If your program meets the definition of a youth camp, a youth camp Certificate, Letter of Compliance or Acceptance Letter issued by the Maryland Department of Health is required.
To determine if your program will require licensure by the Maryland Department of Health (MDH), please review the law, scope and definitions, then complete the Pre-Application for a New Youth Camp.
Maryland youth camp regulations (COMAR 10.16.06) require a youth camp operator to obtain a Certificate, Letter of Compliance or Acceptance Letter from the Maryland Department of Health before the youth camp opens.
- Complete the Pre-Application form (link at bottom of the page). MDH will review the information you submit and send you an email with instructions to create your password for the MDH Youth Camp Portal.
- Log into the MDH Youth Camp Portal to:
- Complete your current application to operate a youth camp.
Before a Certificate, Letter of Compliance or Acceptance Letter is issued, MDH must determine substantial compliance with the regulations.
- Upload the required compliance documentation.
- Pay the application fee.
New camps pay the lowest applicable fee ($190 for Day Camps, $500 for Residential Camps) at time of application, then pay any fee balance owed at the end of camp.
Fees may be paid with a credit card or ACH in the MDH Youth Camp Portal; checks or money orders payable to the Maryland Department of Health can be mailed (please include Invoice Number on checks).
If you operate multiple camps at separate physical locations, complete and submit a separate Pre-Application, current application, fee and compliance documentation for each camp.
Please direct any questions or requests for assistance to the MDH Center for Healthy Homes and Community Services at 410-767-8417 or 1-877-463-3464, ext 78417. Thank you.
Pre-Application for a New Youth Camp