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l. General

1. What is the minimum sales age and when does it take effect?
Beginning October 1, 2019, the minimum sales age for all tobacco products in Maryland is 21
(“T21”). This includes sales of all electronic smoking devices—e-cigarettes, vapes, pod devices
such as JUUL®, e-liquids, and component parts and accessories.?

As of December 20, 2019, the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products was also raised
from 18 to 21 years.?

2. How is a tobacco product defined?
As of October 1, 2019, a tobacco product includes cigarettes, cigars, pipe tobacco, chewing
tobacco, snuff, and snus, electronic smoking devices (ESDs), filters, rolling papers, pipes, and
liquids used in electronic smoking devices, regardless of nicotine content, as well as accessories
and components.?

3. Is there grandfathering or a grace period?
No. There is no “grandfathering,” phase-in, or grace period. As of October 1, 2019, no tobacco
sales are permissible to customers under 21.

4. Is there an exemption for military personnel?
The federal law does not include a military exemption. While Maryland’s Tobacco 21 law
includes a military exemption, retailers should follow the federal law by not selling any tobacco
products to anyone under 21 years old -- no exceptions.
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5. Do retailers need to post T21 signs in their stores?
Yes. Retailers are required to post a sign in a clearly visible location using letters at least one-half
inch high that states, "NO PERSON UNDER THE AGE OF 21 MAY BE SOLD TOBACCO PRODUCTS
WITHOUT MILITARY IDENTIFICATION."* The Maryland Department of Health mailed T21
compliant signs to all licensed tobacco retailers, including vape shops, across the state. T21
compliant signs are also available for download at www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com.

. Background Information

1. Why is raising the minimum sales age to 21 important?
In 2018, the U.S. Surgeon General warned that e-cigarette use among youth is now an
epidemic.’ Between 2017 and 2018, current e-cigarette use increased 78 percent among U.S.
high school students; in 2018, more than 3.6 million U.S. youth, including 1 in 5 high school
students and 1 in 20 middle school students, reported current e-cigarette use.® Raising the sales
age to 21 helps reduce youth access to e-cigarettes and other tobacco products, which reduces
the likelihood of them ever starting to use tobacco. Most adults who smoke or use tobacco
started by age 21.7

2. Have similar laws been implemented elsewhere?
As of December 20, 2019, the federal minimum age of sale of tobacco products was raised from

18 to 21 years. Additionally, at least 17 other states and 500 localities have raised the sales age
to21.2

[} Compliance and Enforcement
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1. What do retailers need to do to comply with the T21 law?
Retailers need to:

1. Post an age of sale signh compliant with the Maryland T21 law in a clearly visible location.

2. Use a driver’s license or government-issued ID to verify customer age.

3. Train all staff on the following steps for every tobacco sale:
e Ask for valid ID from everyone under 27 attempting to purchase tobacco

products (federal law*).

e Check ID to make sure each customer is at least 21.
e Refuse to sell tobacco products to everyone under 21.

*A retailer may be cited for selling to a person without checking ID if he/she appears under age
27. MDH anticipates the Secretary of HHS to promulgate regulations that would increase this
age to under 30.

2. Who enforces the T21 law?
The Maryland Department of Health, including local health departments, and local law
enforcement agencies are authorized to enforce the T21 law.®

3. Will retailers be inspected for illegal tobacco sales to individuals under 21?
Yes. State and local enforcement agencies are authorized to conduct random, unannounced
inspections at retail sites and to use persons younger than 21 years of age to conduct
enforcement activities.*®

4. Will FDA be checking for compliance with T21?
FDA conducts its own retail inspections, separate from state and local enforcement. The federal
tobacco sales age remains at 18; however, FDA requires an ID check for all customers under
27*.11

*A retailer may be cited for selling to a person without checking ID if he/she appears under age
27. MDH anticipates the Secretary of HHS to promulgate regulations that would increase this
age to under 30.

5. What are the fines and penalties for selling tobacco products to individuals under 21?
Penalties can include criminal and civil fines, as follows:
e S300 for first violation;
e 51,000 for second violation within two years;
e $3,000 for each subsequent violation within two years of the preceding violation.?
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6.

10.

Who is responsible for paying fines for T21 violations?
Civil fines are paid by the retailer, regardless of who illegally sold tobacco.®® Criminal fines are
the responsibility of the individual or entity that received the criminal citation.*

If a retailer trains staff on the T21 law and the staff acknowledge this training in writing, is the
retailer still liable if a staff member sells tobacco to a person under 21?

Yes. Retailers are responsible for civil fines resulting from illegal sales at their establishment.
Free training materials are available 24/7 at www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com.

Does the federal T21 law apply to local jurisdictions that have an ordinance stating the
minimum age of sale for tobacco products is 18 years of age?

Yes. The federal T21 law applies in every jurisdiction. Local tobacco sales laws may additionally
be enforced.

Does the T21 law change the age of sale for other CBD products such as topicals or
sublinguals?

The T21 law prohibits the sale of tobacco- and nicotine-derived products as well as the sale of
electronic smoking devices and any substance aerosolized or vaporized during the use of a such
device, to anyone under 21. For questions on the sale of specific CBD products, contact your
legal counsel for current information. Questions related medical marijuana (aka, medical
cannabis) should be directed to the Maryland Cannabis Commission at
https://mmcc.maryland.gov/Pages/home.aspx

Is the new 1QOS device covered under the T21 law?
IQOS is a tobacco heating system intended for human inhalation. Because it contains tobacco,
IQOS is covered by the T21 law and cannot be sold to individuals under 21.

Iv. Electronic Smoking Devices (e-cigarettes/vapes)

How is an electronic smoking device (ESD) defined?

As of October 1, 2019, an electronic smoking device (ESD) is defined as a tobacco product and
includes electronic cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic cigarillos, electronic pipes, electronic
hookah, vape pens, pod devices such as JUUL®, vaping liquid and any component, part, or
accessory of such a device, regardless of whether it is sold separately, including any substance
intended to be aerosolized or vaporized during use of the device.®®

Can retailers sell non-nicotine e-cigarettes (vapes) or non-nicotine e-liquid to individuals
under 21?
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No. E-cigarettes (vapes) as well as e-liquids, regardless of nicotine content, are considered
tobacco products and cannot be sold to anyone under 21.

Can retailers sell e-cigarettes (vapes) or e-liquid containing CBD to individuals under 21?
No. E-cigarettes, vapes, vaping liquids as well as any substance intended to be aerosolized or
vaporized during the use of electronic smoking devices are considered tobacco products and
cannot be sold to anyone under 21.°

Can retailers sell an e-cigarette, vape pen, or rolling papers for use with marijuana to someone
under 21 with a medical marijuana card?

No. Maryland law prohibits retailers from selling e-cigarettes, vape pens, or rolling papers to
anyone under age 21.

Can retailers sell wire, metal, or cotton designed for use in atomizers to individuals under age
21?

No. If the wire, metal, or cotton is designed for use in an atomizer, it is considered a tobacco
product under state law, which includes components, parts and accessories of tobacco
products, whether or not sold separately.’

Can retailers sell shisha to individuals under 21?
No. Shisha is considered a tobacco product since it is made or derived from tobacco, and cannot
be sold to anyone under age 21.8

V. New Signage

Where can retailers obtain a sign compliant with the Maryland T21 law?
Compliant signs are available to download, along with other training materials and resources at
www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com.

Are retailers required to use the sign provided by the Maryland Department of Health?

No. Any sign that meets the legal requirements (outlined earlier) is acceptable. However, using
the free sign from the Maryland Department of Health ensures the retail outlet is following the
law.

What if retailers don't post a sign compliant with the Maryland T21 law?

The Office of the Comptroller has the authority over signage requirements and may enforce this
provision.®
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VI. Clerk Age

1. Are clerks younger than 21 permitted to sell tobacco products?
Yes, clerks under 21 are permitted to sell tobacco products. If the clerk is under 18 years of age,
they must obtain a work permit from the Maryland Department of Labor before starting any job
in Maryland.?®

VII. Checking ID

1. Whatis avalid ID?
A current (not expired) driver's license or valid government-issued ID (e.g., passport). School and
employer-issued ID are not acceptable.??

2. How should | determine if a customer is 21?
In Maryland, the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) issues a vertical driver’s license or ID card
to persons under 21. Out-of-state driver’s licenses and other forms of government-issued ID
may not have a vertical orientation for persons under 21 so be sure to check date of birth. For
members of the military, check the date of birth on the back of the Common Access Card to
ensure age is at least 18. In all cases, confirm that the ID matches the customer and is valid
(not expired). For more information, visit the ID Guide at www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com.

3. Are there calendars available to verify a customer is 21?
FDA is providing free digital calendars that can be adjusted for T21 age verification. If you have
not received a digital calendar, you can order one at
https://digitalmedia.hhs.gov/tobacco/print_materials/RE-26.

4. Can retailers accept government-issued ID from other countries?
Government-issued ID from other countries, such as passports, are acceptable, provided you
can properly verify the ID is valid (non-expired), a photo is present, and you are able to
determine customer age.

VIIL. Tobacco Treatment Products
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1. Can retailers sell tobacco treatment products such as the patch, gum, or lozenge to individuals
under 21?
Over-the-counter FDA-approved tobacco treatment (aka, cessation) aids may be sold to
individuals who are 18 and older; anyone under 18 needs a physician prescription for tobacco
treatment products.?

2. Where can I find resources for quitting tobacco use?
Free posters, wallet cards, and other materials can be downloaded — or shipped to your retail
location at no cost. Visit www.smokingstopshere.com. Additionally, the Maryland Tobacco
Quitline (1-800-QUIT-NOW) is a free service available 24/7 to Marylanders ages 13 and older
who are ready to quit use of any tobacco product, including e-cigarettes. Callers ages 18 and
older may be eligible for free nicotine replacement therapy (e.g., patch, gum, lozenge).

IX. Licenses

1. What are the current tobacco license fees?
Find current information on tobacco license fees at
https://taxes.marylandtaxes.gov/Business Taxes/General Information/Business Tax Forms an
d Instructions/Tobacco Tax Forms/

2. Since ESDs or vapes are now considered tobacco products — as a vape shop vendor or ESD
retailer, can | continue to use my existing license?
Yes. The T21 law has not changed the type of license required to continue selling your retail
products (e.g., ESDs/vapes, cigarettes, cigars).

X. Military

How does the federal Tobacco 21 law impact Maryland’s military exemption?

The federal Tobacco 21 law went into effect immediately upon signing on December 20, 2019.
This law does not include a military exemption. In order to be compliant with the federal law,
Maryland retailers should no longer sell tobacco products to any military member who is 18-20
years old. No tobacco products may be sold to anyone under 21 years of age — no exceptions.
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Xl. Other Questions

When and how are retailers notified of the new T21 law?

The Maryland Department of Health, Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control (CTPC), mailed
information and new T21 compliant signs to licensed tobacco retailers across the state. Free T21
compliant signs and training materials are also available for download at
www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com.

Are there penalties for individuals under 21 who attempt to purchase tobacco products?

No. As of October 1, 2019, there are no penalties for underage purchase or possession of
tobacco.? Youth purchase and possession laws have not been shown to be effective in reducing
youth access and may unfairly target certain groups, including minority groups.

How do | report an illegal tobacco sale?

If an illegal sale is suspected, violation concerns can be reported to local law enforcement, your
local health department, or the Maryland Department of Health at 1-866-703-3266. These
reports may be given anonymously.

Who does retailer refer to?
For these purposes, a retailer is the same as a licensee or owner.

Where can | find additional information?
Visit www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com. The Maryland Department of Health will continue to
update this site with new information.

Who can | contact with additional questions?
Contact the Maryland Department of Health at MDH.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors@maryland.gov.

Where can | get a copy of the Maryland T21 law?
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2019RS/chapters noln/Ch 396 hb1169E.pdf

Do customers of medical marijuana dispensaries need to be 21?
All questions regarding medical marijuana (aka, cannabis) should be directed to the Maryland
Cannabis Commission at https://mmcc.maryland.gov/Pages/home.aspx.

Are vape and tobacconist shops considered essential businesses during the COVID-19
pandemic?

In response to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Governor Hogan issued an Executive Order on
March 19, 2020 regarding the closure of non-essential businesses.?* This Executive Order was
put into place for the health and well-being of all Marylanders and refers to federal guidance on
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the issue of essential and non-essential businesses: https://www.cisa.gov/identifying-critical-
infrastructure-during-covid-19. This list does not include vaping and/or tobacco establishments
as essential businesses.

With this potential reduced access, free assistance to help Maryland residents quit any tobacco
use, including smoking and vaping is available. The Maryland Tobacco Quitline, 1-800-QUIT-
NOW, offers phone, web, and text message support 24/7 and free nicotine replacement therapy
(e.g. patches and gum), to all Marylanders 13 and older. More information can be found at
www.SmokingStopsHere.com.

For more information about the COVID-19 pandemic, please visit:
https://coronavirus.maryland.gov/.

1 HB 1169, Chapter 396 of Acts of 2019, available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home
Z Center for Tobacco Products, Newly Signed Legislation Raises Federal Minimum Age of Sale of Tobacco Products
to 21, FDA, Accessed 24January2020 at https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/ctp-newsroom/newly-signed-

legislation-raises-federal-minimum-age-sale-tobacco-products-21

3 Bus Reg 16-3A-01, 16.7-101, Crim Law 10-101, Health Gen 13-1001, Local Gov 1-1201, available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

4 Bus Reg 16-209, 16.5-214.1, 16.7-204.1 available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

5 Surgeon General’s Advisory About E-Cigarettes, Accessed 20June2019 at https://e-
cigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov/documents/surgeon-generals-advisory-on-e-cigarette-use-among-youth-2018.pdf
6 Surgeon General’s Advisory About E-Cigarettes, Accessed 20June2019 at https://e-
cigarettes.surgeongeneral.gov/documents/surgeon-generals-advisory-on-e-cigarette-use-among-youth-2018.pdf
7 NAP, Public Health Implications of Raising the Minimum Age of Legal Access to Tobacco Products 2015,
http://www.nationalacademies.org/hmd/~/media/Files/Report%?20Files/2015/TobaccoMinAge/tobacco minimum a
ge report brief.pdf

8 For a current list of T21 states and localities, visit

https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/assets/content/what we do/state local issues/sales 21/states localities MLSA
21.pdf

9 Health Gen 24-305, 24-307; Crim Law 10-107 available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

10 Bus Reg 16-308-2, 16-308.2, 16.5-214.1, 16.5-217.1, 16.7-213.1; Health Gen 24-307; Crim Law 10-107
available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

1 For more information visit https://www.fda.gov/tobacco-products/compliance-enforcement-training/retail-sales-
tobacco-products#sellingtobacco

12 Crim Law 10-107; Health Gen 24-305, 24-307 available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

13 Health Gen, 24-305 or 24-307 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home.

14 Crim Law 10-107 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

15 Bus Reg 16.7-101 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

16 Bus Reg 16.7-101 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

17 Bus Reg 16.7-101 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frm1ist.aspx?tab=home

8 Bus Reg 16-3A-01, 16.7-101, Crim Law 10-101, Health Gen 13-1001, Local Gov 1-1201, available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

19 Bus Reg 16-209 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home
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20For more information, visit

https://taxes.marylandtaxes.gov/Business Taxes/Taxpayer Assistance/Business Tax FAQs/Alcohol and Tobacco
Tax/Consumer FAQs about Tobacco.shtml

21 Crim Law 10-107, Health Gen 24-305, 24-307, Local Gov 1-1203, available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

22 (Bus Reg 16-3A-01, 16.7-101, Crim Law 10-101, Health Gen 13-1001, Local Gov 1-1201 available at
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

23 Crim Law 10-108 available at http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frmist.aspx?tab=home

24 The State of Maryland, Executive Order available at https://governor.maryland.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2020/03/Gatherings-THIRD-AMENDED-3.23.20.pdf

V7 Page 10 of 10


https://taxes.marylandtaxes.gov/Business_Taxes/Taxpayer_Assistance/Business_Tax_FAQs/Alcohol_and_Tobacco_Tax/Consumer_FAQs_about_Tobacco.shtml
https://taxes.marylandtaxes.gov/Business_Taxes/Taxpayer_Assistance/Business_Tax_FAQs/Alcohol_and_Tobacco_Tax/Consumer_FAQs_about_Tobacco.shtml
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frm1st.aspx?tab=home
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frm1st.aspx?tab=home
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/webmga/frm1st.aspx?tab=home
https://governor.maryland.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Gatherings-THIRD-AMENDED-3.23.20.pdf
https://governor.maryland.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/Gatherings-THIRD-AMENDED-3.23.20.pdf

