief
Katherine Natafgi
Michelle George
Pamela Williams

Members from Public:

George Townsend Mathew Swinburne

I. Open Legislative Review Meeting by Dr. Deondra Asike, Chair. 4:00 PM.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Deondra Asike, Council Chair, at 4:00 PM on Tuesday, January 28, 2025.

Dana Moncrief took a roll call.

II. Discussion of Pending Legislation . 4:01 PM

Dana reviewed the talking points for SB215 (HB132)- Cannabis - On-Site Consumption Establishments and Cannabis Events.

- Urging thoughtful and measured approach to SB215
- Edibles make up a smaller percentage of cannabis sales, but are disproportionately responsible for poison center calls and emergency room visits.
- The State needs to prioritize research and education to strengthen the public health ecosystem to make informed decisions to avoid negative public health impacts.
- Events note required by statute, limited safeguards in place to protect youth (location/advertising) and could allow for co-use of substances, particularly alcohol, increasing the severity of intoxication.
- Onsite edible consumption establishment sites: there is limited data available, including from other states to adequately assess the public health consequences of this bill

Dana reviewed the draft of the Letter of Support for SB214 (HB12) - Cannabis - Sale and Distribution - Tetrahydrocannabinol Offenses.

- Increase enforcement actions for the ATCC for mainly unlicensed cannabis products - mainly Delta 8 and Delta 10.
- Dana reviewed the requested changes from the Council and made edits as appropriate.

III. Public Comment.

There were no public comments.

IV. Position Vote (as necessary).

A quorum was not present in the meeting at the time the vote was taken. Senator Ben Kramer was present at the start of the meeting but needed to drop off. Delegate Hill was not present at the same time that Sen Kramer was on the virtual meeting, but joined later. Delegate Hill suggested a "roving quorum" where the vote would be left open until the end of the meeting or until an actual physical quorum is present.

Delegate Terri Hill moved that unless an understanding or strict instructions otherwise from the AG, that the Council tally all electronic votes, including those that are being submitted virtually, those that have been emailed, and any received by telephone. Dr. Leigh Vinocur seconded the motion. Dr. David Gorelick also seconded the motion.

Dr. Deondra Asike stated she would wait for a response from the AG prior to submitting the letter. The letter is due at 6:00 pm. Dr. Asike asked that an amendment to the motion be made to have the cut off for the vote to be 5:15 pm.

For clarification, Dr. Deondra Asike asked if there were any objections to the motion to take all forms of response to submit the letter of support for SB214 (HB12) - Cannabis - Sale and Distribution - Tetrahydrocannabinol Offenses. There were no objections. Jason Semanoff abstained from the vote to take all forms of votes. All other Council members present in the meeting voted to move forward with accepting the motion.

Dr. Deondra Asike asked for a motion to submit the letter of support for SB214 (HB12) - Cannabis - Sale and Distribution - Tetrahydrocannabinol Offenses. Delegate Terri Hill made the motion, Dr. Leigh Vinocur seconded the motion. Dana Moncrief took a roll call vote.

Dr. Deondra Asike voted yes.

Dr. David Gorelick voted yes.

Dr. Leigh Vinocur voted yes.

Delegate Terri Hill voted yes.

Dawn Berkowitz voted to approve.

Senator Kramer voted yes by proxy electronic voting.

Elizabeth Kromm voted yes if allowed, otherwise she would abstain.

Jason Semanoff abstained.

Dr. Nishant Shah, Jocelyn Bratton-Payne, Karrissa Miller voted by email to support the Letter of Support.

The Council determined that a vote was not needed to approve the Talking Points for SB215 (HB132)- Cannabis - On-Site Consumption Establishments and Cannabis Events.

V. Adjourn. 4:38 PM.

Dr. Asike asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Delegate Terri Hill made the motion and Dr. Leigh Vinocur seconded the motion. All members present were in favor of the motion