Members of the Council

The Honorable Anthony G. Brown
Lieutenant Governor, State of Maryland
Council Chair

Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D.
Secretary, Maryland Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
Council Vice-Chair

James S. Chesley, Jr., M.D.
Practicing Gastroenterologist

Richard "Chip" Davis, Ph.D.
Vice President for Innovation and Patient Safety, Johns Hopkins Medicine (JHM)
Executive Director, JHM Center for Innovation in Quality Patient Care


Barbara Epke, M.P.H., M.S.W., M.A.
Vice President, LifeBridge Health System


Nicolette Highsmith-Vernick, M.P.A.
President and CEO, Horizon Foundation

Roger Merrill, M.D.
Principal, Merrill Health Strategies


Peggy O'Kane, M.H.S.
President, National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA)


Marcos Pesquera, RPh, MPH
Executive Director, Center on Health Disparities
Adventist HealthCare, Inc.


E. Albert Reece, M.D., Ph.D., M.B.A.
Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland
Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine


Vinaychandra K. Shah, M.D
Founder, Mid-Atlantic Medical Research Centers Shah Associates

Jon Shematek, M.D.
Sr. Vice President and Chief Medical Officer
CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield


Kathleen White, Ph.D., R.N., C.N.A.A., B.C.
Associate Professor, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing