

**The Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene** Center for Maternal and Child Health 201 West Preston Street, Room 309 Baltimore, Maryland 21201 1-877-4MD-DHMH (463-3464) Fax 410-333-5233 Maryland Relay 1-800-735-2258

Martin O'Malley, *Governor* Anthony G. Brown, *Lt. Governor* Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D., *Secretary* 

The services and facilities of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DHMH) are operated on a non-discriminatory basis. This policy prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, sex, or national origin and applies to the provisions of employment and granting of advantages, privileges, and accommodations.

The Department, in compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act, ensures that qualified individuals with disabilities are given an opportunity to participate in and benefit from DHMH services, programs, benefits, and employment opportunities. The Commemorative Birth Certificate Program is administered by the **Division of Vital Records, Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene** 6550 Reisterstown Road Baltimore, Maryland 21215 410-764-3038 Toll Free 1-800-832-3277

> For more information call 410-764-3038 or Toll Free 1-800-832-3277.

## The Maryland Commemorative Birth Certificate

Celebrate the joy of a new birth or the life of a loved one!



## The Commemorative Birth

**Certificate** is a specially designed legal birth certificate available to anyone born in Maryland. This is a unique keepsake to celebrate the birth of a new child, or to be given as a special gift to a friend or relative born in Maryland.

The Commemorative Birth Certificate features:

- A design that includes the state flower, the Black-eyed Susan
- Handwritten calligraphy
- A generous 11 x 14" size, on heirloom quality paper suitable for framing
- An official embossed seal of the State of Maryland
- A quotation from a Maryland poet, Sister Maura Eichner
- The signature of Maryland's Governor, Martin O'Malley

Purchase of a **Commemorative Birth Certificate** also helps children in Maryland

Proceeds from the purchase of a Commemorative Birth Certificate will be deposited into the **Children's Trust Fund**. Administered by the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene's Center for Maternal and Child Health, the Trust Fund provides grants for programs and activities for education, prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect. The cost of a Commemorative Birth Certificate is **\$30.00**, \$15 of which is donated to the Children's Trust Fund, and is fully tax deductible.

To purchase a certificate, please complete the application on the right, and send it to:

**Department of Health and Mental Hygiene** Division of Vital Records 6550 Reisterstown Road Baltimore, Maryland 21215

State regulations require that the Commemorative Birth Certificate only be issued to the person named on the record, or a parent, legal guardian, or authorized representative (having a notarized letter of authorization from the person on the record, parents, or legal guardian).

The Commemorative Birth certificate will be mailed directly to the person named on the Certificate, or the eligible buyer (those individuals listed above).

For more information about the Maryland Children's Trust Fund or the Commemorative Birth Certificate Program, visit the Center for Maternal and Child Health's Web site at *www.fha.state.md.us/mch.*  Send a check or money order payable to **The Division of Vital Records** to: DHMH, Division of Vital Records, 6550 Reisterstown Road, Baltimore, Maryland 21215.

PLEASE PRINT	Date
Name of record	
Date of birth	Sex
Place of birth <i>City and county</i>	
Father's full name <i>First, middle, last</i>	
Mother's full name <i>First, middle, last</i>	
Your relationship to the person listed on name of record	
<b>NOTE:</b> A non-refundable fee of \$30.00 is required for each certificate requested. If the search provides no record, \$18.00 will be refunded, and a Certificate of No Record will be issued. A \$12.00 search fee must be retained as required by Maryland haw. You may apply in person or by mail. You	

\$18.00 will be refunded, and a Certificate of No Record will be issued. A \$12.00 search fee must be retained as required by Maryland law. You may apply in person or by mail. You must present a valid, unexpired, government-issued photo ID displaying a date issued and an expiration date. Applicants unable to supply valid photo ID must present two different pieces of alternative documentation. Acceptable documents are a pay stub, current car registration, bank statement, letter from a government agency, lease/rental agreement, utility bill with current address, or a copy of your income tax return or W-2 form. At least one of these documents must contain your current mailing address. Requests will be mailed to the address displayed on the documents provided. *Do not send CASH or STAMPS*.

Number of certified copies requested:

Applicant's name: \_\_\_\_\_

Please print

Applicants signature \_\_\_\_\_

Mailing address:

City, State, ZIP code

Telephone number\_\_\_\_\_