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October 12, 2017 
 
 
The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr.  The Honorable Michael E. Busch 
President of the Senate     Speaker of the House of Delegates 
H-107 State House     H-101 State House 
Annapolis, MD 21401 – 1991    Annapolis, MD  21401-1991 
 
Re: Nursing Home Quality Assessment Implementation Annual Report –  

Health - General §19-310.1(f) 
 
Dear President Miller and Speaker Busch: 
 
I am pleased to submit the report required by SB 101, enacted during the 2007 regular session of 
the General Assembly, which required the Department to report by March 1, 2008 and annually 
thereafter on the implementation of a quality assessment on specified Maryland nursing 
facilities.  SB 101 established in law this quality assessment on Maryland nursing facilities (with 
the exception of facilities with fewer than 45 beds, and those operated by continuing care 
retirement communities, or CCRCs), to be applied to all non-Medicare days of care provided by 
the facility in the previous quarter of the State fiscal year.   
 
HB 67, enacted during the 2015 session of the General Assembly, changed the date of the 
required annual report to September 1 of each year, in recognition that the March 1 date fell 
before the current fiscal year’s final expenditures were known, and before the budget allocation 
for the next fiscal year’s allocation was finalized by the General Assembly.  
 
This report will update the General Assembly on the implementation of the quality assessment 
during FY 2017, and provide the specific information required by Health-General Article  
§19-310.1 (f).  For the FY 2017 assessment, the Department established two per-diem payment 
rates for the nursing facilities subject to the assessment on non-Medicare days of care.  These 
rates were $25.00 for most nursing facilities, and, for the five facilities providing the highest 
number of Medicaid days of care in the previous year, $5.50 per non-Medicare day of care. 
 
Information Specified by Health-General §19-310.1(f) Reporting Requirement 
 
Health-General §19-310.1(f) requires the Department to report by September 1 each year on its 
implementation of the quality assessment.  This section of statute specifies that this report 
include the following information: 
 

(1) The percentage and amount of the assessment charged to each nursing 
facility subject to [the assessment]; 

(2) The number of nursing facilities subject to [the assessment] with a net 
loss; and 
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(3) A comparison of the total amount provided in the Medicaid budget for 
nursing home reimbursement in the current fiscal year to the actual 
amount received in the immediately prior fiscal year. 

 
In response to the first section, the percentage and amount that each nursing facility will pay is 
projected in the statistical model submitted to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services each 
year by dividing the amount of revenue to be collected via the quality assessment — in FY 2017, 
$152,763,470 — by multiplying the per diem assessment rate, either $25.00 or $5.50, by that 
facility’s non-Medicare days of care projected for FY 2017, from a statewide total of 7,293,491 
days projected for FY 2017.1 
 
Pinpointing the exact amount of revenue earned by each nursing facility — since the quality 
assessment program generates funds that both repay each provider in part for the amount of 
assessment paid for each Medicaid day of care, and augment the overall Medicaid 
reimbursement rate — is complicated by the complexities of the methodology with which the 
Department sets nursing facility rates.  The variation between facilities along the four cost 
centers — nursing, other patient care, administrative and routine, and capital costs — make 
head-to-head benefit versus cost comparisons approximate at best.  The factors that contribute to 
a net loss with regard to the payment of the quality assessment are a relatively low number of 
Medicaid days of care, and relatively high numbers of private pay days, for which these facilities 
will pay the per-diem but receive neither a refunded per-diem nor an enhanced Medicaid rate.  
The facility with the highest net loss resulting from the payment of the quality assessment is the 
only privately-owned, non-CCRC nursing facility that does not participate at all in the Medicaid 
Program. 
 
The following chart shows the 18 nursing facilities that the statistical model developed for the 
FY 2017 quality assessment projected would pay more for their non-Medicare days of care than 
they would benefit by being reimbursed for the assessment paid for Medicaid days and also by 
receiving the higher Medicaid rates partially financed by the assessment.   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

                                                 
1 The actual total number of assessable days for FY 2017 will have been provided to the Department by mid-May 2018, a 
compilation of fiscal year-end cost reports from all facilities.  The Department’s audit contractor uses these reports to verify the 
number of days for which each facility has reported and paid a per diem. 
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cc: The Honorable Edward J. Kasemeyer, Chairman 
 Senate Budget and Taxation Committee 
 
 The Honorable Thomas M. Middleton, Chairman 
 Senate Finance Committee 
 
 The Honorable Maggie McIntosh, Chairman 
 House Appropriations Committee 
 
 The Honorable Shane E. Pendergrass, Chairman 
 House Health and Government Operations Committee 
 
 Susan Tucker 
 Mark Leeds 
 Susan Panek 
 Webster Ye 
 Sarah Albert, MSAR #10382 
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