# Tips for refusing a tobacco sale

- Explain it's against the law to sell tobacco to anyone under 21. Be tactful and polite, yet firm. You are following the law so you don't get fined or lose your job. That's a valid reason.
- **Resist customer pressure.** Keep in mind, you are not obligated to sell any tobacco product. If the customer can't provide a valid ID or you don't think it's authentic, refuse to sell the tobacco product. Don't be intimidated into breaking the law.
- Stay calm. If the customer gets angry, get help from your manager or a security officer. You may also offer to call the police.

## What to say:

"I'm sorry, I can't sell tobacco products to anyone under 21. It's nothing personal–it's the law. I could lose my job or be fined a lot of money."

"I'm sorry, I must check a photo ID of anyone under 30 before selling tobacco. It's nothing personal–it's the law."

Current Calendar Year:		
2021	2022	2023
Anyone born after today's date in:		
2000	2001	2002
No person under the age of 21 may be sold any tobacco product.		





Maryland Tobacco Retailer Quick Reference Guide



To comply with the laws, retailers and clerks must:

### Know the Laws.

It is against the law to sell tobacco products to anyone under the age of 21. Federal fines can be in excess of \$10,000.

## Know the Steps to Take.

Ask for photo ID from everyone under 30.
Check to make sure all customers are at least 21.
Refuse to sell tobacco to everyone under 21.









September 2021

#### **MILITARY ID\***





**UNDER 21 DRIVER'S** 

#### UNDER 21 DRIVER'S LICENSE (VER. 2)



# Birthdate

Devrihur 10 One V5.2e Dual 2050-5000-1029-0181-8397 00003282

Other state and government IDs may display birth dates differently than the above examples. Ensure all IDs are checked properly to remain in compliance with the law.

#### OVER 21 DRIVER'S LICENSE (VER. 1)



OVER 21 DRIVER'S LICENSE (VER. 2)



## How to check an ID.

- No ID. No Sale! Ask for a valid photo ID of every customer who is under age 30 and purchasing tobacco.
- 2 Check photo ID before getting the requested product.
- 3 Compare the ID photo to the customer. Does it match?
- Check for fake IDs. Have the customer remove the ID from their wallet and check to make sure the ID is not tampered with (plastic peeling, smudges, and misaligned numbers).
- 6 Check the expiration date. An ID must be current and not expired to be valid.
- 6 Is the license vertical? In Maryland this means the customer is under 21. Check the "Under 21 Until" [date] to verify they are at least 21 before selling them tobacco.
- 7 Calculate and verify age.

\*The Federal Tobacco 21 Law supersedes Maryland state laws and exemptions. All members of the military must be 21 years or older to purchase tobacco products.

# How to calculate age.

If you are verifying the age of a customer, it is easiest to use the following method:

Add 20 to the year they were born, then add 1.

For example, Birthdate on ID: 08-11-2003 Today's date: 10-01-2020



The customer will not be 21 until Aug. 11, 2024. Comparing today's date (10-01-2020) to the date the customer turns 21 (08-11-2024), you see that selling tobacco to this customer is illegal. You must refuse the sale.