
COVID-19 Paid Leave Options 

Updated April 12, 2021 

 

 EPSL AND Expanded FMLA State of Maryland 
 Emergency Paid Sick Leave (EPSL) Expanded Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Advanced Sick Leave 

When is this 
leave option 
available? 

April 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021. 
 
The Families First Coronavirus Response Act 
(FFCRA) temporary paid leave rule expired on 
December 31, 2020. However, the State of 
Maryland has extended EPSL through June 30, 
2021. See the Maryland Department of Budget 
and Management FAQ. 

April 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021. 
 
The Families First Coronavirus Response Act 
(FFCRA) temporary paid leave rule expired on 
December 31, 2020. However, the State of 
Maryland has extended FMLA through June 30, 
2021. See the Maryland Department of Budget 
and Management FAQ. 

Only in effect during the State 
health emergency when 
operating at Level II Flexible 
Operations or Level Ill 
Emergency Operations of the 
Pandemic Flu and Other 
Infectious Diseases Attendance 
and Leave Policy. 

Do I have to use 
other leave 
options first? 

No. For the first two weeks of this leave period, you 
may use up to two weeks of emergency paid sick 
leave or you may elect to use your accrued 
annual, personal, or comp paid time off. 
Otherwise, the first two weeks are unpaid. 

You must exhaust all other 
leave options first. 

Am I eligible for 
this leave 
option? 

All MDH employees are eligible. 
You must not be able to work, including 
telework, for COVID-19 related reasons. 

You must have worked for MDH for at least 30 
days prior to the day leave would begin. 

All MDH employees are 
eligible. 

When do I apply 
for this leave 
option? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

(1) You are under a Federal, State, or local 
COVID-19 quarantine or isolation order. 

(2) Your health care provider advised you to 
self-quarantine. 

(3) You have COVID-19 symptoms and are 
seeking a medical diagnosis. 

(4) You are caring for an individual who must 
quarantine or isolate per (1) and (2) above. 

(5) You are caring for a minor child whose 
school or childcare is closed. 

(6) Other conditions as specified by the 
Secretary of Health and Human Services. 

You are unable to work or telework to care for a 
minor child whose school or childcare provider is 
closed due to COVID-19. 

You must need sick leave due 
to having a flu-like illness or to 
care for an immediate family 
member with a flu like illness. 

https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/COVID-19%20FMLA%20EPSL%20FAQs%20011521.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/COVID-19%20FMLA%20EPSL%20FAQs%20011521.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/COVID-19%20FMLA%20EPSL%20FAQs%20011521.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/COVID-19%20FMLA%20EPSL%20FAQs%20011521.pdf
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 EPSL AND Expanded FMLA State of Maryland 
 Emergency Paid Sick Leave (EPSL) Expanded Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) Advanced Sick Leave 

How long can I 
be on leave? 

A full-time employee is eligible for 80 hours of 
leave. A part-time employee is eligible for the 
average hours they work over a two-week 
period. 

A full-time employee is eligible for up to 12 
weeks of leave at 40 hours a week. A part-time 
employee is eligible for hours normally 
scheduled to work over that period. 

There is no limit to how long an 
employee can use advanced 
sick leave. However, the 
employee is responsible for 
paying the entire amount back 
even if they separate from 
state service. 

How much will I 
be paid? 

For leave reasons (1), (2), or (3) you are entitled 
to pay at either your regular rate or the 
applicable minimum wage, whichever is higher, 
up to $511 per day and $5,110 in the aggregate 
(over a 2-week period). 
For leave reasons (4) or (6) you are entitled to 
pay at 2/3 your regular rate or 2/3 the applicable 
minimum wage, whichever is higher, up to $200 
per day and $2,000 in the aggregate (over a 2-
week period). 

After the first two weeks of emergency paid sick 
leave, 2/3 your regular rate or 2/3 the applicable 
minimum wage, whichever is higher, up to $200 
per day and $12,000 in the aggregate (over a 12-
week period). 

You are paid at your regular 
rate. 
 
You must agree to repay 
advanced sick leave at a rate of 
50% of earned sick leave as it is 
earned. 
 

Do I have to take 
the leave all at 
one time? 

Unless you are teleworking, paid sick leave for 
qualifying reasons related to COVID-19 must be 
taken in full-day increments. You may take paid 
sick leave intermittently if you are taking it to 
care for your minor child whose school or 
childcare is closed because of COVID-19. 

If you are working from home or teleworking, 
you may take FFCRA leave intermittently. 

You  may take advanced sick 
leave intermittently if caring for 
someone with a flu like illness. 

Do I need to fill 
out any forms? 

Yes. Request for Emergency Paid Sick Leave 
(EPSL) 

Yes. Request for Expanded Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 

Yes. Request for Advanced Sick 
Leave  
 

 

  

https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/EPSL%20Request%20Form.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/EPSL%20Request%20Form.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/Expanded%20FMLA%20Request%20Form.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/Expanded%20FMLA%20Request%20Form.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/Advanced%20Sick%20Leave%20-%20Regular%20Employee%20-%20Pandemic%20Flu.pdf
https://dbm.maryland.gov/employees/Documents/Advanced%20Sick%20Leave%20-%20Regular%20Employee%20-%20Pandemic%20Flu.pdf
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U.S. Department of Labor Families First Coronavirus Response Act: 
Questions and Answers – Return to School 
My child’s school is operating on an alternate day (or other hybrid-attendance) basis. The school is open each day, but students alternate between days 
attending school in person and days participating in remote learning. They are permitted to attend school only on their allotted in-person attendance days. 
May I take paid leave under the FFCRA in these circumstances?  

Yes, you are eligible to take paid leave under the FFCRA on days when your child is not permitted to attend school in person and must instead engage in remote 
learning, as long as you need the leave to actually care for your child during that time and only if no other suitable person is available to do so. For purposes of 
the FFCRA and its implementing regulations, the school is effectively “closed” to your child on days that he or she cannot attend in person. You may take paid 
leave under the FFCRA on each of your child’s remote-learning days. 

My child’s school is giving me a choice between having my child attend in person or participate in a remote learning program for the fall. I signed up for the 
remote learning alternative because, for example, I worry that my child might contract COVID-19 and bring it home to the family. Since my child will be at 
home, may I take paid leave under the FFCRA in these circumstances?  

No, you are not eligible to take paid leave under the FFCRA because your child’s school is not “closed” due to COVID–19 related reasons; it is open for your child 
to attend. FFCRA leave is not available to take care of a child whose school is open for in-person attendance. If your child is home not because his or her school is 
closed, but because you have chosen for the child to remain home, you are not entitled to FFCRA paid leave. However, if, because of COVID-19, your child is 
under a quarantine order or has been advised by a health care provider to self-isolate or self-quarantine, you may be eligible to take paid leave to care for him or 
her.  

My child’s school is beginning the school year under a remote learning program out of concern for COVID-19, but has announced it will continue to evaluate 
local circumstances and make a decision about reopening for in-person attendance later in the school year. May I take paid leave under the FFCRA in these 
circumstances?  

Yes, you are eligible to take paid leave under the FFCRA while your child’s school remains closed. If your child's school reopens, the availability of paid leave 
under the FFCRA will depend on the particulars of the school’s operations.  

Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) is currently in effect for the period beginning April 1, 20 20 to December 31, 2020. 

For more information, see Families First Coronavirus Response Act: Questions and Answers. 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-questions#10

