INSTRUCTIONS & WORKSHEET FOR
COMPLETING WITHHOLDING FORMS
FOR MARYLAND STATE EMPLOYEES

'The law requires that you complete an Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate so that your employer, the state
of Maryland, can withhold federal and state income tax from your pay. Your current certificate remains in effect until
you change it.

If you have previously filed as “EXEMPT” from federal or state withholding, you must file a new certificate annually
by February 15 of each year.

Complete the Employee’s Withholding Allowance Certificate as follows:

Section 1 - Employee Information
- Please check type of Payroll - Regular (RG), Contract (CT), or University of Maryland (UM)
- Name of Employing Agency - Enter name of agency
- Agency Number - Provided by Agency Payroll Office
- Employee Social Security Number
- Employee Name - Complete first name, middle initial, last name
- Home Address - Street name and number or R.D. number

- Address Continued - Apartment number or P. O. Box number. Pennsylvania residents enter township or borough
in which they reside

- City, State, Zip code - Abbreviate state; enter complete five-digit zip code
- County of Residence - Enter Baltimore City or Maryland County in which you presently reside

Section 2 - Federal Withholding Form W-4

To complete section 2 see federal worksheet online at:
http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw4.pdf

Section 3 - State Withholding Form (Choose Appropriate Form)

- Maryland (Form MW 507) - To complete section 3 see Maryland worksheet page 2 online at:
http://forms.marylandtaxes.com/current_forms/mw507.pdf

- District of Columbia (Form D-4) - To complete section 3 see District of Columbia worksheet
online at :

http://otr.cfo.dc.gov/otr/frames.asp?doc=/otr/lib/otr/tax/forms/D-4.pdf

- West Virginia (WV/IT-104) - To complete section 3 see West Virginia worksheet online at:
http://www.state.wv.us/taxrev/uploads/it104.pdf

Section 4 - Employee Signature - Your signature is required. Withholding Forms are not valid unless signed.

(This supersedes all previous editions) Effective 1/1/10



2010 FORM W-4

INSTRUCTIONS - PAGE 1

EMPLOYEE'S FEDERAL WITHHOLDING ALLOWANCE

Form W-4 (2010)

Purpose. Complete Form W-4 so that your employer can
withhold the correct federal income tax from your pay.
Consider completing a new Form W-4 each year and when
your personal or financial situation changes.

Exemption from withholding. If you are exempt, complete
only lines 1,2, 3,4 and 7 and sign the form to validate it. Your
exemption for 2010 expires February 16,2011. See Pub. 505,
Tax Withholding and Estimated Tax.

Note: You cannot claim exemption from withholding if (a) your
income exceeds $950 and includes more than $300 of unearned
income (for example, interest and dividends) and (b) another
person can claim you as a dependent on their tax return.

Basic instructions. If you are not exempt, complete the
Personal Allowances Worksheet below. The worksheets on
page 2 further adjust your withholding allowances based

on itemized deductions, certain credits, adjustments to
income, or two-earner/multiple jobs situations. Complete

all worksheets that apply. However, you may claim fewer (or
zero) allowances. For regular wages, withholding must be
based on allowance you claimed and may not be a flat amount
or percentage of wages.

Head of household. Generally, you may claim head of
household filing status on your tax return only if you are
unmarried and pay more than 50 percent of the costs of
keeping up a home for yourself and your dependent(s) or
other qualifying individuals. See Pub. 501, Exemptions,

Standard Deduction, and Filing Information, for infomation.

Tax credits. You can take projected tax credits into account
in figuring your allowable number of withholding allowances.

Credits for child or dependent care expenses and the child

tax credit may be claimed using the Personal Allowances
Worksheet below. See Pub. 919, How Do I Adjust My Tax
Withholding, for information on converting your other credits
into withholding allowances.

Nonwage income. If you have a large amount of nonwage
income, such as interest or dividends, consider making
estimated tax payments using Form 1040-ES, Estimated Tax
for Individuals. Otherwise, you may owe additional tax. If you
have pension or annuity income, see Pub. 919 to find out if

you should adjust your withholding on form W-4 or W-4P.
Two earners/Multiple jobs. If you have a working spouse

or more than one job, figure the total number of allowances
you are entitled to claim on all jobs using worksheets from
only one Form W-4. Your withholding usually will be most
accurate when all allowances are claimed on the Form W-4
for the highest paying job and zero allowances are claimed on the

others. See Pub. 919 for details.

Nonresident alien. If you are a nonresident alien, see Notice
1392, Supplemental Form W-4 Instructions for Nonresident
Aliens, before completing this Form.

Check your withholding. After your Form W-4 takes effect,
use Pub. 919 to see how the amount you are having withheld
compares to your projected total tax for 2010. See Pub. 919,
especially if your earnings exceed $130,000 (Single) or $180,000
(Married).

Recent name change? If your name on line 1 differs from
that shown on your social security card, call 1-800-772-1213
to initiate a name change and obtain a social security card
showing your correct name.

Personal Allowances Workshe;et (Keep for your records.)

A Enter “1” for yourself if no one else can claim you as a dependent .

@ You are single and have only one job; or
B Enter “1” if:

® You are married, have only one job, and your spouse does not work; or

e Your wages from a second job or your spouse's wages (or the total of both) are $1,500 or less.
C Enter “1” for your spouse. But, you may choose to enter “-0-" if you are married and have either a working spouse or

more than one job. (Entering “-0-" may help you avoid having too little tax withheld.) .

Enter number of dependents (other than your spouse or yourself) you will claim on your tax return .

Enter “1” if you will file as head of household on your tax return (see conditions under Head of household above)
Enter “1” if you have at least $1,800 of child or dependent care expenses for which you plan to claim a credit
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(Note. Do not include child support payments. See Pub. 503, Child and Dependent Care Expenses, for details.)

G Child Tax Credit (including additional child tax credit). See Pub. 972, Child Tax Credit, for more information.
o |f your total income will be less than $61,000 ($90,000 if married), enter “2" for each eligible child; then less “1” if you have three or more eligible children.
e if your total income will be between $61,000 and $84,000 ($90,000 and $119,000 if married), enter “1” for each eligible

child plus “1” additional if you have six or more eligible children.
H Add lines A through G and enter total here. (Note. This may be different from the number of exemptions you claim on your tax return.) » H
e |f you plan to itemize or claim adjustments to income and want to reduce your withholding, see the Deductions

For accuracy,
complete all
worksheets
that apply.

and Adjustments Worksheet on page 2.

o If you have more than one job or are married and you and your spouse both work and the combined earnings from all jobs exceed
$18,000 ($32,000 if married), see the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet on page 2 to avoid having too little tax withheld.

o If neither of the above situations applies, stop here and enter the number from line H on line 5 of Form W-4 below.




Form W-4 (2010)

Page 2

Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet

Note. Use this worksheet only if you plan to itemize deductions or claim certain credits or adjustments to income.

1 Enter an estimate of your 2010 itemized deductions. These include qualifying home mortgage interest,
charitable contributions, state and local taxes, medical expenses in excess of 7.5% of your income, and

miscellaneous deductions . . 1 $

$11,400 if married filing jolntly or quallfylng wudow(er)

2 Enter: $8,400 if head of household 2 $
$5,700 if single or married filing separately

3 Subtract line 2 from line 1. If zero or less, enter “-0-" .o 3 $

4 Enter an estimate of your 2010 adjustments to income and any additional standard deductlon (Pub 91 9) 4 8

5 Add lines 3 and 4 and enter the total. (Include any amount for credits from Worksheet 6 in Pub. 919) 5 $

6 Enter an estimate of your 2010 nonwage income (such as dividends or interest) 6 $

7 Subtract line 6 from line 5. If zero or less, enter “-0-” .. 7 $

8 Divide the amount on line 7 by $3,650 and enter the result here. Drop any fractlon 8

9 Enter the number from the Personal Allowances Worksheet, line H, page 1 9

10 Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the total here. If you plan to use the Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet,

also enter this total on line 1 below. Otherwise, stop here and enter this total on Form W-4, line 5, page 1 10

Two-Earners/Multiple Jobs Worksheet (See Two earners or multiple jobs on page 1.)

than “3." .

withholding amount necessary to avoid a year-end tax bill.

Note. Use this worksheet only if the instructions under line H on page 1 direct you here.
1 Enter the number from line H, page 1 (or from line 10 above if you used the Deductions and Adjustments Worksheet) 1
2 Find the number in Table 1 below that applies to the LOWEST paying job and enter it here. However, if
you are married filing jointly and wages from the highest paying job are $65,000 or less, do not enter more

3 If line 1 is more than or equal to line 2, subtract line 2 from line 1. Enter the result here (if zero, enter
“-0-") and on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Do not use the rest of this worksheet . . . . .. 3
Note. If line 1 is less than line 2, enter “-0-" on Form W-4, line 5, page 1. Complete lines 4—9 below to figure the additional

4 Enter the number from line 2 of this worksheet 4
5 Enter the number from line 1 of this worksheet 5
6 Subtract line 5 from line 4 6
7 Find the amount in Table 2 below that apphes to the HIGHEST paymg jOb and enter it here 7 $
8 Multiply line 7 by line 6 and enter the result here. This is the additional annual withholding needed . g $
9 Divide line 8 by the number of pay periods remaining in 2010. For example, divide by 26 if you are paid
every two weeks and you complete this form in December 2009. Enter the resuit here and on Form W-4,
line 6, page 1. This is the additional amount to be withheld from each paycheck . . . . . . . . 9 $
Table 1 Table 2
Married Filing Jointly All Others Married Filing Jointly All Others
if wages from LOWEST Enter on If wages from LOWEST Enter on If wages from HIGHEST | Enter on If wages from HIGHEST | Enter on
paying job are— line 2 above paying job are— line 2 above Q§ paying job are— line 7 above| paying job are-— line 7 above
$0 - $7,000 - 0 $0 - $6,000 - 0 $0 - $65,000 $550 $0 - $35,000 $550
7,001 - 10,000 - 1 6,001 - 12,000 - 1 65,001 - 120,000 910 35,001 - 90,000 910
10,001 - 16,000 - 2 12,001 - 19,000 - 2 120,001 - 185,000 1,020 90,001 - 165,000 1,020
16,001 - 22,000 - 3 19,001 - 26,000 - 3 185,001 - 330,000 1,200 165,001 - 370,000 1,200
22,001 - 27,000 - 4 26,001 - 35,000 - 4 330,001 and over 1,280 370,001 and over 1,280
27,001 - 35,000 - 5 35,001 - 50,000 - 5
35,001 - 44,000 - 6 50,001 - 65,000 - 6
44,001 - 50,000 - 7 65,001 - 80,000 - 7
50,001 - 55,000 - 8 80,001 - 90,000 - 8
55,001 - 65,000 - 9 90,001 -120,000 - 9
65,001 - 72,000 - 10 120,001 and over 10
72,001 - 85,000 - 11
85,001 -105,000 - 12
105,001 -115,000 - 13
115,001 -130,000 - 14
130,001 - and over 15

Privacy Act and Paperwork Reduction Act Notice. We ask for the information on this
form to carry out the Internal Revenue laws of the United States. Internal Revenue Code
sections 3402(f)(2) and 6109 and their regulations require you to provide this
information; your employer uses it to determine your federal income tax withholding.
Failure to provide a properly completed form will result in your being treated as a single
person who claims no withholding allowances; providing fraudulent information may
subject you to penalties. Routine uses of this information include giving it to the
Department of Justice for civil and criminal litigation, to cities, states, the District of
Columbia, and U.S. commonwealths and possessions for use in administering their tax
laws, and using it in the National Directory of New Hires. We may also disclose this
information to other countries under a tax treaty, to federal and state agencies to
enforce federal nontax criminal laws, or to federal law enforcement and intelligence
agencies to combat terrorism.

You are not required to provide the information requested on a form that is
subject to the Paperwork Reduction Act unless the form displays a valid OMB
control number. Books or records relating to a form or its instructions must be
retained as long as their contents may become material in the administration of
any Internal Revenue law. Generally, tax returns and return information are

confidential, as required by Code section 6103.

The average time and expenses required to complete and file this form will vary
depending on individual circumstances. For estimated averages, see the
instructions for your income tax return.

If you have suggestions for making this form simpler, we would be happy to hear
from you. See the instructions for your income tax return.
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INSTRUCTIONS
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Serving the People

Revenue Administration Division

EMPLOYEE’S STATE OF MARYLAND WITHOLDING ALLOWANCE

Line1
Employee Withholding Allowance Certificate

a. Number of personal exemptions (total exemp-
tions on lines A, C and D of the federal W-4 or
W-4A worksheet a.

b. Number of additional exemptions for depen-
dents over 65 years of age b.

c. Number of additional exemptions for certain
items, including estimated itemized deductions,
alimony payments, allowable childcare expenses,
qualified retirement contributions, business
losses and employee business expenses for the
year. c.

d. Number of additional exemptions for taxpayer
and/or spouse at least 65 years of age and/or

blind

e. Total - add lines a through d and enter here an
on line 1 (Form MW507) e.

Exemptions for dependents - to qualify as your
dependent, you must be entitled to an federal
income tax return for the corresponding tax year.

Additional exemptions for dependents over 65
years of age - An additional exemption is allowed
for dependents who are 65 years of age or older.

Additional exemptions - You may claim
additional exemptions for certain items, including
estimated itemized deductions, alimony payments,
allowable child care expenses, qualified retirement
contributions, business losses and employee
business expenses for the year. One additional
withholding exemption is permitted for each
$3,200 of estimated itemized deductions or
adjustments to income that exceed the standard
deduction allowance.

NOTE: Standard deduction allowance is 15% of
Maryland adjusted gross income with a minimum
of $1,500 and a maximum of $2,000 for each

taxpayer .

Additional exemptions for taxpayer and/or
spouse - An additional $1,000 may be claimed if
the taxpayer and/or spouse is at least 65 years of
age and/or blind on the last day of the tax year.

Line 2

Additional withholding per pay period under
agreement with employer - if you are not having
enough tax withheld, you may ask your employer to
withhold more by entering an additional amount
on Line 2.

Line 3

Exemption from withholding. You may be entitled
to claim an exemption from the withholding of
Maryland income tax if:

a. last year you did not owe any Maryland income
tax and had a right to a full refund of any tax
withheld; and

b. this year you do not expect to owe any
Maryland income tax and expect to have the

right to a full refund of all income tax withheld.
If you are eligible to claim this exemption, your
employer will not withhold Maryland income
tax from your wages.

Students and seasonal employees -

whose annual income will be below the minimum
filing requirements (annual income less than
$9,350 for 2010) should claim exemption

from withholding. This provides more income
throughout the year and avoids the necessity of
filing a Maryland income tax return.

Line 4

Certification of nonresidence in the State

of Maryland- This line is to be completed by
residents of Pennsylvania and Virginia who are
employed in Maryland and do not maintain a place

of abode in Maryland for 183 days or more.

Line 4 is nof to be used by residents of other
states who are working in Maryland, because such
persons are liable for Maryland income tax and
withholding from their wages is required.

If you are domiciled in the District of Columbia,
Pennsylvania or Virginia and maintain a place

of abode in Maryland for 183 days or more, you
become a statutory resident of Maryland and you
are required to file a resident return with Maryland
reporting your total income. You must apply to
your domicile state for any tax credit to which you
may be entitled under the reciprocal provisions of
the law.

If you are domiciled in West Virginia, you are not
required to pay Maryland income tax on wage or
salary

income, regardless of the length of time you may
have spent in Maryland.

Line 5

Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act as
amended by the Military Spouses Residency
Relief Act, you may be exempt from Maryland
income tax on your wages if (i) your spouse is a
member of the armed forces present in Maryland
in compliance with military orders; (ii) you are
present in Maryland solely to be with your spouse;
and (iii) you maintain your domicile in another
state. If you claim exemption under the SCRA
enter your state of domicile (legal residence) on
Line 5; enter “‘EXEMPT”in the box to the right
on Line 5; and attach a copy of your spousal
military identification card to Form MW507.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Federal Privacy Act information -

Social Security numbers must be included. The
mandatory disclosure of your social security
number is authorized by the provisions set forth in

the Tax-General
Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

Such numbers are used primarily to administer
and enforce the individual income tax laws and to

exchange income tax information with the Internal
Revenue Service, other states and tax officials of
this state.

Information furnished to other agencies or
persons shall be used solely for the purpose

of administering tax laws or the specific laws,
administered by the person having statutory right
to obtain it.

Duties and Responsibilities of Employer -
Retain this certificate with your records. You are
required to submit a copy of this certificate and
accompanying attachments to the

Compliance Division
Compliance Programs Section
301 West Preston Street
Baltimore MD 21201

when received if:

1. you have any reason to believe this certificate is
incorrect.

2. the employee claims more than 10 exemptions;

3. the employee claims exemptions from
withholding because he/she had no tax liability
for the preceding tax year, expects to incur no tax
liability this year and the wages are expected to
exceed $200 a week; or

4. the employee claims exemptions from
withholding on the basis of nonresidence.

5. the employee claims an exemption from
withholding under the Military Spouses
Residency Relief Act.

Upon receipt of any exemption certificate (form

MWS507), the Compliance Division will make

a determination and notify you if a change is

required.

Once a certificate is revoked by the Comptroller,
the employer must send any new certificate to the
Comptroller for approval before implementing the
new certificate.

If an employee claims exemption under 3,4 or 5
above, a new exemption certificate must be filed by
February 15th of the following year.

Duties and Responsibilities of Employee -

If, on any day during the calendar year, the number
of withholding exemptions that the employee

is entitled to claim is less than the number of
exemptions claimed on the withholding certificate
in effect, the employee shall file a new withholding
exemption certificate with the employer within 10
days after the change occurs.

For additional information please call

410-767-1300
or toll free
1-800-492-1751
or visit our Web site at
www.marylandtaxes.com



