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Notice of Recommended Civil Penalty

Dear Ms. Hopkins:

On August 20, 2024, the Board of Pharmacy (the “Board™) conducted an inspection of your
pharmacy employer (“Pharmacy A”) located in Baltimore, Maryland, to see if the Pharmacy was
in compliance with federal and state laws regarding the operation of a pharmacy. During that
inspection, the Board’s inspector noted that your pharmacy technician registration had expired on
May 31, 2024, yet you were observed performing delegated pharmacy acts in the Pharmacy. The
Board’s records indicate that you have since reinstated your technician registration.

I. FINDINGS AND CONCLUSION

The Board finds that you worked as a pharmacy technician at Pharmacy A without a current
and active registration between approximately June 1, 2024, and August 20, 2024.
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A pharmacy technician must be duly registered with the Board, or otherwise statutorily
authorized, in order to perform delegated pharmacy acts. Working as a pharmacy technician
without a registration is in violation of the Maryland Pharmacy Act, Health Occ. Art. § 12-6B-01.

II. RECOMMENDED CIVIL MONETARY PENALTY

Under the Maryland Pharmacy Act, Health Occupations Article § 12-707(e), the Board of
Pharmacy has the authority to impose a civil penalty of up to $50,000 for working as an
unregistered pharmacy technician, and specifically may impose a civil penalty of $25.00 per month

for each month a pharmacy technician works on an expired registration, up to a maximum of
$250.00.

Based upon the facts set forth in Section [ above, and COMAR 10.34.11.09, the Board
hereby recommends the imposition of a civil monetary penalty of $75.00.

III. OPPORTUNITY FOR HEARING

If you dispute the findings, conclusions or the proposed civil monetary penalty, you may
request an evidentiary hearing on the Board’s determination in this matter. In the event that you
request an evidentiary hearing, the Board shall initiate formal proceedings which will include the
opportunity for a full evidentiary hearing. The hearing will be held in accordance with the
Administrative Procedure Act, Md. Code Ann. State Gov’t § 10-201 et seq., and COMAR
10.34.01. Any request for a hearing must be submitted in writing to Trina Leak, Pharm.D.,
Maryland Board of Pharmacy. 4201 Patterson Ave., Sth Floor, Baltimore, Maryland 21215, no
later than thirty (30) days of the date of this Notice.

Please be advised that at the hearing you would have the following rights: to be represented
by counsel, to subpoena witnesses, to call witnesses on your own behalf, to present evidence, to
cross-examine witnesses, to testify, and to present summation and argument. Should the Board
find you guilty of the violations of the Maryland Pharmacy Act, the Board may impose a civil
penalty against you not to exceed $250.00. If you request a hearing but fail to appear, the Board
may nevertheless hear and determine the matter in your absence.

IV. OPTION TO PAY RECOMMENDED MONETARY PENALTY

Alternatively, the Pharmacy may pay the recommended civil monetary penalty within
thirty (30) days of the date of this Notice, in the form of a certified check or money order made
payable to the Maryland Board of Pharmacy.

Please mail the check or money order to:
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Wells Fargo Bank

Attn: State of MD - Board of Pharmacy
Lockbox 2051

401 Market Street

Philadelphia, PA 19106

NOTE: Please include the Case Number 25-146, on your check or money order to ensure proper
assignment to your case.

Upon your payment of the civil monetary penalty, this Notice will constitute the Board’s
final action with respect to this matter, and shall be a public order in accordance with the Maryland
Public Information Act, Gen. Provisions, Sec. 4-333, published on the Board’s website in
accordance with Health Occ., Sec. 1-607, and reported in accordance with State and federal laws.

If you have any questions concerning the instructions contained in this letter, please contact
Trina Leak, Pharm.D., Compliance Director, at 443-635-8318.

Sincerely,

/

Deena Speights-Napata, M.A.
Executive Director

ce: Linda Bethman, AAG, Board Counsel





