IN THE MATTER OF * BEFORE THE MARYLAND

JENNIFER A. ROBERTS % STATE BOARD OF MASSAGE
Respondent = THERAPY EXAMINERS

License Number: M00794 *

* %* % * % %* * * %* * * % *

CONSENT ORDER OF REPRIMAND/ORDER OF PROBATION

On June 26, 2024, and on July 24, 2024, the Maryland State Board of Massage
Therapy Examiners (the “Board”) charged the license of JENNIFER A. ROBERTS (the
“Respondent”), License Number M00794, under the Maryland Massage Therapy Act (the
“Act”), Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 6-101 ef seq. (2021 Repl. Vol & 2023 Supp.).
Specifically, the Board based its action on the Respondent’s violation of the following
provisions of the Act:

§ 6-308 - License or registration denial, suspension, or revocation

(a)  In general; grounds. -- Subject to the hearing provision of § 6-309 of
this subtitle, the Board may deny a license or registration to an
applicant, reprimand a licensee or registration holder, place any
licensee or registration holder on probation, or suspend or revoke the
license of a licensee or the registration of a registration holder if the
applicant, licensee, or registration holder:

(8) Does an act that is inconsistent with generally accepted
professional standards in the practice of massage therapy;

(11) Has violated any provision of this title, fo wit:
Health Ocec. § 6-305.

(b) At least 1 month before the license or registration
expires, the Board shall send to the licensed massage
therapist or registered massage practitioner, by
electronic means or first-class mail to the last known



electronic or physical address of the licensed massage
therapist or registered massage practitioner, a renewal
notice that states:

(1) The date on which the current license or registration
expires;

(2) The date by which the renewal application must be
received by the Board for the renewal to be issued
and mailed before the license or registration expires;
and

(3) The amount of the renewal fee.

(d)(1) Each licensed massage therapist or registered
massage practitioner shall notify the Board in
writing of any change in the name or address of the
licensed massage therapist or registered massage
practitioner within 60 days after the change
occurred.

(2) Subject to the hearing provisions of § 6-309 of this
subtitle, if a licensed massage therapist or registered
massage practitioner fails to notify the Board within
the time required under this subsection, the Board
may impose an administrative penalty of $100.

Health Occ. § 6-501

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this title, an individual
may not practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice
massage therapy, massage, myotherapy, or any
synonym or derivation of these terms in the State unless
licensed or registered by the Board.

(b) A person may not aid or abet the unauthorized practice
of massage therapy in the State.

(20) Engages in conduct that violates the professional code of
ethics|.]

Violations of the professional code of ethics and Board regulations include:

COMAR 10.65.01.05. Licensure or Registration Required; Exceptions.



An individual shall be licensed by the Board in order to practice massage
therapy, and shall be registered by the Board in order to practice massage
therapy in a setting that is not a health care setting...[.]

COMAR 10.65.01.08. Registration.

B. The licensee shall notify the Board of any change in the legal name or
address of the licensee, in writing, within 60 days after the change
occurs.

COMAR 10.65.03.03. Standards of Practice

A. The license holder or registration holder shall be concerned primarily
with the welfare of the client.

C. A license holder or registration holder shall:

(1)  Use professional discretion and integrity in relationships with
members of the public and health care community;

(2) Engage in professional conduct at all times, with honesty,
integrity, self-respect, and fairness;

D. A license holder or registration holder may not:

(6)  Aid or abet any individual violating or attempting to violate
any provision of law or regulation.

Md. Code Regs. 10.65.03.07. Education and Training.
A.  Alicense holder or registration holder shall:

(3)  Maintain a current license or registration to practice massage
therapy.

On August 28, 2024, the Respondent attended a case resolution conference (“CRC”)
with members of the Board in an effort to resolve the pending charges in lieu of an
evidentiary hearing. The Assistant Attorney General — Administrative Prosecutor, also

attended the CRC on behalf of the State. At that CRC, the Respondent and the State agreed



to, and the Board hereby accepts, the following Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, and

Order.
FINDINGS OF FACT
The Board finds:
I. BACKGROUND
1. At all times relevant hereto, the Respondent was not actively licensed to practice

massage therapy in the State of Maryland. The Respondent was originally licensed
to practice massage therapy in Maryland on April 10, 2000, under license number
MO00794. The Respondent’s license expired on October 31, 2020.

2; At all times relevant hereto, the Respondent owned and operated her own sports
massage company (“Company”)! that contracts with independent massage
therapists and provides services throughout D.C., Maryland, and Virginia.

B, On or about September 29, 2023, the Board received an anonymous complaint
(“Complaint”) alleging that an Instagram post showed an employee, (“Contractor
A”) with a revoked license massaging an athlete at a university in Maryland
(“University”). The Complaint stated in part:

I was scrolling the app Instagram. Upon scrolling, I saw an individual
([Contractor A]) with a revoked license doing massage. In one photo
he has his hand, and elbow, on a [University] football player (clearly
working on a player). The post was dated August 15th. The caption is
“[University]...Football Training Camp....” The Instagram page... is

[Company]. That individual should not be working in the field of
massage. The bigger issue is that the individual/company that has him

! For confidentiality and privacy purposes, the names of individuals and healthcare facilities involved in
this case are not disclosed in this document. The Respondent may cbtain the names of all individuals and
healthcare facilities referenced in this document by contacting the administrative prosecutor.
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II.

working around anyone needs to be investigated considering they are
employing an individual with a revoked license. If that was my child
being massaged by him I would be highly upset that they employed
him.
An investigation into the Complaint and the Instagram post revealed that the account
responsible for the post was owned by the Respondent.
Through investigation of Contractor A’s work with the Company, it was discovered
that the Respondent was a licensee and that her license was expired.
On receipt of the information, the Board initiated a complaint (“Board Complaint”)
and launched an investigation into the Respondent’s licensing status.

BOARD INVESTIGATION

License Renewal

Addressing the Respondent’s licensing status, a review of Board records revealed
that the Board sent a total of seven (7) electronic communications to all licensees
regarding the 2020 and 2022 License/Registration Renewal cycles.

The first email reminder was sent on July 8, 2020, and stated in part: “Deadline: All
licenses/registrations expire on, and must be renewed by, October 31, 2020.”
[Emphasis in original] According to the Board’s electronic delivery service, the
Respondent opened this email, sent to her email address of record
[...@comcast.net], a total of three (3) times.

The second email reminder was sent on August 7, 2020, and stated in part: “The
deadline to renew your Massage Therapy License or Registration is October 31,

2020.” [Emphasis in original]



10. A third email blast was sent on October 2, 2020, and explained the Governor’s
extension to renew:

Massage Licenses and Registrations are due to expire on October 31,
2020. The Maryland State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners will
continue to accept and process renewal applications during the
Maryland state of emergency, which is still in effect. Under Governor
Hogan’s Executive Order dated June 19, 2020 regarding Licenses-
Permits- Registration, expiration dates may be extended until 30 days
after the state of emergency is terminated.

Therefore, a massage therapist/registered massage practitioner with a
license/registration that expires on October 31, 2020 and has not
renewed by that date, may continue to practice under the current
license/registration until 30 days after the state of emergency has
terminated. After that period, the license/registration will expire
unless the licensee/registrant elects to change to an inactive status or
simply allow it to expire.

11. A fourth email blast was sent to all licensees/ registration holders on March 10,
2021, and stated in part:

LMTs and RMPs were scheduled to renew their license/registration
by October 31, 2020. If you have not yet renewed your
license/registration, your renewal is due on or before June 30, 2021.

On March 12, 2020, Governor Larry Hogan issued an Order titled
“Extending Certain Licenses, Permits, Registrations, and Authorizing
Suspension of Legal Time Requirements.” (Amended and Restated on
June 19, 2020). The Orders stated in relevant part:

“The expiration date of each Covered Authorization
[Licenses and Registrations] is hereby extended to the
30th day after the date by which the state of emergency
is terminated and the catastrophic health emergency is
rescinded.”

The Governor’s Executive Order dated March 9, 2021 amended the
March 12, 2020 and June 19, 2020 Orders. Effective immediately,
licenses and registration that were scheduled to be renewed on or
before June 30, 2021, have until June 30, 2021 to renew the license.



12.

13.

14.

15.

Consequently, you must renew your license/registration on or
before June 30, 2021.

If you fail to renew your license/registration by June 30, 2021, your
license or registration will revert to a non- renewed status as of July
1, 2021. You cannot legally practice massage therapy on a non-
renewed license/registration.

You must apply to reinstate your non-renewed license/registration and
pay all applicable fees. Additionally, you may be subject to
administrative action for practicing massage therapy without a
license/registration.

Note that if you were scheduled to renew your license by October
31, 2020, you must renew your license again by October 31, 2022
in the normal course. [Emphasis in original]

A fifth email blast was sent out on May 11, 2021, and stated in part:
If your current license/registration reflects an expiration date of
10/31/2020, the deadline to remew is Jume 30, 2021 . . . All
license/registrations not renewed by 11:59 pm on June 30, 2021, will
revert to non-renewed status. This means, effective July 1, 2021, you
will not be able to legally practice massage therapy in Maryland.
[Emphasis in original]
During the 2022 renewal cycle, the Board sent email notices on February 24, 2022,
and on June 23, 2022, informing all massage professionals of the October 31, 2022,

renewal deadline.

The Respondent did not renew her license during either the 2020 or 2022 renewal

cycles.
As of the date of these Amended Charges, the Respondent still has not submitted a

renewal application.



16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

2].

Complaint Investigation

On November 13, 2023, the Board investigator contacted the athletic director at the
University to inquire about Contractor A and Respondent performing massages on
student-athletes.

On the same day, the athletic director promptly informed the investigator via
telephone that both individuals had performed massages on student-athletes in
Maryland and provided invoices confirming that the Respondent had performed
massages on June 15, 2023, and August 6, 2023, and Contractor A performed
massages on August 11, 13, 20, 22, 24, 27, and September 3 and 24, 2023.

The Board’s Investigator attempted to reach the Respondent by mail sent to her
address of record in Westminster, Maryland and to her email of record at
[...@comcast.net].

On November 29, 2023, and December 15, 2023, the Board’s Investigator sent a
subpoena duces tecum to the Respondent at the business address listed on the
invoices provided by the University.

On December 1, 2023, the Respondent called the Board investigator and stated that
she had just recently become aware of Contractor A’s license revocation and that he
no longer worked for the Company. The Respondent also admitted that she required
all contractors to present their license but has never checked the Board’s website to
verify the status of the license.

On February 6, 2024, a Board investigator conducted a recorded telephone interview

with the Respondent.



22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

The investigator asked the Respondent to provide her “mailing address.” The
Respondent provided an address located in Germantown, Maryland that matched
the business address the Investigator had sent the subpoenas to.

During the interview, the Respondent told the investigator that she was a “staffer”
and had not performed massage services since her license had lapsed. However, the
Respondent admitted that when she is training a new therapist, she places her hands
on them in order to show them how to perform massages. The Respondent also
admitted that she will put her hands on athletes in order for the trainee to see what
to do.

At the end of the interview, the Respondent stated: “And just use the [Company]
team email because I don’t use the other email anymore for Comcast . . . I can still
see it but it’s not — I can’t get to it easily. So the one that comes into my phone is
[...@icloud.com] for all communication.”

On June 26, 2024, the Board sent the Charges Unter the Maryland Massage Therapy

Act to the Respondent’s address of record (Westminster, Maryland) by first class
and certified mail.

On July 17, 2024, the Board’s Executive Director received notice that the Notice of
Charges sent via certified mail were being “returned to the sender on June 29, 2024
at 10:37 am in WESTMINSTER, MD 21157 because the addressee was not known
at the delivery address noted on the package.” The Executive Director reviewed the

Investigative File and located the Respondent’s business address in Germantown,



27.

28.

Maryland and the preferred email address the Respondent provided in her interview
(which was the email address for her business).

On July 17, 2024, the Board re-issued the Charges Unter the Maryland Massage

Therapy Act to the business address in Germantown, Maryland, and to the
[...@icloud.com] email address.
On or about July 18, 2024, the Respondent contacted the Board’s Executive Director

by phone and asked about the reissued Charges Unter the Maryland Massage

Therapy Act that was sent to her [...@jicloud.com] email address. The Executive
Director memorialized the conversation in an email and stated that during the
conversation, the Respondent “asserted that given the pandemic, and the extension
of time granted by the Governor, she was not required to renew her license. [The
Respondent] also stated that any information emailed by the Board was not received
as [the Board] did not have her updated email address.”

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

In this case, based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Board concludes that the

Respondent violated Md. Code Ann., Health Occ.

§ 6-308 - License or registration denial, suspension, or revocation

(b)  In general; grounds. -- Subject to the hearing provision of § 6-309 of
this subtitle, the Board may deny a license or registration to an
applicant, reprimand a licensee or registration holder, place any
licensee or registration holder on probation, or suspend or revoke the
license of a licensee or the registration of a registration holder if the
applicant, licensee, or registration holder:

(8) Does an act that is inconsistent with generally accepted
professional standards in the practice of massage therapy;
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(11) Has violated any provision of this title, fo wit:

Health Occ. § 6-305.

(b)

At least 1 month before the license or registration
expires, the Board shall send to the licensed massage
therapist or registered massage practitioner, by
electronic means or first-class mail to the last known
electronic or physical address of the licensed massage
therapist or registered massage practitioner, a renewal
notice that states:

(1) The date on which the current license or
registration expires;

(2)  The date by which the renewal application must
be received by the Board for the renewal to be
issued and mailed before the license or
registration expires; and

(3)  The amount of the renewal fee.

(d)(1) Each licensed massage therapist or registered massage

practitioner shall notify the Board in writing of any
change in the name or address of the licensed massage
therapist or registered massage practitioner within 60
days after the change occurred.

(2)  Subject to the hearing provisions of § 6-309 of
this subtitle, if a licensed massage therapist or
registered massage practitioner fails to notify the
Board within the time required under this
subsection, the Board may impose an
administrative penalty of $100.

Health Occ. § 6-501

(c)

(d)

Except as otherwise provided in this title, an individual
may not practice, attempt to practice, or offer to practice
massage therapy, massage, myotherapy, or any
synonym or derivation of these terms in the State unless
licensed or registered by the Board.

A person may not aid or abet the unauthorized practice
of massage therapy in the State.
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(20) Engages in conduct that violates the professional code of
ethics|.]

Violations of the professional code of ethics and Board regulations include:

COMAR 10.65.01.05. Licensure or Registration Required; Exceptions.

An individual shall be licensed by the Board in order to practice massage
therapy, and shall be registered by the Board in order to practice massage
therapy in a setting that is not a health care setting...[.]

COMAR 10.65.01.08. Registration.

B. The licensee shall notify the Board of any change in the legal name or
address of the licensee, in writing, within 60 days after the change
occurs.

COMAR 10.65.03.03. Standards of Practice

A. The license holder or registration holder shall be concerned primarily
with the welfare of the client.

C. A license holder or registration holder shall:

(1)  Use professional discretion and integrity in relationships with
members of the public and health care community;

(2) Engage in professional conduct at all times, with honesty,
integrity, self-respect, and fairness;

D. A license holder or registration holder may not:

(6)  Aid or abet any individual violating or attempting to violate
any provision of law or regulation.

Md. Code Regs. 10.65.03.07. Education and Training.
A. A license holder or registration holder shall:

(3) Maintain a current license or registration to practice massage
therapy.
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ORDER
Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby:
ORDERED that the license of the Respondent to practice as a licensed massage
therapist, License Number M00794, is REPRIMANDED; and it is further
ORDERED that at such time the Respondent reinstates her license, the
Respondent’s license is at that time placed on PROBATION for a minimum of TWO (2)
YEARS subject to the following terms and conditions:
1. The Respondent's status as a licensed massage therapist will be listed
in the Board's computer records and website as being on “Probation”.
2. Within SIX (6) MONTHS from the effective date of this Order, the
Respondent is required to take and successfully complete one Board-
approved course in ETHICS. The following terms apply:

i. It is the Respondent’s responsibility to locate, enroll in, and
obtain the Board's approval of the course before the course
begins;

ii. The Board may accept a course taken in person or online;
iii.  The course must be a minimum of three (3) credit hours.

iv.  The Respondent must provide documentation to the Board that
the Respondent has successfully completed the course;

v.  The course may not be used to fulfill the continuing education
credits required for license renewal; and

vi.  The Respondent is responsible for the cost of the courses.

3. The Respondent shall pay a monetary penalty in the amount of TWO

THOUSAND FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS ($2,500) to the Board
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within NINETY (90) DAYS from the effective date of this Order.
4. The Respondent shall comply with the Maryland Massage Therapy
Act, Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 6-101 — 6-602, and all laws and
regulations governing the practice of massage therapy in Maryland,
and it is further
ORDERED that the Respondent shall at all times cooperate with the Board in the
monitoring, supervision, and investigation of the Respondent’s compliance with the terms
and conditions of this Order. The Respondent’s failure to fully cooperate with the Board
shall be considered a violation of probation and this Order; and it is further
ORDERED that, if the Respondent allegedly fails to comply with any term or
condition imposed by this Consent Order, the Respondent shall be given notice and an
opportunity for a hearing. If the Board determines there is a genuine dispute as to a material
fact, the Board shall schedule an evidentiary hearing before the Board; and if the Board
determines there is no genuine dispute as to a material fact, the Respondent shall be given
a show cause hearing before the Board; and it is further
ORDERED that after the appropriate hearing, if the Board determines that the
Respondent has failed to comply with any term or condition imposed by this Consent
Order, the Board may reprimand the Respondent, place the Respondent on additional
probation with appropriate terms and conditions, or suspend with appropriate terms and
conditions, or revoke the Respondent’s registration or license, as the case may be, to

practice massage therapy in the State of Maryland. The Board may, in addition to one or
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more of the sanctions set forth above, impose an additional civil monetary fine on the
Respondent; and it is further

ORDERED that no earlier than TWO (2) YEARS after the effective date of this
Consent Order, the Board will consider a petition for termination of the Respondent’s
probationary status, provided that the Respondent has been compliant with the
probationary terms of this Consent Order; and it is further

ORDERED that the effective date of the Consent Order is the date the Consent
Order is signed by the Executive Director of the Board; and it is further

ORDERED that for purposes of public disclosure and as permitted by Md. Code
Ann., Gen. Prov. § 4-333(b)(6), this document consists of the foregoing Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law, and Order, and is reportable to any entity to whom the Board is
obligated to report; and it is further

ORDERED that this Order is a Final Order and, as such, is a PUBLIC
DOCUMENT pursuant to Md. Code Ann., Gen. Prov. § 4-333(b)(6) and Md. Code Ann,,

Health Occ. § 1-607.

049 /,) 5{710511{ : F\,‘ L i Qﬁw e
Datd ! Sharon J. Oliver, MBA
Executive Director
Maryland State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners
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CONSENT

I, Jennifer A. Roberts, assert that I am aware of my right to consult with and be
represented by counsel in considering this Consent Order and in any proceedings that
would otherwise result from the charges currently pending. I have chosen to proceed
without counsel and I acknowledge that the decision to proceed without counsel is freely
and voluntarily made.

By this Consent, I agree to be bound by this Consent Order and all its terms and
conditions and understand that the Board will not entertain any request for amendments or
modifications to any condition.

I assert that I am aware of my right to a formal evidentiary hearing, pursuant to Md.
Code Ann., Health Occ. § 6-309 and Md. Code Ann., State Gov't §§ 10-201 ef seq. I waive
this right and have elected to sign this Consent Order instead.

I acknowledge the validity and enforceability of this Consent Order as if entered
after the conclusion of a formal evidentiary hearing in which I would have had the right to
counsel, to confront witnesses, to give testimony, to call witnesses on my behalf, and to all
other substantive and procedural protections as provided by law. I waive those procedural
and substantive protections. I acknowledge the legal authority and the jurisdiction of the
Board to initiate these proceedings and to issue and enforce this Consent Order. I
voluntarily enter into and agree to comply with the terms and conditions set forth in the
Consent Order as a resolution of the charges. I waive any right to contest the Findings of
Fact and Conclusions of Law and Order set out in the Consent Order. I waive all rights to
appeal this Consent Order.

I sign this Consent Order, without reservation, and fully understand the language

and meaning of its terms.

Jennifer 3{/ Roberts
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NOTARIZATION

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this LO T X day of S € ptember oL

before me, Notary Public of the State and City/County aforesaid, Jennifer A. Roberts
personally appeared, and made oath in due form of law that signing the foregoing Consent

Order was the voluntary act and deed of Jennifer A. Roberts.

AS WITNESSETH my hand and notarial seal.

SEAL
WYATT TRUMBOUR
. " |
wcomm|ss'~.‘|ﬂcf=:1R E;((PL{?{ENSDAUG‘ 24,2026 6//(///:1/
g

Notary Public

My Commission Expires: _5 [rahee
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