Title 10

MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Subtitle 34 BOARD OF PHARMACY

10.34.18 Continuing Education for Pharmacists

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §§12-205 and 12-309, Annotated Code of Maryland

.01 Scope

These regulations govern any person who desires to renew a license to practice pharmacy in Maryland.

.01-1 Definitions.

- A. In this chapter, the following term has the meaning indicated.
- B. Live Instruction.
 - (1) "Live instruction" means a course offering the ability for the participant to have real-time interaction with the presenter.
 - (2) "Live instruction" includes programs approved by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE) that are designated by the letter "L" in the course identification number.

.02 Exceptions.

- A. This chapter does not apply to pharmacists applying for renewal for the first renewal period following the issuance of the original license, if the pharmacist obtains a license within 1 year of the completion of the pharmacist's pharmaceutical education.
- B. The Board may grant an exception from the continuing education requirements if the pharmacist presents evidence that failure to comply was due to circumstances beyond the pharmacist's control.

.03 Requirements for Pharmacists Practicing in Maryland.

- A. A pharmacist license expires on the last day of the pharmacist's birth month of every other year.
- B. Before the expiration date of the pharmacist's license, the pharmacist shall:
 - (1) File a renewal application;
 - (2) Pay any applicable fees; and
 - (3) Earn continuing pharmaceutical education (CE) credits required by this chapter.

C. CE Requirements

- (1) A pharmacist license to practice in Maryland applying for renewal shall:
 - a) Earn 30 hours of approved CE within the 2-year period immediately preceding the license expiration date that include:
 - i. 1 hour on the topic of preventing medication errors, such as appropriate dispensing of opioids; and
 - ii. 2 hours of CE obtained through live instruction;
 - b) Attest to the fact that the pharmacist has completed CE requirement on a Board approved form; and
 - c) Retain supporting documents for inspection by the Board for 4 years after the date of renewal for which the CE credits were used.
- (2) A pharmacist certified to administer vaccinations in Maryland applying for renewal shall:
 - a) As part of the 30 hours of approved CE requirement, complete 4 hours of CE credits related to vaccinations; or

b) If registered to administer vaccines before October 1, 2008 for the first renewal of the registration after that date, demonstrate that 4 CE credits taken include education about the herpes zoster and pneumococcal pneumonia vaccines.

.04 Requirements for Pharmacists Not Practicing in Maryland.

A licensed pharmacist not practicing in Maryland shall fulfill the continuing education requirements of Maryland.

.05 Requirements for Pharmacists who are Authorized Prescribers.

A pharmacist who is also an authorized prescriber licensed by a board (in Maryland or another state) may use the continuing education (CE) credits applied toward that board toward the Board of Pharmacy's CE requirements.

.06 Accredited Continuing Education Programs.

- A. The Board and the following providers are approved for any programs they offer which otherwise qualify for continuing education (CE) credit:
 - (1) American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE);
 - (2) Schools of pharmacy accredited by ACPE;
 - (3) Food and Drug Administration (FDA);
 - (4) Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA);
 - (5) Additional providers of programs approved by the Board.
- B. Procedures for Approval of Additional Programs
 - (1) An additional provider shall request approval for an individual program by submitting a Board application at least 60 days before the date of offering of their individual program.
 - (2) An approval request shall fulfill the program requirements set forth in Health Occupations Article, §12-309(g), Annotated Code of Maryland.
 - (3) An approval request shall include a description of course work including:
 - a) Measurable learning objectives;
 - b) A course outline: and
 - c) Self-assessment questions.
 - (4) The Board's decision to approve or disapprove a program is final.
- C. Record Keeping for Providers of Approved Programs.
 - (1) Providers of approved programs shall maintain program records for 3 years from the date of presentation of the program.
 - (2) Providers of approved programs of CE shall furnish a certificate of completion to participants who qualify. The provider shall include the:
 - a) Name of the participant;
 - b) Name of the provider;
 - c) Title of the course;
 - d) Number of CE hours;
 - e)Date of completion; and
 - f) A program identification number of provider number on the certificate.
- D. The Board may rescind approve of a CE program if it determines that the program no longer meets the requirements of Health Occupations Article, §12-309, Annotated Code of Maryland.

.07 Acceptance of Previously Unapproved Continuing Education Programs.

These regulations govern any person who desires to renew a license to practice pharmacy in Maryland.

.08 Miscellaneous

- A. Credits may not be carried over from one licensing renewal period to another.
- B. Falsifying continuing education CE records is grounds for disciplinary action.
- C. The pharmacist shall use a Board approved form to supply the pharmacist's CE information to the Board.
- D. CE requirements imposed by the Board upon a pharmacist as part of an informal action, consent order, or final order, as defined in COMAR 10.34.01.02, shall be in addition to the requirements of this chapter.
- E. Pharmacists may receive 2 CE credits for attending a public Board meeting in its entirety.
 - (1) The Board shall issue a certificate of proof of attendance at a public Board meeting.
 - (2) A pharmacist may not earn more than 4 CE credits per renewal period for attendance of a public Board meeting.