Task Force on Oral Health in Maryland

​​​The Oral Health Task Force is a temporary committee of Maryland oral health experts created by the Maryland General Assembly under Senate Bill 100 and House Bill 3​68. The task force will study and analyze the current landscape of oral health services in the State and make recommendations to improve access to services, especially for our most vulnerable citizens. The task force will begin its work on July 1, 2021, and end on June 30, 2023.


Public Meeting Notice - December 2, 2021

All Oral Health Task Force meetings are open to the public. For those unable to attend, all meetings will be recorded and posted. 

Join the Meeting

Meeting Materials

Task Force Goals and Objectives

 The task force will:

  • Study Marylanders' access to dental services.
  • Identify areas lacking dental services.
  • Identify barriers to receiving services.
  • Make recommendations on ways to end barriers and increase access to dental services.

For more information, see Senate Bill 100 and House Bill 368 and the Fiscal And Policy Note.

Reporting Requirements

The task force must submit an interim report by May 1, 2022, and a final report by December 1, 2022, to the Governor and select General Assembly committees. Reports will be posted here when available.

Learn More ​

​Past Meeting ​Agendas and Recordings

​For all past meeting reordings, visit the ​Maryland General Assembly and select the date of the meeting. ​​ Click on the camera icon to view the recording.

Task Force Members

​Co-chair Alexander Shekdar
MD Department of Health, Acting Director, Office of Medical Benefits Management
Co-chair Mark ReynoldsDean of the University of Maryland School of Dentistry
Emily A. DowSecretary of MD Higher Education Commission, or designee
Hakan KoymenDental Director of MD Healthy Smiles Dental Program, or designee
Debony Hughes Director of Office of Oral Health, or designee
Charles DoringMD State Dental Association representative
Ricardo C Kimbers MD Dental Society representative
Jennifer A SuminskiMD Dental Hygienists' Association representative
Anna L Davis Advocates for Children and Youth representative
Christy RussellMD Developmental Disabilities Council representative
Mary BackleyMDAC representative
MJ KraskaMD Alliance for the Poor representative
Jean J CarlsonMD Association of Community Colleges representative
Arpana S Verma State Board of Dental Examiners
Jennifer L BriemannMD MCO Association representative
Carol M MasdenMD Rural Health Association representative
Diane D Romaine representative from a nonprofit organization that advocates for needs of poor
Brooks Woodwarddentist working in an FQHC or clinic providing dental services to underserved
Nicole Steck-Waittrepresentative of the nursing home industry
Dean Shifflettrepresentative of a dental plan organization
Sarah L Czyzdental hygienist who works in an FQHC or clinic providing dental services to underserved




Oral Health Task Force Staff