Tobacco to Minors

Federal regulations continued

Advertising and Promotion

® It is prohibited to offer any gift or item to a person purchasing cigarettes or
smokeless tobacco in consideration of (a) the purchase of tobacco products;
or (b) providing evidence of such purchase, such as credits, proof-of-
purchase, or coupons — 21 C.FR. §1140.34(b)

® It is prohibited to sponsor any athletic, musical, artistic, or other social or
cultural event — or any entry or team in any event — that is identified with
a brand of cigarettes or smokeless tobacco — 21 C.FR. §1140.34(c)

Violations and Penalties
®* There are two schedules for civil money penalties for retailers who violate

the Tobacco Control Act. Escalating fines can be in excess of $10,000 and
repeat violators may be subject to a no-tobacco-sale order.

Resources

e Tobacco 21 Retailer information
www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com

e Comptroller of Maryland
www.comp.state.md.us

e FDA Center for Tobacco Products
www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm

e Maryland Department of Health Center for Tobacco Prevention and Control
https://phpa.health.maryland.gov/ohpetup/Pages/tob_home.aspx

e Maryland Synar Reports (State tobacco retailer compliance checks)
https://bha.health.maryland.gov/Pages/Maryland-Synar-Reports.aspx

e Office of the Maryland Attorney General
www.marylandattorneygeneral.gov/Pages/Tobacco

e University of Maryland Legal Resource Center for Public Health Policy
www.law.umaryland.edu/programs/publichealth

e The Maryland Tobacco Quitline, 1-800-QUIT-NOW
www.SmokingStopsHere.com

Responsible Retailers
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Maryland laws

Sale and Distribution

Tobacco products may only be sold to individuals age 21 or older unless the individual is at
least 18 years of age and an active duty member of the military who produces valid military
identification. Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs) are now included within the definition

of “tobacco products” and are defined as devices that can be used to deliver aerosolized

or vaporized nicotine to an individual inhaling from the device. These include electronic
cigarettes, electronic cigars, electronic cigarillos, electronic pipes, electronic hookahs, vape
pens, vaping liquid and any component, part, or accessory regardless of whether or not it
is sold separately, including any substance intended to be aerosolized or vaporized during
use of the device. — Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §10-107, Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §24-305, Md. Ann. Code
Health Gen. §24-307, Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §13-1001, Md. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16.7-101

The sale of tobacco products in vending machines is prohibited unless the vending machine
is located in an adult-only establishment — Mmd. Ann. Code Bus. Reg. §16-3A-02

Cigarettes may only be sold in packages of at least 20 — Md. Ann. Code Comm. Law §11-5A-02
The sale of clove cigarettes is prohibited — Mmd. Ann. Code Crim. Law §10-106

Violations and Penalties

Sale or distribution of a tobacco product, including Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs)
to a minor: The clerk or licensee (or both) may be subject to a criminal misdemeanor
and a fine up to:

$300 for a first violation;

$1,000 for a second violation within two years of the first violation;

$3,000 for each subsequent violation occurring within two years of preceding violation —
Md. Ann. Code Crim. Law §10-107

Sale or distribution of a tobacco product, including Electronic Smoking Devices (ESDs) to a
minor: The licensee/owner, not the clerk, may be subject to a civil penalty up to:

$300 for a first violation; N

$1,000 for a second violation within two years of the first vi&atidn; and

$3,000 for each subsequent violation occurring within twe years of preceding violation —
Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §24-305 and Md. Ann. Code Health Gen. §24-307

Sale of unpackaged cigarettes: a retailer that distributes an unpackaged cigarette is guilty
of a criminal misdemeanor and is subject to a\fine up to $500, imprisonment for up to three
months, or both — md. Ann. Code Comm. Law §11-5A-03/

Laws and penalties are subject to change.
Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.
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Licensing requirements

Retailers selling cigarettes, other tobacco products, or Electronic
Smoking Devices (ESDs), such as e-cigarettes, vapes, or pod-
based systems like JUUL®, must secure a license from the clerk of
the Circuit Court for the jurisdiction in which the retailer is located.
Licenses expire on April 30 and must be renewed annually.

*® If a retailer sells cigarettes, they must obtain a license to do so.

*® If a retailer sells cigarettes and other tobacco products, they
must obtain an endorsement to sell other tobacco products (at no
additional cost), in addition to the requisite cigarette license.

¢ If a retailer sells other tobacco products and does not sell
cigarettes, they must obtain a specific license to do so.

® If a retailer sells cigarettes or other tobacco products, they do not
need to obtain an additional license to sell ESDs.

o If a retailer sells electronic smoking devices and does not have
a license to sell cigarettes or other tobacco products, they must
obtain the appropriate license to sell ESDs.

Violations and Penalties

® Selling or distributing tobacco products or ESDs without the
appropriate licensure is a criminal misdemeanor subject to a fine
up to $1,000 and/or imprisonment up to 30 days — md. Ann Code
Bus. Reg §16.7-211(b)(1), Md. Ann Code Bus. Reg §16.5-218, Md. Ann Code Bus.
Reg §16-214(b)(1)-(2)

Laws and penalties are subject to change.

Federal fines can
be in excess of

Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.
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Federal regulations

On June 22, 2009, the President signed the Tobacco Control Act into law.

The Tobacco Control Act grants FDA authority to regulate the manufacturing,
marketing, and distribution of tobacco products to protect public health and

to reduce tobacco use by minors. The FDA originally only regulated cigarettes,
cigarette tobacco, roll-your-own tobacco, and smokeless tobacco products.
However, effective Aug. 8, 2016, the FDA began regulating the following tobacco
products: ESDs, all cigars (including premium), hookah (waterpipe tobacco), pipe
tobacco, nicotine gels, and dissolvables.

ID Check

® Tobacco products, including ESDs may only be sold to individuals age 18 or
older — 21 C.FR. §140.16(c)

® Retailers MUST check photo ID of everyone under age 27 who attempts to
purchase any tobacco product, including ESDs — 21 C.ER. §140.14(b)(2)

Sale and Distribution

® Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco products may only be sold in face-to-face
transactions. Check your local law — several Maryland counties and Baltimore
City require face-to-face transactions for the sale of ALL tobacco products —
21 C.FR. §1140.16(c)

® The sale of any tobacco product, including ESDs, in vending machines is
prohibited unless the vending machine is located in an adult-only establishment
— 21 C.FR. §1140.16(c)

® Cigarettes may only be sold in packages of at least 20 — 21 C.FR. §1140.16(b)

® Breaking or opening packages of smokeless tobacco to sell in any quantity
smaller than the smallest package distributed by the manufacturer for individual
use is prohibited — 21 C.ER. §1140.14(d)

® Retailers may not distribute free samples of tobacco products (excluding free
samples of smokeless tobacco in a “qualified adult-only facility”) or offer gifts
with the purchase of any tobacco product — 21 C.FR. §1140.16(d)(1)

® The sale of flavored cigarettes (excluding menthol) is prohibited — 21 v.s.C. 3879

® Retailers are required to alter self-service displays so that all transactions
involving cigarettes or smokeless tobacco are face-to-face and do not
allow for the opening of any cigarette or smokeless tobacco package —
21 C.FR. §1140.14(a)(5)

Laws and penalties are subject to change.
Visit www.NotobaccoSalesToMinors.com for the most up-to-date information.
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