Cannabis Public Health Advisory Council Legislative Review Meeting #2025-6 CPHAC - Legislative Review Meetings Tuesday, February 25 · 4:00 – 4:36 PM

Members Present:

Dr. Deondra Asike

Dr. David Gorelick

Jocelyn Bratton-Payne

Dr. Leigh Vinocur

Karrissa Miller

Elizabeth Kromm

Martin Proulx

Del. Terri L Hill

Dr. Nishant Shah

Members Not Present:

Dr. Madhumi Mitra

Dr. Leah Sera

Sen. Benjamin Kramer

Dawn Berkowitz

Jason Semanoff

Bethany Young

MDH Members Present:

Dana Moncrief

Kate Natafgi

Pamela Williams

Members from Public:

George Townsend

1. Open Legislative Review Meeting. 4:07 PM.

- a. The meeting was called to order by Dr. Deondra Asike, Council Chair, at 4:07 PM on Tuesday, February 25, 2025.
- b. Kate Natafgi took a roll call; 8 members were present at the start of the meeting. Dr. Asike stated that the Council would review revisions to the proposed letter of information for HB 1392 and the previous meeting minutes until a quorum was present, then a vote would be held. A quorum was reached mid-meeting allowing for official votes.

2. Review of Letter of Information for HB 1392 4:07 PM.

- a. Dr. Asike reviewed the draft of the Letter of Information for SB1392 Vehicle Laws Cannabis Use in Motor Vehicle With Minor Occupant Prohibition.
 - Bill seeks to criminalize any cannabis use in a vehicle if a minor is present (including smoked, vaped, or edible forms).

3. Vote to Approve Letter of Information for HB 1392 and Previous Meeting Minutes. 4:25 PM.

A quorum (9 members) was present at 4:25 PM.

Dr. David Gorelick moved to approve the letter as amended by the council. The motion was seconded by Dr. Shah. A roll call vote was taken.

Vote to Letter of Information for HB 1392

In Favor Opposed Dr. Deondra Asike None

Dr. David Gorelick

Jocelyn Bratton-Payne
Dr. Leigh Vinocur
Karrissa Miller
Del. Terri L Hill

Abstained
Elizabeth Kromm
Martin Proulx

The council then proceeded to vote to approve the minutes from the prior meeting. Del. Hill motioned to approve the minutes. Dr. David Gorelick seconded the motion.

Vote to Approve 2/18/25 Minutes

In Favor Opposed
Dr. Deondra Asike None

Dr. David Gorelick

Dr. Nishant Shah

Jocelyn Bratton-Payne
Dr. Leigh Vinocur
Karrissa Miller
Del. Terri L Hill
Dr. Nishant Shah
Elizabeth Kromm
Martin Proulx

Abstained None

4. Next Steps:

- No new applicable legislation expected; unlikely another meeting is needed unless new bills are introduced by March 7 (which would require Rules Committee approval).
- MDH team to monitor bill introductions and notify if Monday (Workgroup) or Tuesday (Full Council) meetings will be canceled.
- Members are reminded to check membership end dates—some terms may have expired.

5. Public Comment

There were no public comments.

6. Adjourn. 4:36 PM.

Dr. Asike asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Dr. David Gorelick made the motion and Jocelyn Bratton-Payne seconded the motion. All members present were in favor of the motion.