# Title 10

# MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

### Subtitle 34 BOARD OF PHARMACY

### 10.34.13 Reinstatement of Expired Licenses for Pharmacists

Authority: Health Occupations Article, §12-310, Annotated Code of Maryland

#### .01 Definitions

- A. In this chapter, the following terms have the meanings indicated.
- B. Terms Defined.
  - (1) "Board" means the State Board of Pharmacy.
  - (2) "MPJE" means the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination.
  - (3) "NAPLEX" means the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination.
  - (4) "Reinstatement" means renewal of a license after the license has expired.
  - (5) "Renewal" means renewing a license before the date of expiration.

#### .02 Reinstatement Fee.

The reinstatement fee authorized by Health Occupations Article, §12-310(a)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland, shall be as determined in COMAR 10.34.09.

### .03 Reinstatement Requirements.

- A. General Requirements. A pharmacist who wishes to reinstate an expired license to practice pharmacy shall:
  - (1) Provide evidence of the completed amount of approved continuing education required by the Board in COMAR 10.34.18 in conjunction with the reinstatement application.
  - (2) Provide evidence of good standing in any other state in which the pharmacist has been licensed, if applicable; and
  - (3) Pay to the Board the reinstatement fee established by the Board in COMAR 10.34.09.

# B. Specific Requirements.

- 1) The Board:
  - a. May reinstate the license of a pharmacist who has actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy in Maryland after the expiration of the pharmacist's license if the pharmacist:
    - i. Meets the requirements of §A of this regulation; and
    - ii. Pays the pharmacist reinstatement fee established in COMAR 10.34.09.02;
  - b. May bring charges against a pharmacist who has practiced without a license; and
  - c. When determining sanctions for practicing pharmacy without a license under §B(1) of this regulation, shall consider:
    - i. The length of time during which the pharmacist practiced without a license; and
    - ii. Any violations of Health Occupations Article, Title 12, Annotated Code of Maryland, committed by the pharmacist during the period of unlicensed practice.

- 2) A pharmacist not actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy, whose Maryland license expired less than 2 years before applying for reinstatement, shall meet the requirements of §A of this regulation.
- 3) A pharmacist licensed in another state and actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy in that state, whose Maryland license expired less than 2 years before applying for license reinstatement, shall meet the requirements of §A of this regulation.
- 4) A pharmacist licensed in another state and actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy in that state, whose Maryland license expired 2 years but less than 5 years before applying for license reinstatement, shall:
  - a. Meet the requirements of §A of this regulation;
  - b. Submit evidence satisfactory to the Board which documents the applicant's pharmacy experience during the 2 years immediately preceding the date of the applicant's reinstatement application; and
  - c. Pass the MPJE.
- 5) A pharmacist not actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy, whose Maryland license expired more than 2 years but less than 5 years before applying for reinstatement, shall:
  - a. Meet the requirements of §A of this regulation; and
  - b. Pass the MPJE.
- 6) A pharmacist not actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy in another state, whose Maryland license expired more than 5 years but less than 10 years before applying for reinstatement, shall:
  - a. Meet the requirements of §A of this regulation;
  - b. Pass the MPJE; and
  - c. Submit evidence satisfactory to the Board of having performed 1,000 hours of service in a pharmacy with a valid pharmacy permit under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist.
- 7) A pharmacist not actively engaged in the practice of pharmacy, whose Maryland license expired 10 or more years before applying for reinstatement, shall:
  - a. Meet the requirements of  $\S A(2)$  and (3) of this regulation;
  - b. Pass the MPJE;
  - c. Submit evidence satisfactory to the Board of having performed 1,000 hours of service in a pharmacy with a valid pharmacy permit under the supervision of al licensed pharmacist; and
  - d. Pass the NAPLEX.

## .03 Reinstatement Requirements.

The Board may waive any of the requirements set forth in Regulation .03 of this chapter in reinstating a pharmacist's expired license.