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As a licensed tobacco retailer, you are uniquely positioned to act responsibly to 
help reduce and eliminate underage access to tobacco products in Maryland. 
Retailers are an important part of our communities, and as such, must engage 
in responsible practices. Asking for photo ID reduces cigarette sales to 
underage youth. Tobacco retailers must be vigilant about checking IDs and 
refusing to sell tobacco to minors.  

Responsible tobacco retailing isn’t an inconvenience, it’s the law.

OVERVIEW

To put it simply—selling, distributing or promoting tobacco 
products to anyone under 18 years of age is illegal.   

Compliance checks are being conducted and enforced on a continuous basis to 
ensure retailers are following federal, state and local laws that prohibit the sale of 
tobacco to minors. If you are found guilty of selling tobacco to minors, you may be 
fined up to $10,000 and could even lose your license to sell tobacco.

This guidebook contains resources to assist retail owners and clerks with 
understanding and complying with tobacco retail sales laws designed to keep 
tobacco out of the hands of Maryland youth. Additional materials to display 
in your store, as well as an interactive training module can be found 
at www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com.
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MARYLAND IS

TOBACCO FREE.OUR KIDS

IT'S NOT A MINOR THING.

SERIOUS ABOUT KEEPING



•	Cigarettes
•	Cigars, Cigarillos, Little Cigars, including flavored products
• Electronic Nicotine Devices including E-cigarettes, E-hookah, E-cigars, Vape pens, etc.
• Smokeless Tobacco (Chew, Spit Tobacco, Dip, Snuff, etc.)
• Loose Tobacco (for pipes)
•	“Loosies” — cigarettes sold as individuals or less than a pack of 20 cigarettes  
•	Tobacco Accessories such as rolling papers and hookahs

It is against the law to sell any tobacco product 
to minors. This includes:

TOBACCOPRODUCTS

If you are unsure if a product is illegal to sell to youth – DON’T SELL! There are 
no laws that require you to sell a product; however, there are restrictions placed 
on what you can sell and to whom.

REMEMBER: No tobacco sales to minors. Period.

DON'T SELL!

If you are unsure if a product
is illegal to sell to youth
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It is against the law to sell ANY tobacco product or 
tobacco paraphernalia to anyone under the age of 18. 
Compliance checks are being conducted and enforced 
in Maryland.

TOBACCO LAWSSALES

As a tobacco retailer you are required by law to:

			   Ask for photo ID from everyone under 27.

			   Check to make sure all customers are at least 18.

			   Refuse to sell tobacco to everyone under 18.

The laws are in place to ensure retailers are acting responsibly by not selling or distributing 
tobacco products to minors. If found guilty of selling tobacco to minors, retailers and clerks 
(or both) face stiff penalties. Always follow all tobacco retailer laws and you will remain 
compliant, no matter who checks your store.

$
TYPE OF 

COMPLIANCE CHECK
IF FOUND GUILTY OF SELLING TOBACCO PRODUCTS 

TO MINORS, THE VIOLATOR IS SUBJECT TO:*

FEDERAL
Escalating fines up to $10,000 and a no-tobacco 

sales order for repeated violations

STATE
Escalating fines up to $3,000 and suspensions 

and/or revocation of your retailer license

LOCAL/JURISDICTION
Fines associated with violation are 

unique to each jurisdiction

AND PENALTIES

In order to sell tobacco in Maryland to those over 18, you must obtain a license at both the 
State and local levels. Selling tobacco without the proper license is illegal with penalties of 
up to $1,000 and imprisonment. 

Anyone under 18 years of age is also prohibited by law from using or possessing tobacco 
products, unless it’s part of their job (such as working as a cashier in a store selling 
tobacco products).

*See the federal, state, and local laws overviews included with this packet.

1
2

3

$
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VALID FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION

As a tobacco retailer, you are required by law to check the identification of everyone 
under 27 years old before selling them tobacco products. You must refuse to sell tobacco 
to everyone who is under 18.  

Accept only a government issued photo ID as proof of age for tobacco product sales. The 
ID should include a photo of the person, a physical description, and a date of birth showing 
that the person is at least 18 years old. To be valid, the ID must be current and not expired.

Any of the following forms of identification are considered acceptable:
•	State-Issued Driver’s License
•	State-Issued ID Card (issued to non-drivers)
•	Passport
•	Immigration Card
•	Military ID Card

•	Check first. Always ask for and check ID before getting the tobacco 			 
	 product off of the shelf. Do not give or sell the product to the customer until 		
	 you verify they are at least 18 years old. 
•	Habit. Follow the same steps each time you check an ID. This will prevent 			
	 you from getting sidetracked by conversation.
•	Remove the ID. Always have the customer remove the ID card from 
	 their wallet.
•	Check license expiration. If the expiration date has passed, the card is 
	 not valid.
•	Over 18. The ID must show that the person is over 18 years old. Compare the 
	 birthdate on the license or ID to a calendar to determine when the customer 
	 can legally purchase tobacco.
•	Red box + red date. In Maryland, you can tell at a glance if the customer is 		
	 under 21 because the Maryland license will be vertical and there will be a red box 	
	 around the photo. Above the photo are the person’s 18th birthday denoted as “Under 	
	 18 Until” [date] and 21st birthday as “Under 21 Until” [date]. These are written in red. 	
	 Driver’s licenses from other states may not have these features – make sure you look 	
	 closely at the birthdate.      
•	Photo + physical stats.  Make sure the person looks like the photo on 			 
	 the ID. Check the height and weight to make sure there’s a reasonable match.      
• Doubts? Ask for another. If you have any doubts about the ID, ask for 
	 a second one. If the customer can’t provide a second ID, refuse the sale.

It only takes a few moments to make sure an ID 
is valid if you follow these simple steps:

HOWTO CHECK AN ID

REMEMBER: Always check the dates on the ID to verify a customer is at least 18.

			  Maryland license: vertical + red box + red date

			  Other ID: Add 20 to the year they were born and subtract 2.

Check first.
Always ask for and check ID before

getting the tobacco product off the shelf.

H

Birthdate
Expiration Date
Height
Weight
Ghost Portrait
Under 18 Until
Under 21 Until
Red Box for Under 21

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (HORIZONTAL)

A
B

C D
E

Please visit www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com for images of other valid IDs.

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VERTICAL)

A
B

C
D

H

F
G

E
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•	Date tampering. The most altered areas on an ID include the birthdate, expiration 	
	 date and “Under 18 Until” or “Under 21 Until” [date]. Make sure these dates have not been 	
	 changed or altered in any way.
•	Look for imperfections. Feel for raised or bumpy surfaces. Look for erasure marks, 
	 incorrect thickness, peeling lamination, smudged print, fuzzy numbers, and letters or 
	 numbers that have different fonts—especially the birthdate and expiration date.  
•	Glue lines or pin holes. Examine the ID under bright light to reveal glue lines 
	 or pin holes where bleach may have been injected.
•	Numbers match. Check the front and back to make sure all ID 
	 numbers match.
•	Check watermarks. Examine the ID to make sure 
	 any required watermarks or state seals are present.
•	Numbers out of line. Turn the card 90 degrees 
	 to make sure important numbers are not out of line.  
•	Other cards. If the young person has borrowed 
	 a driver’s license where they look similar to the owner 
	 of the ID, they probably won’t have multiple cards 
	 with the same name as the ID. Ask to see a 
	 credit card or other form of ID.
•	Photo + physical stats. Make sure the person 
	 looks like the photo on the ID. Check the height 
	 and weight to make sure there’s a reasonable match.

Here are some things to look for:

SPOTTINGA FAKE ID

REMEMBER: When in doubt, don’t 
make the sale. You are NOT obligated 
to sell any tobacco product.

Minors aren't always as easy

to spot as this!

CALCULATINGTHEIR AGE

If you are presented with a Maryland driver’s license, as shown on 
previous pages, the math is already done for you. Once you have verified 
that the ID is valid and belongs to the customer, look at the direction of 
the license; if it is vertical, the customer is under 21. There will be an 
“Under 18 Until” [date] located above the photo. Compare the “Under 18 
Until” [date] with the current date to determine if a sale is allowed. 

It is illegal to sell tobacco products to anyone under 
the age of 18. But once you have an ID in your hand, 
how do you verify age?

Example 1--Maryland ID

Birthdate on ID: 08-11-1998
Under 18 Until: 08-11-2016

Today’s date is: 05-20 -2015

Comparing today’s date (05-20-2015) to the “Under 18 Until” 
date (08-11-2016), you see that selling tobacco to this customer 
is illegal as the customer will not be 18 until August 11, 2016. 
You must refuse the sale.

Example 2--Other ID

A customer hands you another form of ID or a driver’s license that 
is not from Maryland. Do not assume a horizontal license from 
another state indicates the customer is over 21. Use the following 
method to calculate their age.

Add 20 to the year they were born, then subtract 2.

Birthdate on ID: 08-11-1998

Today’s date is: 05-20-2015 

Birth year on ID=1998
Add 20= 2018
Subtract 2= 2016

The customer will not be 18 until August 11, 2016. Comparing 
today’s date (05-20-2015) to the date the customer turns 18 
(08-11-2016), you see that selling tobacco to this customer is 
illegal. You must refuse the sale.

REMEMBER: Add 20...subtract 2.

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com

1998
+20

-2
2016
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HOW TO REFUSE A TOBACCO SALE

•	Check ID first. Before you pull the tobacco product from the shelf, ask to see 	
	 their ID first. This way the tobacco is out of the customer’s reach and they can’t 	
	 throw money down, grab the product and leave the store.  

•	Don’t get sidetracked. Be consistent and use the same technique to check 	
	 each ID. Don’t lose your focus by talking to customers while checking ID.

•	Be alert. Customers might wait until a busy part of the day when clerks are 	
	 more distracted. Continue to be consistent when checking IDs.

• Be firm. Once you’ve determined a minor is trying to purchase tobacco 
	 products, address the customer with a firm yet polite response.

•	Explain why. Tell the person why you can’t sell the tobacco product.

When you refuse to sell   a tobacco product to a 
minor, the law is on your   side. Be polite but firm.

•	No buddies. You should not sell tobacco products to any customer if it appears 		
	 to be for a minor who is with him/her or is waiting outside.

•	No purchases for parents. It’s illegal for a person under 18 to buy tobacco 		
	 products for a parent, even if they have a note from that parent.

•	Resist customer pressure. The customer might try to make you feel bad about 		
	 not selling to them or provide excuses and reasons as to why you should sell them 		
	 the product. Stand your ground and don’t waiver – you are not required to sell any 		
	 tobacco products, especially if you have any doubts.

•	Keep going. Continue checking out their other items.

•	Next customer. If they have nothing else to purchase, shift your attention to 
	 the next customer in line.

•	Get help. Don’t be afraid to call your supervisor or manager if it 
	 becomes necessary.

“I’m sorry, I can’t sell tobacco products to 
anyone under 18. It’s nothing personal--it’s 
the law. I could lose my job or be fined 
a lot of money.” 

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com

“I’m sorry, I must check a photo ID of anyone 
under 27 before selling tobacco. It’s nothing 
personal--it’s the law.”

The customer has no photo ID.
The ID photo does not match the customer.
The ID contains no date of birth.
The ID doesn’t appear to be authentic.
The ID shows the customer is underage.
The ID has expired.

Valid ReasonS.
The tobacco sale should be declined if:

WHAT TO SAY:
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IT’S THE LAW
LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

• If you sell or distribute cigarettes, you are required to maintain a license 	
	 from the State Comptroller as well as the county clerk. If you sell other 	
	 tobacco products (cigars, spit tobacco, etc.) AND cigarettes, this license 	
	 will be valid for all products. Licenses expire on April 30th and must be 	
	 renewed annually.

• If you sell or distribute other tobacco products and do NOT sell 
	 cigarettes, you are required to maintain a license for other tobacco 	
	 products from the State Comptroller as well as your county clerk. 		
	 Licenses expire on April 30th and must be renewed annually.

Violations and Penalties

• Selling or distributing cigarettes without the appropriate state license 	
	 is a misdemeanor subject to a fine of $1,000, imprisonment for not 		
	 more than 30 days, or both. Each day that a violation occurs is a 
	 separate violation. Md. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16-214(b)(1) to 16-214(b)(2)

• Selling cigarettes without a county license, selling cigarettes with an 	
	 expired county license or failing to display the county license in a 
	 “conspicuous place” is a misdemeanor subject to a fine up to $100. 
	 Md. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16-309(a)

• Selling or dealing in tobacco products without the appropriate state 	
	 license is a misdemeanor subject to a fine of $1,000, imprisonment for 	
	 not more than 30 days, or both. Each day that a violation occurs is a 	
	 separate offense. Md. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16.5-101 to 16.5-214 (2013)

Maryland regulations 

Sale and Distribution 

•	Tobacco products may ONLY be sold to individuals age 18 or older. Md. Ann. 
	 Code Crim. Law §10- 107

•	The sale of tobacco products in vending machines is prohibited unless the vending 			
	 machine is located in an adult-only (age 18 or older) establishment. Md. Ann. Code 			
	 Bus. Reg. §16-3A-O2

•	Cigarettes may ONLY be sold in packages of at least 20. Md. Ann. Code Comm. 			 
	 Law §11-5A-O2

•	The sale of clove cigarettes is prohibited. Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §I0- 106

•	Electronic nicotine devices may ONLY be sold to individuals age 18 or older. 
	 Md. Ann. Code Health-Gen. §24-305(b)(1)

•	A minor may NOT use or possess a tobacco product or cigarette rolling paper or 
	 obtain or attempt to obtain a tobacco product or cigarette rolling paper by using a form 
	 of ID that is falsified or IDs the minor as another individual.

Violations and Penalties

•	Sale or distribution of a tobacco product to a minor: The clerk or licensee (or both) 
	 is guilty of a criminal misdemeanor and a fine up to:

	 $300 for a first violation;
	 $1,000 for a second violation within 2 years of the first violation;
	 $3,000 for each subsequent violation occurring within 2 years of preceding violation. 		
	 Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §I0-107

•	Sale or distribution of an electronic nicotine delivery system to a minor: A person 
	 violating this law is guilty of a criminal misdemeanor and a fine of up to $1,000.

•	Sale of unpackaged cigarettes: a retailer that distributes an unpackaged cigarette is guilty 	
	 of a criminal misdemeanor and is subject to a fine up to $500 or imprisonment for up to 3 	
	 months or both. Md. Ann. Code Comm. Law §11-5A-03

A more detailed explanation of Maryland Tobacco Sales laws may be found at: 
www.law.umaryland.edu/programs/publichealth/tobacco/regulations_resources.html#a03

selling tobacco

it's not a minor thing!
to kids-

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com
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On June 22, 2009, the President signed the Tobacco Control Act into law. The 
Tobacco Control Act grants FDA authority to regulate the manufacturing, marketing 
and distribution of tobacco products to protect public health and to reduce tobacco 
use by minors.

ID Check
•	Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco may ONLY be sold to individuals age 18 or older. 
	 21 C.F.R § 1140.14

•	Retailers MUST check photo ID of everyone under age 27 who attempts to 		
	 purchase cigarettes or smokeless tobacco. 21 C.F.R § 1140.14 (b)(2)

Sale and Distribution
•	Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products may ONLY be sold in face-to-face 
	 transactions. Check your local law - several Maryland counties and Baltimore City 
	 require face-to-face transactions for the sale of ALL tobacco products. 
	 21 C.F.R 1140.14(c)

•	The sale of cigarettes and smokeless tobacco in vending machines is prohibited unless 
	 the vending machine is located in an adult-only (age 18 or older) establishment. 
	 21 C.F.R §1140.16(c)

•	Cigarettes may ONLY be sold in packages of at least 20. 21 C.F.R §1140.16(b)

•	Breaking or opening packages of smokeless tobacco to sell in any quantity
	 smaller than the smallest package distributed by the manufacturer for individual 
	 use is prohibited. 21 C.F.R §1140.14 (d)

•	Retailers may NOT distribute free samples (except for samples of smokeless 
	 tobacco products in a qualified adult-only facility) or offer gifts with the 
	 purchase of cigarettes or smokeless tobacco. 21 C.F.R §1140.16(d)(1)

•	The sale of flavored cigarettes (excluding menthol) is prohibited. 21 U.S.C 387g

•	Retailers are required to alter self-service displays so that all 
	 transactions involving cigarettes or smokeless tobacco are 
	 face-to-face and do not allow for the opening of any 
	 cigarette or smokeless tobacco package.  
	 21 C.F.R §1140.14 (e)

IT’S THE LAW
FEDERAL REGULATIONS Advertising and Promotion

•	It is prohibited to offer any gift or item to a person purchasing cigarettes 
	 or smokeless tobacco in consideration of (a) the purchase of tobacco 		
	 products; or (b) providing evidence of such purchase, such as credits, 
	 proof-of-purchase, or coupons.  21 C.F.R §1140.34(b).

•	It is prohibited to sponsor any athletic, musical, artistic, or other social or 
	 cultural event—or any entry or team in any event—that is identified with 
	 a brand of cigarettes or smokeless tobacco. 21 C.F.R §1140.34(c)

Violations and Penalties
•	There are two schedules for civil money penalties for retailers who 
	 violate the Tobacco Control Act. Escalating fines can be up to 
	 $10,000 for tobacco violations.

$10,000
Fines as high as

RESOURCES
i.	 FDA
		  •	www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm
		  •	http://www.fda.gov/tobaccoproducts/resourcesforyou/retail/ucm237741.htm

ii.	 Campaign Materials
		  •	www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com 

iii.	 Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control
		  •	http://phpa.dhmh.maryland.gov/ohpetup/SitePages/tob_home.aspx

iv.	 Maryland Synar reports (State tobacco retailer compliance checks)
		  •	http://bha.dhmh.maryland.gov/SitePages/Maryland%20Synar%20Reports.aspx

v.	 Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Behavioral Health Administration
		  •	bha.dhmh.maryland.gov/

vi.	 University of Maryland, Legal Resource Center for Public Health Policy
		  •	www.law.umaryland.edu/tobacco
		  •	www.law.umaryland.edu/programs/publichealth/tobacco/index.html

vii.	Comptroller of Maryland	
		  •	www.comp.state.md.us

viii.	Office of the Maryland Attorney General
		  •	www.oag.state.md.us/Tobacco/youthaccess.htm

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com
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