
There has been an alarming increase in the use of tobacco 
products among our young people. To protect their health, 
Maryland has passed Tobacco 21 (T21), a new law that raises 
the minimum sales age for tobacco products, including vapes, 
JUUL® and other pod-based systems, to 21 years old. As a 
licensed tobacco retailer, you play a key role in ensuring the 
success of this effort. With your help, we can reduce and 
eliminate underage access to tobacco products in our state.

BE AWARE. BE RESPONSIBLE.

As of October 1, 2019, selling, distributing or offering to sell 
tobacco products to anyone under 21 is illegal.
You are responsible for upholding the law. Compliance 
checks will be conducted and enforced on a continuous 
basis to ensure your store is following federal, state and local 
laws that prohibit the sale of tobacco to minors. If you are 
found guilty of selling any tobacco product, including vapes, 
to underage youth, federal fines are in excess of $10,000 
and you could even lose your license to sell tobacco.
 
BE COMPLIANT.

Retailers need to: 
1. Display new T21 signage in a clearly visible location.
2. �Use a driver’s license or government-issued ID to verify 

customer age.
3. Train all staff on the following steps for every tobacco sale:  
	 • �Ask for valid ID from everyone under 27 attempting to 

purchase tobacco products (federal law).
	 • Check ID to make sure each customer is at least 21.
	 • �Refuse to sell tobacco products to everyone under 21.*
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THE HEALTH OF OUR MINORS IS A MAJOR CONCERN.

Let’s keep them tobacco-free. 
Tobacco products, including most vapes, contain the addictive drug 
nicotine and other dangerous chemicals. Use of e-cigarettes and vapes, 
like JUUL® and other pod-based systems, increased by 78% among 
high school youth in just one year. In 2018, over 3 million high schoolers 
in the U.S. were using some type of vaping product. This led the U.S. 
Surgeon General to warn that e-cigarette use among youth is now an 
epidemic. Nicotine can cause delays in brain development of young 
people and chemicals found in vapes can cause permanent lung 
damage. Some have started to use other tobacco products with 
exposure to known cancer-causing chemicals. Most adults who use 
tobacco reported they started by the age 21. For these reasons, raising 
the sales age to 21 helps reduce underage access to e-cigarettes and 
other tobacco products, which reduces the likelihood of them ever 
starting to use tobacco. 

WE’RE HERE TO HELP.

This toolkit contains resources to help you understand the new tobacco 
law and your responsibility to comply. In addition to raising the sales 
age to 21,* the new law requires retailers to post signage with specific 
language. The Maryland Department of Health has developed and 
included in this toolkit a poster and window adhesive that meet the 
requirements of the law. Post these materials in your store at locations 
clearly visible to customers and staff. Other items, such as table tents 
and quick reference guides, can be placed near the cash register to 
assist clerks with determining age and correct active duty military ID for 
customers purchasing tobacco.

You’ll also find information about the Maryland Tobacco Quitline, 
1-800-QUIT-NOW. The Quitline is a free service to help Marylanders quit 
tobacco, including e-cigarettes and vapes. Any person age 13 and older 
may call 1-800-QUIT-NOW or visit www.smokingstopshere.com.

Together, we can keep tobacco out of the hands of Maryland youth. 
For free online training, additional materials, and FAQ’s, visit 
www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com. Please send questions to 
mdh.notobaccosalestominors@maryland.gov. 

*Active duty military age 18 and older with valid military ID are exempt.
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Under 21 is underage.

No person under the age of 21 may be sold any tobacco products.

2019
Ok if born by today’s date in 1998.

2020
Ok if born by today’s date in 1999.

• Ask for ID of anyone 27 or younger. 
• Check that ID is valid.
• If not 21, refuse the sale.*

•         I f underage, be polite but fi rm.
“I’m sorry I can’t sell you any tobacco products. It’s 
against the law and I could lose my job.”

For every tobacco sale, including vapes:

Other state and government IDs may display birth dates 
differently than the above examples. Ensure all IDs are checked 

properly to remain in compliance with the law.

Uniformed Services (military ID only)

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 1)

ACTIVE DUTY 
MILITARY ID LICENSE (VER. 1)LICENSE (VER. 1)

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 1)

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 2)

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 2)LICENSE (VER. 2) LICENSE (VER. 1)

Birthdate

Affi liation
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*Active duty military age 18 and older with valid military ID are exempt.
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Maryland Tobacco Retailer 
Quick Reference Guide

•  Explain it’s against the law to sell tobacco to 
anyone under 21. Be tactful and polite, yet fi rm. 
You are following the law so you don’t get fi ned or 
lose your job. That’s a valid reason.

•  Resist customer pressure. Keep in mind, you 
are not obligated to sell any tobacco product. If the 
customer can’t provide a valid ID or you don’t think 
it’s authentic, refuse to sell the tobacco product. 
Don’t be intimidated into breaking the law. 

•  Stay calm. If the customer gets angry, get help 
from your manager or a security offi cer. You may 
also offer to call the police.

What to say:
“I’m sorry, I can’t sell tobacco products to anyone 
under 21. It’s nothing personal—it’s the law. I could 
lose my job or be fi ned a lot of money.”

“I’m sorry, I must check a photo ID of anyone under 
27 before selling tobacco. It’s nothing personal—it’s 
the law.”

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com

Current Calendar Year:
2019 2020 2021

Anyone born after today’s date in:
1998 1999 2000

No person under the age of 21 may be sold any tobacco product.*

September 2019

I.D.
Responsible Retailers

CHECK

We Don’t Sell 
Tobacco to Minors

*Active duty military age 18 and older with valid military ID are exempt.

Know the Laws.
It is against the law to sell tobacco products

to anyone under the age of 21.* Federal fi nes
can be in excess of $10,000.

Know the Steps to Take.
1. Ask for photo ID from everyone under 27.

2. Check to make sure all customers are at least 21.*
3. Refuse to sell tobacco to everyone under 21.*

Tips for refusing a tobacco sale

To comply with the laws, retailers and clerks must:



How to check an ID.
No ID. No Sale! Ask for a valid photo ID of every customer who is under 
age 27 and purchasing tobacco.

Check photo ID before getting the requested product.

Compare the ID photo to the customer. Does it match?

Check for fake IDs. Have the customer remove the ID from their wallet 
and check to make sure the ID is not tampered with (plastic peeling, 
smudges, and misaligned numbers).

Check the expiration date. An ID must be current and not expired
to be valid. 

Is the license vertical? In Maryland this means the customer is under 21. 
Check the “Under 21 Until” [date] to verify they are at least 21 before 
selling them tobacco. For those 18 and older with an active duty military 
ID, ensure the ID is vertically-oriented, and states “Uniformed Services” 
on the front of the ID card under “Affi liation.”

Calculate and verify age.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

If you are verifying the age of a customer, it is easiest to use 
the following method:

Add 20 to the year they were born, then add 1.

For example, 
Birthdate on ID: 08- 11-2001
Today’s date: 10-01-2019

The customer will not be 21 until Aug. 11, 2022. Comparing 
today’s date (10-01-2019) to the date the customer turns 21 
(08-11-2022), you see that selling tobacco to this customer is 
illegal. You must refuse the sale.

2001
+20

+1
2022

How to calculate age.

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 1)

ACTIVE DUTY 
MILITARY ID LICENSE (VER. 1)LICENSE (VER. 1)

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 1)

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 2)

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 2)LICENSE (VER. 2) LICENSE (VER. 1)

Other state and government IDs may display birth dates 
differently than the above examples. Ensure all IDs are checked 

properly to remain in compliance with the law.

Uniformed Services (military ID only)

Birthdate

Affi liationB

B



As a tobacco retailer, you are required by law to check the identifi cation of 
people under 27 years old before selling them tobacco products, including 
e-cigarettes/vapes. You must refuse to sell tobacco to those who are under 21.*

Accept only a government-issued photo ID as proof of age for tobacco product sales. 
The ID should include a photo of the person, a physical description, and a date of birth 
showing that the person is at least 21 years old.* To be valid, the ID must be current 
and not expired.

Any of the following forms of identification are considered acceptable:
•State-Issued Driver’s License •Immigration Card
•State-Issued ID Card (issued to non-drivers) • Active Duty Military ID Card
•Passport  (Other forms of military ID are not acceptable)

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 1)LICENSE (VER. 1)LICENSE (VER. 1)

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 1)LICENSE (VER. 1)

Birthdate
Expiration Date
Height
Weight
Ghost/Laser Image
Under 18 Until
Under 21 Until
Red Box for Under 21
(Version 1 only)
Tactile (Raised) Text
(Version 2 only)
Affi liation - Uniformed 
Services (military ID only)

A

B

C

D

E

H

F

G

I

J

OVER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 2)

ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY (BACK)

UNDER 21 DRIVER’S 
LICENSE (VER. 2)LICENSE (VER. 2)

ACTIVE DUTY
MILITARY (FRONT)MILITARY (FRONT)

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com

ID Guide

REMEMBER: When in doubt, don’t 
make the sale. You are NOT obligated 

to sell any tobacco product.

Date tampering. The most altered areas on an ID include the 
birthdate, expiration date, and “Under 18 Until” or “Under 21 Until” 
[date]. Make sure these dates have not been changed or altered in 
any way.
Look for imperfections. Feel for raised or bumpy surfaces. Look 
for erasure marks, incorrect thickness, peeling lamination, smudged 
print, fuzzy numbers, and letters or numbers that have different 
fonts — especially the birthdate and expiration date.  
Glue lines or pin holes. Examine the ID under bright light to reveal 
glue lines or pin holes where bleach may have been injected.
Numbers match. Check the front and back to make sure all ID 
numbers match.
Check watermarks. Examine the ID to make sure any required 
watermarks or state seals are present.
Numbers out of line. Turn the card 90 degrees to make sure 
important numbers are not out of line.  
Photo plus physical stats. Make sure the person looks like the
photo on the ID. Check the height and weight to make sure there’s
a reasonable match.

Here are some things to look for:

How to spot a fake ID

J

*Active duty military age 18 and older with valid military ID are exempt.
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www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.comwww.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com

Follow these simple steps:

How to check an ID

Calculating their age

Check fi rst.
Always ask for and check ID before getting the tobacco product off the shelf. Do not 
give or sell the product until you verify the customer is at least 21.*
Make it a habit.
Follow the same steps each time you check an ID. This will prevent you from getting 
sidetracked by conversation.
Remove the ID.
 Always have customers remove IDs from their wallets.
Check license expiration.
 If the expiration date has passed, the card is not valid.
Look for the birthdate.
The ID must show that the person is at least 21 years old.* Compare the birthdate 
on the ID to a calendar to determine when the customer can legally purchase 
tobacco.
Check photo and stats.
Does the person look like the photo on the ID? Also check height and weight to 
make sure there is a reasonable match.
Doubts? Ask for another.
If you have any doubts about the ID, ask for a second one. If a customer can’t 
provide a second ID, refuse the sale.
Military ID? Look for these features.
It is legal to sell tobacco to active duty service members who are 18 or older
with a valid military ID, known as the Common Access Card (CAC). 
•  Look for “Uniformed Services” on the front of the CAC, printed under “Affi liation.” 
• The CAC is always vertical and has a chip reader. 
•  Only the CAC with “Uniformed Services” printed on the front is acceptable for 

military members 18 or older.
•  Other forms of military ID are not acceptable. 

Other ID
A customer hands you another form of ID or a driver’s license that is not from Maryland. 
Do not assume a horizontal license from another state indicates the customer is over 21. 
Use the following method to calculate their age.
Add 20 to the year they were born, then add one.
Birthdate on ID: 08-11-1999
Today’s date is: 10-01-2019 
Birth year on ID= 1999
Add 20= 2019
Add 1 = 2020

The customer will not be 21 until Aug. 11, 2020. Comparing today’s date
(10-01-2019) to the date the customer turns 21 (08-11-2020), you see
that selling tobacco to this customer is illegal. You must refuse the sale.

How to refuse a tobacco sale
Be polite but fi rm. Once you’ve determined a minor is trying to purchase tobacco 
products, address the customer with a fi rm yet polite response.

Explain why. Tell the person why you can’t sell the tobacco product.

Resist customer pressure. The customer might try to make you feel bad about not 
selling to them or provide excuses and reasons as to why you should sell them the 
product. Stand your ground and don’t waiver — you are not required to sell any tobacco 
products, especially if you have any doubts.

Keep going. Continue checking out their other items. If they have nothing else to 
purchase, shift your attention to the next customer in line.

Get help. Don’t be afraid to call your supervisor or manager if it becomes necessary.

What to say:
“I’m sorry, I can’t sell tobacco products to anyone under 21. It’s nothing personal —
it’s the law. I could lose my job or be fi ned a lot of money.”

Valid reasons to decline a tobacco sale
• The ID photo does not match the customer.
• The ID doesn’t have a date of birth (examples: school or employer-issued ID). 
• The ID doesn’t appear to be authentic.
• The ID shows the customer is underage.
• The ID has expired.
• The ID is not a CAC, required for sales to military under age 21.

With the new law, it is illegal to sell tobacco products to people under 21.*
So once you have an ID in your hand, how do you verify age?

It’s easy with a Maryland license. 
If the ID is vertical, the customer is under 21. There will also be an “Under 21 Until” (date) 
on the license. Compare this with the current date to determine if a sale is allowed.

1999
+20

+1
2020

*Active duty military age 18 and older with valid military ID are exempt.



•  Cigarettes
•  Cigars, Cigarillos, Little Cigars, including flavored products
•  Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs) including E-cigarettes,

E-hookah, E-cigars, Vape pens, JUUL®, etc.
• Smokeless Tobacco (Chew, Spit Tobacco, Dip, Snuff, etc.)
• Loose Tobacco and shisha (for pipes and hookah)
•  “Loosies” — cigarettes sold as individuals or less than a pack of
  20 cigarettes  
•  Tobacco accessories such as fi lters, rolling papers, pipes, hookah,
  and liquids used in ESDs, regardless of nicotine content

It is against the law to sell any tobacco product
to minors. This includes:

If you are unsure a product can be legally sold — don’t sell! There are 
no laws that require you to sell a product; however, there are restrictions 
placed on what you can sell and to whom.

If you are unsure a product can 
be legally sold    — don’t sell! 

Product Guide

September 2019www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com
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Maryland laws

Sale and Distribution 

•   Tobacco products may only be sold to individuals age 21 or older unless the individual is at 
least 18 years of age and an active duty member of the military who produces valid military 
identifi cation. Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs) are now included within the defi nition 
of “tobacco products” and are defi ned as devices that can be used to deliver aerosolized 
or vaporized nicotine to an individual inhaling from the device. These include electronic 
cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic cigarillos, electronic pipes, electronic hookahs, vape 
pens, vaping liquid and any component, part, or accessory regardless of whether or not it 
is sold separately, including any substance intended to be aerosolized or vaporized during 
use of the device. — Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §10-107, Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §24-305, Md. Ann. Code 
Health Gen. §24-307, Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §13-1001, Md. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16.7-101

•   The sale of tobacco products in vending machines is prohibited unless the vending machine 
is located in an adult-only establishment — Md. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16-3A-02

•  Cigarettes may only be sold in packages of at least 20 — Md. Ann. Code Comm. Law §11-5A-02

•  The sale of clove cigarettes is prohibited — Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §10-106

Violations and Penalties

•   Sale or distribution of a tobacco product, including Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs)
to a minor: The clerk or licensee (or both) may be subject to a criminal misdemeanor
and a fi ne up to:
$300 for a fi rst violation;
$1,000 for a second violation within two years of the fi rst violation;
$3,000 for each subsequent violation occurring within two years of preceding violation —
Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §10-107

•   Sale or distribution of a tobacco product, including Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs) to a 
minor: The licensee/owner, not the clerk, may be subject to a civil penalty up to:
$300 for a fi rst violation;
$1,000 for a second violation within two years of the fi rst violation; and
$3,000 for each subsequent violation occurring within two years of preceding violation —
Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §24-305 and Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §24-307

•   Sale of unpackaged cigarettes: a retailer that distributes an unpackaged cigarette is guilty 
of a criminal misdemeanor and is subject to a fi ne up to $500, imprisonment for up to three 
months, or both — Md. Ann. Code Comm. Law §11-5A-03

www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com

Laws and penalties are subject to change. 
Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.

Advertising and Promotion

•   It is prohibited to offer any gift or item to a person purchasing cigarettes or 
smokeless tobacco in consideration of (a) the purchase of tobacco products; 
or (b) providing evidence of such purchase, such as credits, proof-of-
purchase, or coupons — 21 C.F.R. §1140.34(b)

•   It is prohibited to sponsor any athletic, musical, artistic, or other social or 
cultural event — or any entry or team in any event — that is identifi ed with 
a brand of cigarettes or smokeless tobacco — 21 C.F.R. §1140.34(c)

Violations and Penalties

•   There are two schedules for civil money penalties for retailers who violate 
the Tobacco Control Act. Escalating fi nes can be in excess of $10,000 and 
repeat violators may be subject to a no-tobacco-sale order.

Resources
• Tobacco 21 Retailer information
 www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com
• Comptroller of Maryland
 www.comp.state.md.us
• FDA Center for Tobacco Products
 www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm
• Maryland Department of Health Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control
 https://phpa.health.maryland.gov/ohpetup/Pages/tob_home.aspx
• Maryland Synar Reports (State tobacco retailer compliance checks)
 https://bha.health.maryland.gov/Pages/Maryland-Synar-Reports.aspx
• Offi ce of the Maryland Attorney General
 www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/Tobacco
• University of Maryland Legal Resource Center for Public Health Policy
 www.law.umaryland.edu/programs/publichealth
• The Maryland Tobacco Quitline, 1-800-QUIT-NOW
 www.SmokingStopsHere.com

www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com

Laws and penalties are subject to change. 
Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.
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$10,000.
Federal fines can   
   be in excess of

On June 22, 2009, the President signed the Tobacco Control Act into law. 
The Tobacco Control Act grants FDA authority to regulate the manufacturing, 
marketing, and distribution of tobacco products to protect public health and 
to reduce tobacco use by minors. The FDA originally only regulated cigarettes, 
cigarette tobacco, roll-your-own tobacco, and smokeless tobacco products. 
However, effective Aug. 8, 2016, the FDA began regulating the following tobacco 
products: ESDs, all cigars (including premium), hookah (waterpipe tobacco), pipe 
tobacco, nicotine gels, and dissolvables.

ID Check

• 	�Tobacco products, including ESDs may only be sold to individuals age 18 or 
older — 21 C.F.R. §140.16(c)

•	� Retailers MUST check photo ID of everyone under age 27 who attempts to 		
	 purchase any tobacco product, including ESDs — 21 C.F.R. §140.14(b)(2)

Sale and Distribution

•	 �Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products may only be sold in face-to-face 
transactions. Check your local law — several Maryland counties and Baltimore 
City require face-to-face transactions for the sale of ALL tobacco products — 
21 C.F.R. §1140.16(c)

•	� �The sale of any tobacco product, including ESDs, in vending machines is 
prohibited unless the vending machine is located in an adult-only establishment 
— 21 C.F.R. §1140.16(c)

•	� Cigarettes may only be sold in packages of at least 20 — 21 C.F.R. §1140.16(b)

• 	�Breaking or opening packages of smokeless tobacco to sell in any quantity 
smaller than the smallest package distributed by the manufacturer for individual 
use is prohibited — 21 C.F.R. §1140.14(d)

• 	�Retailers may not distribute free samples of tobacco products (excluding free 
samples of smokeless tobacco in a “qualified adult-only facility”) or offer gifts 
with the purchase of any tobacco product — 21 C.F.R. §1140.16(d)(1)

•	 The sale of flavored cigarettes (excluding menthol) is prohibited — 21 U.S.C. 387g

•	 �Retailers are required to alter self-service displays so that all transactions 
involving cigarettes or smokeless tobacco are face-to-face and do not 
	allow for the opening of any cigarette or smokeless tobacco package —  
21 C.F.R. §1140.14(a)(5) 

Federal regulations

www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com

Laws and penalties are subject to change. 
Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.

Licensing requirements

Retailers selling cigarettes, other tobacco products, or Electronic 
Smoking Devices (ESDs), such as e-cigarettes, vapes, or pod-
based systems like JUUL®, must secure a license from the clerk of 
the Circuit Court for the jurisdiction in which the retailer is located. 
Licenses expire on April 30 and must be renewed annually. 

• �If a retailer sells cigarettes, they must obtain a license to do so. 
• �If a retailer sells cigarettes and other tobacco products, they 

must obtain an endorsement to sell other tobacco products (at no 
additional cost), in addition to the requisite cigarette license. 

• �If a retailer sells other tobacco products and does not sell 
cigarettes, they must obtain a specific license to do so. 

• �If a retailer sells cigarettes or other tobacco products, they do not 
need to obtain an additional license to sell ESDs. 

• �If a retailer sells electronic smoking devices and does not have 
a license to sell cigarettes or other tobacco products, they must 
obtain the appropriate license to sell ESDs.

Violations and Penalties

• �Selling or distributing tobacco products or ESDs without the 
appropriate licensure is a criminal misdemeanor subject to a fine 
up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment up to 30 days — Md. Ann Code 
Bus. Reg §16.7-211(b)(1), Md. Ann Code Bus. Reg §16.5-218, Md. Ann Code Bus. 
Reg §16-214(b)(1)-(2)

www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com

Laws and penalties are subject to change. 
Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.

New law.
New sales age for all 

tobacco products.



Maryland and Federal 
Tobacco Sales Laws

Legal restrictions of selling tobacco to minors Maryland 
Law

Federal 
Law

All tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices (ESDs), may 
only be sold to individuals age 21 or older, with the exception of active 
duty military members age 18 and older with valid military ID.

Retailers are prohibited from selling cigarettes, cigars, smokeless, roll-
your-own, e-cigarettes, and hookah to individuals under the age of 18.

The definition of tobacco products includes cigarettes, cigars, 
smokeless, roll-your-own, e-cigarettes, and hookah.

Retailers MUST check ID of everyone under age 27  
who attempt to purchase any tobacco product.

Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco may 
only be sold in face-to-face transactions.**

Prohibits the sale of tobacco products in vending machines unless 
the vending machine is located in an adult-only establishment.

Cigarettes may only be sold in packages of at least 20.

Prohibits breaking or opening packages of smokeless tobacco 
to sell in any quantity smaller than the smallest package 
distributed by the manufacturer for individual use.  

Prohibits the sale of clove cigarettes.

Prohibits the sale of flavored cigarettes (excluding menthol).

Cigarette and smokeless tobacco manufacturers are prohibited from 
sponsoring any athletic or entertainment event using an identifiable logo.

Prohibits selling or shipping cigarettes, ordered through 
the mail or over the internet, directly to a consumer.

Prohibits free samples of tobacco (excluding free samples  
of smokeless tobacco in a “qualified adult-only facility”). 

Prohibits free giveaway of gifts and items with the purchase of 
cigarettes or smokeless tobacco or by the redemption of coupons or 
points earned through purchasing cigarettes or smokeless tobacco. 

Laws and penalties are subject to change. Visit www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com 
for the most up-to-date information and local product placement ordinances. **Nearly half of Maryland 

jurisdictions have local laws that require face-to-face transactions for the sale of all tobacco products. Also, 
several counties and municipalities have enacted additional e-cigarette packaging and sales restrictions. 

Please consult your local health department for details.

www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com
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Jurisdiction Restriction on the distribution of tobacco to minors Penalties

Baltimore City 
Baltimore City 
Health 
Code §12-501-12-
507

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, cigarette rolling paper, 
or coupon redeemable for tobacco products to a minor

•	Prohibits others from buying for or selling any tobacco product or cigarette rolling 	
	 paper to a minor

•	Prohibits retailers from distributing electronic smoking devices to a minor

Up to $1,000

Baltimore County 
Baltimore County 
Code §13-12-105

•	Prohibits owners from distributing any tobacco product, tobacco paraphernalia, or 	
	 coupon redeemable for tobacco products to a minor

•	Prohibits others from buying for, selling, or distributing any tobacco product or 	
	 tobacco paraphernalia to a minor

Owners = $500 - $1,500

Others = $50 - $100

Carroll County Md. 
Code Ann. Local 
Govt. §1-1203-1-
1204

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, electronic 
smoking device, cigarette rolling papers, or coupons redeemable for tobacco 
products to those under the age of 21, unless the individual is (1) at least 18 
years of age, (2) an active duty member of the military, and (3) produces valid 
military identification.

$300 - $500

Cecil County          
Md. Code Ann. 
Local Govt.
§1-1203-1-1204

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, electronic 
smoking device, cigarette rolling papers, or coupons redeemable for tobacco 
products to those under the age of 21, unless the individual is (1) at least 18 
years of age, (2) an active duty member of the military, and (3) produces valid 
military identification.

$300 - $750

Garrett County     
Md. Code Ann. 
Local Govt.
§1-1203-1-1204

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, electronic 
smoking device, cigarette rolling papers, or coupons redeemable for tobacco 
products to those under the age of 21, unless the individual is (1) at least 18 
years of age, (2) an active duty member of the military, and (3) produces valid 
military identification.

$300

Howard County 
Howard County 
Code §12-1300-12-
1302

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, cigarette rolling paper, 
or coupon redeemable for tobacco products to a minor

•	Prohibits others from buying for or selling any tobacco product or cigarette rolling 	
	 paper to a minor

Owners = $250 - $1,000

Employees = $50 - $250

Others = $50 - $100

Kent County         
Kent County 
Code, Ch.156-2-
156-4

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, cigarette rolling paper, 
or coupon redeemable for tobacco products to a minor

•	Prohibits others from buying for or selling any tobacco product or cigarette rolling 	
	 paper to a minor 

Owners = $300 - $500

Others = $50 - $100

Montgomery County 
Health General 
Article, §24-11

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, cigarette rolling paper, 
or coupon redeemable for tobacco products to a minor

•	�Prohibits others from buying for, selling or delivering any tobacco product or 
cigarette rolling paper to a minor

$1,000

Prince George’s 
County 
Health Article, 
§12-202

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, e-cigarette, cigarette 
rolling paper, or coupon redeemable for tobacco products to a minor

•	�Prohibits others from buying for or selling any tobacco product, e-cigarette or 
cigarette rolling paper to a minor

Owners = $300 - $1,000

Others = $50 - $100

St. Mary’s County 
Md. Code Ann. 
Local Govt.
§1-1203-1-1204

•	�Prohibits retailers from distributing any tobacco product, electronic 
smoking device, cigarette rolling papers, or coupons redeemable for tobacco 
products to those under the age of 21, unless the individual is (1) at least 18 
years of age, (2) an active duty member of the military, and (3) produces valid 
military identification.

$300 - $500
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I.D.
Responsible Retailers

CHECK

We Don’t Sell 
Tobacco to Minors

Local Tobacco Sales Laws

Laws and penalties are subject to change. Visit www.NoTobaccoSalesToMinors.com 
for the most up-to-date information and local product placement ordinances. Also, several 

counties and municipalities have enacted additional e-cigarette packaging and sales restrictions. 
Please consult your local health department for details.



Show what you know
with our Retailer Quiz

Now that you have reviewed information on how to prevent
tobacco sales to minors, please take some time to complete

the following brief quiz to show how much you know.

A valid ID:
A. Includes a photo of the person.
B.  Includes a date of birth showing that the person is of legal age to be 

sold tobacco products.
C. Is current and not expired.
D. All of the above.

Before selling any tobacco product, you are required by law
to check the photo ID of everyone under:
A. 18 years old
B. 20 years old
C. 21 years old
D. 27 years old

If you are found guilty of selling any tobacco product to minors,
federal fi nes can be in excess of:
A. $1,000
B. $750
C. $10,000
D. $300

When can you sell tobacco to someone under 21?
A. If the tobacco is for their parent.
B. If the minor is with someone who is over 21.
C. If they are a friend or family member.
D. If they are 18 with an active duty military ID.

If the customer can’t provide a valid ID or you don’t think it’s 
authentic, you should:
A. Refuse the sale. You are not obligated to sell any tobacco product.
B. Sell them the tobacco product only if they look over 21.
C. Sell them the tobacco product only if they bribe you.
D. Sell them the tobacco product only if they say they are over 21.
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2
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Local law enforcement and public health agencies are conducting 
_________ throughout the year to ensure retailers do not sell 
tobacco to minors.
A. Education
B. Compliance checks
C. Both A and B
D. None of the above.

A customer wants to buy a pack of pods for their vape product. 
The clerk must:
A. Request photo ID if the person is under 27 years of age.
B. Sell the pods without requesting ID.
C.  Make sure the customer is at least 21 years of age

(or 18 with valid military ID).
D. Both A and C

Signs of ID tampering include:
A. Plastic peeling
B. Smudges
C. Misaligned numbers
D. All of the above

Which of the following is not an acceptable form of ID?
A. Passport
B. School-Issued ID
C. State-Issued Driver’s License
D. State-Issued ID Card

It is illegal to sell or give ____ to minors (anyone under 21).
A. Cigarettes
B. Vapes/E-cigaretttes/Pod-based devices
C. Cigarillos/Cigars
D. All of the above
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Answers: 1. D  2. D  3. C  4. D  5. A  6. C  7. D  8. D  9. B  10. DI.D.
Responsible Retailers

CHECK

We Don’t Sell 
Tobacco to Minors
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