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0 & A Guide: Infant Safe Sleep

What is meant by a safe sleep environment?

The Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) supports the ABCs of safe sleep
— placing baby Alone, on their Backs, and in a Crib. Cribs must be safety approved with a firm
mattress and a well-fitting sheet. Babies should never be placed on chairs, sofas, waterbeds, or
cushions. Cribs should be clean and clear. No blankets, pillows, fluffy toys, crib bumpers, or stuffed
animals. The crib should be placed in an area that is always smoke-free.

What position should babies be placed in for sleeping?

Babies should always be placed alone, on their backs and in a crib. Babies are less likely to choke
while lying on their backs. When a baby is on their stomach or side, anything they spit up can block
the air pipe and cause choking or breathing problems.

What is happening on June 21, 20137

On June 21, 2013 a state-wide ban on the sale of crib bumper pads goes into effect. DHMH issued
these regulations following 18 months of expert and public consultation. This process led to the
conclusion that crib bumper pads offer no meaningful benefit and pose potentially serious risks,
including suffocation and death. This ban is consistent with safe sleep guidelines released by the
American Academy of Pediatrics in 2011.

Which types of crib bumpers are subject to the ban?

The ban applies to crib bumpers that are made of non-mesh type material resting directly above the
mattress running along the length of each of the interior sides of the crib intended to be used until the
age that an infant pulls to stand.

Which crib bumpers are not subject to the ban?

The proposed ban does not apply to vertical bumpers that wrap tightly around each individual crib
rail or mesh crib liners. However DHMH does not endorse any product for use as bumpers in infant
cribs. Babies should always sleep Alone, on their Backs and in a Crib with just a tight fitting sheet.

Will the ban affect online sales of crib bumper pads?
The regulation prohibits online sales of crib bumpers to consumers in Maryland.

Does the ban prohibit the use of a crib bumper pad in Maryland?
No. The proposed ban applies only to the sale of these products. However, parents are advised not to
use these products in order to avoid the risks associated with crib bumpers.
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How will the ban be enforced?

The Health Department will issue a warning to any individual who ships or sells crib bumper pads to
a purchaser in Maryland. If there continues to be violation of the regulation after a warning is issued,
a fine of up to $500 for each crib bumper shipped or sold can be assessed.

Want more information?
Visit dhmh.maryland.gov/safesleep to learn more or send questions or complaints to

dhmh.safesleep@maryland.gov.

Toll Free 1-877-4AMD-DHMH — TTY/Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258
Web Site: www.dhmh.state.md.us



	DHMH 
	Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
	201 W. Preston Street • Baltimore, Maryland 21201 


